Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Trying to install win7 crt emu and groovymame, it's picking only interlaced res?  (Read 494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I have a Nanao 2930 monitor which is mounted vertically. I only want to use 15khz as the monitor doesn't auto switch and I only play 15khz games.

I'm running windows 7 on the pc and installed the latest groovymame as of today. I installed the crt emu drivers legacy version for my hd4000 series card. That all went fine. I followed this guide http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1016#p1016

To try and make the modes etc. I tried the Nanao monitor setting first, then generic 15khz. I ticked the box that says vertical orientation in vmmaker. I got stuck trying the cleanstretch command though mentioned in that guide after installing super resolutions. It says it doesn't understand the cleanstretch option. I also don't see a cleanstretch line in mame.ini. So I wasn't able to complete those parts.

So anyway what's happening is that it sort of "works" when I fire up groovymame but it's always picking interlaced resolutions even for vertical games that should fit fine. For I stand for donpachi it chose 912x512i. Not sure what to do. I assume either the right modes didn't install or something else is wrong. Any ideas? What other info can I provide to help troubleshoot?

Oh, I guess I should mention I left both monitors attached. I left extend desktop on as it's beneficial for me actually, I often stream or so other tasks with the same pc and like to have both monitors running.

« Last Edit: September 20, 2017, 03:06:25 am by Tzakiel »
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5580
Log.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Calamity, here it is. Sorry, it's been a little while since I posted here. I do see the first thing it says is horizontal, is that because of mame.ini? I tried changing that once before running this log and it didn't seem to have an effect, but let me know what you see!

Code: [Select]
SwitchRes: v0.017e, Monitor: generic_15, Orientation: horizontal, Modeline generation: enabled
SwitchRes: Monitor range 15625.00-15750.00,49.50-65.00,2.000,4.700,8.000,0.064,0.192,1.024,0,0,192,288,448,576
SwitchRes: \\.\DISPLAY11: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (CRT Emudriver - WDDM v1.1) (PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9460&SUBSYS_E115174B&REV_00)
SwitchRes: Device key: System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{386CE5A2-F4B0-4E18-B48A-A365149C83DA}\0000
ATI legacy init
Switchres: Searching for custom video modes...
Switchres: [  1]  640x 480 @ 59 : system mode
Switchres: [  2]  640x 480 @ 60* : system mode
Switchres: [  3]  640x 480 @ 72 : system mode
Switchres: [  4]  640x 480 @ 75 : system mode
Switchres: [  5]  720x 480 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [  6]  768x 480 @ 60 : ATI legacy timing "768x480_60 15.690000KHz 60.000000Hz" 15.690000 768 800 872 1000 480 483 489 523 interlace  -hsync -vsync
Switchres: [  7]  800x 480 @ 60 : ATI legacy timing "800x480_60 15.692000KHz 60.007648Hz" 16.320000 800 832 912 1040 480 483 489 523 interlace  -hsync -vsync
Switchres: [  8]  800x 600 @ 56 : system mode
Switchres: [  9]  800x 600 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 10]  800x 600 @ 70 : system mode
Switchres: [ 11]  800x 600 @ 72 : system mode
Switchres: [ 12]  800x 600 @ 75 : system mode
Switchres: [ 13] 1024x 768 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 14] 1024x 768 @ 70 : system mode
Switchres: [ 15] 1024x 768 @ 72 : system mode
Switchres: [ 16] 1024x 768 @ 75 : system mode
Switchres: [ 17] 1152x 864 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 18] 1152x 864 @ 70 : system mode
Switchres: [ 19] 1152x 864 @ 75 : system mode
Switchres: [ 20] 1280x 720 @ 59 : system mode
Switchres: [ 21] 1280x 720 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 22] 1280x 800 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 23] 1280x 800 @ 75 : system mode
Switchres: [ 24] 1280x1024 @ 60 : system mode
Switchres: [ 25] 1280x1024 @ 70 : system mode
Switchres: [ 26] 1280x1024 @ 75 : system mode
SwitchRes: Found 2 custom of 26 active video modes

SwitchRes: Entering switchres_modeline_setup
SwitchRes: v0.017e:[donpachi] Calculating best video mode for 240x320@57.550644 orientation: rotated

SwitchRes: [ 640]x[ 480]_[59=59.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 640]x[ 480]_[60=60.000000Hz]
   rng(0):  out of range

SwitchRes: [ 640]x[ 480]_[72=72.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 640]x[ 480]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 720]x[ 480]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 768]x[ 480]_(60=60.000000Hz)
   rng(0):  768 x 480_57.550644i 15.682550 [fract] scale(2, 1, 1) diff(11.11, 47.06, 0.0000) ratio(3.200, 1.500)

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 480]_(60=60.007648Hz)
   rng(0):  800 x 480_57.550644i 15.682550 [fract] scale(2, 1, 1) diff(6.67, 47.06, 0.0000) ratio(3.333, 1.500)

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 600]_[56=56.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 600]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 600]_[70=70.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 600]_[72=72.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [ 800]x[ 600]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1024]x[ 768]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1024]x[ 768]_[70=70.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1024]x[ 768]_[72=72.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1024]x[ 768]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1152]x[ 864]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1152]x[ 864]_[70=70.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1152]x[ 864]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[ 720]_[59=59.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[ 720]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[ 800]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[ 800]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[1024]_[60=60.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[1024]_[70=70.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [1280]x[1024]_[75=75.000000Hz] - locked

SwitchRes: [donpachi] (1) vertical (240x320@57.550644)->(800x480@57.550644)
   rng(0):  800 x 480_57.550644i 15.682550 [fract] scale(2, 1, 1) diff(6.67, 47.06, 0.0000) ratio(3.333, 1.500)
SwitchRes: Modeline "800x480_60 15.682550KHz 57.550644Hz" 16.309852 800 832 912 1040 480 494 500 545 interlace  -hsync -vsync
Switchres: saving    ATI legacy timing "800x480_60 15.692000KHz 60.007648Hz" 16.320000 800 832 912 1040 480 483 489 523 interlace  -hsync -vsync
Switchres: updating  ATI legacy timing "800x480_60 15.682550KHz 57.550644Hz" 16.309852 800 832 912 1040 480 494 500 545 interlace  -hsync -vsync
SwitchRes: Setting option -rotate
SwitchRes: Setting option -noror
SwitchRes: Setting option -noautoror
SwitchRes: Setting option -norol
SwitchRes: Setting option -noautorol
SwitchRes: Setting option -keepaspect
SwitchRes: Setting option -unevenstretch
SwitchRes: Setting option -nounevenstretchx
SwitchRes: Setting option -noblack_frame_insertion
SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -notriplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync
SwitchRes: Setting option -filter
Video: Monitor 1573455 = "\\.\DISPLAY10"
Video: Monitor 4522567 = "\\.\DISPLAY11" (primary)
Direct3D: Using Direct3D 9
Physical width 640, height 480
Direct3D: Initialize
Direct3D: Configuring adapter #1 = ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (CRT Emudriver - WDDM v1.1)
Direct3D: Adapter has Vendor ID: 1002 and Device ID: 9460
Direct3D: Using dynamic textures
Direct3D: YUV format = RGB
Direct3D: Max texture size = 8192x8192
Direct3D: Device created at 800x480
Direct3D: First scanline: 25, Last scanline: 505, Break scanline: 505, Delay scanline: -29
Direct3D: Initialize HLSL
Direct3D: First store options
Direct3D: HLSL initialized
RawInput: APIs detected
RawInput: APIs detected
RawInput: APIs detected
stream_buffer_size = 37888
DirectSound: Primary buffer: 48000 Hz, 16 bits, 2 channels
Input: Adding keyboard #0: HID Keyboard Device (device id: \\?\HID#VID_046D&PID_C52B&MI_00#7&83342f0&0&0000#{884b96c3-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding keyboard #1: HID Keyboard Device (device id: \\?\HID#VID_D209&PID_0450&MI_01#8&2c087890&0&0000#{884b96c3-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding mouse #0: HID-compliant mouse (device id: \\?\HID#VID_046D&PID_C52B&MI_01&Col01#7&1ff6cf35&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding mouse #1: HID-compliant mouse (device id: \\?\HID#VID_D209&PID_0450&MI_02#8&38eab5a0&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding lightgun #0: HID-compliant mouse (device id: \\?\HID#VID_046D&PID_C52B&MI_01&Col01#7&1ff6cf35&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding lightgun #1: HID-compliant mouse (device id: \\?\HID#VID_D209&PID_0450&MI_02#8&38eab5a0&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd})
Input: Adding joystick #0: J-PAC (device id: J-PAC product_0450d209-0000-0000-0000-504944564944 instance_84924680-9d9b-11e7-800a-444553540000)
Direct3D: Error 88760868 during device present call
Region ':maincpu' created
un7z: opened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':sprites0' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':layer0' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':layer1' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':layer2' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':oki1' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':oki2' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':eeprom' created
Direct3D: resetting device
Direct3D: Initialize HLSL
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Region ':pal' created
un7z: found roms\donpachi.7z in cache
un7z: reopened archive file roms\donpachi.7z
un7z: closing archive file roms\donpachi.7z and sending to cache
Starting DonPachi (US) ':'
Optional device ':soundlatch' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_right' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_left' not found
Optional device ':oki' not found
Optional device ':audiocpu' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vctrl.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.1' not found
  (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
Starting M68000 ':maincpu'
Starting Serial EEPROM 93C46 (64x16) ':eeprom'
Starting Timer ':int_timer'
Starting Video Screen ':screen'
Starting gfxdecode ':gfxdecode'
Starting palette ':palette'
Optional memory region ':palette:finder_dummy_tag' not found
Starting Speaker ':mono'
  (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
Starting OKI MSM6295 ADPCM ':oki1'
Starting OKI MSM6295 ADPCM ':oki2'
Starting NMK112 ':nmk112'
Starting DonPachi (US) ':'
Optional device ':soundlatch' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_right' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_left' not found
Optional device ':oki' not found
Optional device ':audiocpu' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vctrl.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.1' not found
  (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
Starting Speaker ':mono'
Starting DonPachi (US) ':'
Optional device ':soundlatch' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_right' not found
Optional device ':int_timer_left' not found
Optional device ':oki' not found
Optional device ':audiocpu' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':paletteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram_2.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':spriteram.1' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vctrl.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':vram.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.3' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.2' not found
Optional shared pointer ':videoregs.1' not found
Switchres: restoring ATI legacy timing "800x480_60 15.692000KHz 60.007648Hz" 16.320000 800 832 912 1040 480 483 489 523 interlace  -hsync -vsync
« Last Edit: September 20, 2017, 11:04:33 am by Calamity »
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5580
You have no modes installed. Use Vmmaker to install some modes and everything should be fine.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi Calamity - I did run vmmaker and generated and then installed the modes per the guide. I'm not sure why none are showing up then? I did notice it only generated a few modes and that seemed odd.  How do I make sure it's generating all the modes I need?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2017, 11:16:31 am by Tzakiel »
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5580
Make sure you're using the new tools (2.0). When you install the modes properly, they show up later and are selectable in Arcade OSD.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2017, 12:11:08 pm by Calamity »
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I double checked and I should have all the latest... 2.0 and beta 10.

VMMaker just puts out like 8 modes with the generic 15khz setting. I'm confused.

Attached is output when I generate. Is there something I need to do to make it generate the rest of the modes?
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I tried generating the mame xml and checking the box to use that for modes. That generated a ton of modes I was able to install. Then groovymame started working right. However, 2 things I am stumped on:

1: using the Nanao ms2930 monitor in vmmaker (again with the mame xml checked) results in mame UI not being able to launch, its garbled over the jpac. If I use the generic 15khz setting things work including the UI. Shouldn't the Nanao setting work better?

2. The new modes seem to have excluded the 1280x1024 mode my LCD second screen actually needs, now I can only get 640x480 out of it. (There is a long list of resolutions available, same as the crt, but nothing over 800 or so) How do I restore that mode so I can use it for that display?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2017, 08:14:54 pm by Tzakiel »
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I got the lcd monitor sorted out. The remaining issue is just that I wasn't able to get the nanao modes working. What can I try there? I have noticed some strange scrolling/aspect issues with landscape games, I guess because of not using the nanao modes? Is it possible that the games will work and it was just the MAME UI that doesn't?
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Well I tested just running a game from command line with the Nanao modes installed and it doesn't work just like the UI doesn't.  I would be ok just using generic 15khz but for some reason horizontal interlaced games are squashed vertically

Calamity: any idea how to correct?
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
  • Is running at 15kHz
The J-PAc is probably f-ing with the sync. They do that, though normally it doesn't hurt. But if you set the nanao preset, then generate and install the modes, and those modes all work fine from ArcadeOSD, the problem must be with mame.ini, i guess? You've indicated you're exporting your monitor timings to mame.ini from VMM, but have you gone and checked?

Correcting the aspect ratio can be done in MAME.ini, or, because you're using both horizontal and vertical games, in each individual game .ini file. I don't think you can set a horizontal.ini and vertical.ini file, but you could look into that. There are probably ways to do this in the VMM setup where you pick your monitor as a rotating one, but i've not had to figure that out.

Also, take a look at all the .ini files in the VMM directory and find the modeline ones, like "user modes.ini", NOT the monitor range ones, and you can create a custom list to use in VMM. VMM will trim that list based on the monitor type/ range you set.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2017, 08:47:20 pm by buttersoft »

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi butter. How do I verify mame.ini has what it's supposed to have? I'm not familiar enough to know what to check for there.
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
  • Is running at 15kHz
Hi butter. How do I verify mame.ini has what it's supposed to have? I'm not familiar enough to know what to check for there.

So everything you want is in the list of installed modes, and everything in the list works fine from ArcadeOSD?

Start by saving a backup copy of your mame.ini file elsewhere. Next, spend some time reading the mame.ini file. The core switchres options are about in the middle of the file, and from then until the display section is where you'll be focusing. It's a good way to learn what's going on, and to tweak things once you're running right. This is where aspect ratio settings can be found, among other things. Modeline generation should be set to 1. Look at the crt_range0 line, and the resolution line. The latter should be 2560x0 if using super resolutions. Look also at the monitor.ini file in the VMM directory, and read the OP in the sticky in this forum on monitor presets for more info on ranges.

If you're really stuck, try starting over; that might be easier. Save a copy of mame.ini, then remove it from the GM directory. Then run GM using "...yourpath\mame64.exe -cc" to create a fresh mame.ini. Then go through VMM again, making sure to take note of what i said in my previous post. Then use the guide on the eiusdemmodi forum to set up GM, remembering that there's no cleanstrech option anymore. Leave the stretching options alone and just set your resolution to 2560x0 for super resolutions.

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I'll take a look at some of those areas. Unfortunately it's not straight forward for me to know if all the modes I need are there or not. Between not knowing what all games need, what is exactly right for my crt or not,  and not really understanding super resolution etc I wouldn't know.

On top of that, I can't get arcade osd to work on my crt display. It works normally on the LCD but when I hit P2 to switch monitors for OSD, the menu options don't work correctly, arrow keys don't move the selection and I can't activate anything.

Good to know the cleanstretch option is gone- I had no idea so I assumed super res just doesn't work or something.

While I am at it, another thing I couldn't find an explanation for: the groovymame executable download has two exes in it, one for groovymame and one named differently, dx something which is an alt version. Which one is correct to use?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2017, 10:31:23 pm by Tzakiel »
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
  • Is running at 15kHz
damnit my post went astray - ok here we go again.

If you set the Nanao2930 preset in VMM, it will generate timings for the full range of that monitor, which includes 31 and possibly 25kHz modes. They will not work with the jumper set on 15kHz, no. Only 15kHz modes will work in that position.

If Arcade OSD is not working on your CRT there is something wrong before you get to MAME. Solve this first. ArcadeOSD must work perfectly first. And you need a good-size resolution list in it, including 2560x240 for starters, so games like SF2 will have a mode to display right. Are you binding the ArcadeOSD program to the right monitor? You switch it, then you have to bind it to the display it's currently on. Beyond this i have no idea what might be wrong or why the keys would screw up.

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi butter, yes it's strange. When arcade osd is on my LCD it works fine, the up and down keys move the selection and I can hit enter to activate what's highlighted. When I switch it to my crt with P2, I can't move the highlight at all including to where I could bind it to monitor. Hitting the up and down keys on that screen just makes the scroll bar start to look weird. Dunno, maybe a bug only my system is bringing up. I guess I will try wiping out everything and start over.
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I recreated my ini file and then ran vmmaker with only the crt0 line. I deleted the 24 and 31khz lines from the monitor list. Now things are working swell. I'm happy!

Last question, I hope: should I use the d3d9ex version of mame64? I want to reduce input lag as much as possible and would love to turn off framedelay. Do I just replace the exe or do I need to enable something in the ini file/regen the ini file after i replace the exe?
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1822
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
It's a shame to have a tri-sync monitor and not use all the available ranges.

Here's a thread that explains that you have to remove all three jumpers from the JPAC and then modify the JPAC to connect the sync...

https://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?t=30924

You might want to email Andy @ Ultimarc.com and double check that this is the correct configuration for your monitor and verify which pins to bridge with a soldered on jumper wire.

Here's another related thread that shows the soldering on the JPAC...

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=152488.0
« Last Edit: September 22, 2017, 10:49:18 pm by krick »

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hey Krick,

Thanks for that info, but I truly don't use 24 or 31khz at all for any games, odd as that may seem. What are some great 31khz mame games?

Anyway, it's not just the jpac, my Nanao also doesn't auto switch. Switches on it need to be manually set too.
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1822
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Oh, OK.  I thought it was one of the auto-switching models.  Never mind then.

I'm sure there are probably a few 31KHz games, but I don't know any off the top of my head.  I think the only real reason I'd use the 31KHz range would be for running vertical games. 

Tzakiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
My monitor is actually vertically mounted as I like shmups. Interesting point though, I forgot about how high res might help run horizontal games with more detail. Though you know it's not half bad interlaced at 15khz. It's not good but it's playable.

Are you saying if I installed the 31khz modes horizontal games would run with more detail and less flicker? That would be nice. But I still don't understand why I wasn't able to run 15khz games from the command line with the extra modes installed. Oh well.
My Fighter CRT Cabinet Thread: Tzakiel's 2P Cabinet

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31