Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz  (Read 367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cornhairboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« on: September 18, 2017, 04:37:15 pm »
Hi all,

In need of some wisdom and support. Here is my situation...

I have a hd 5870 with a 36inch Toshiba crt. Now my problem is this, it's a pretty capable unit. However, I cannot fix the following problem....

After playing around with vmmaker it gives me a number of video modes but anything above 640x480 the frame rates drop to 10-19fps even with vsync off.

So for example tekken 7 at 720x480 is trying to play at interlaced at 60hz but the frame rate is poor. I have tried everything from turning off vsync to changing the resolution. The only thing that speeds it up is if I go back to 640x480 or I try resolutions closer to 50hz interlaced (like 702x488 @ 52hz)

It's really strange as it's almost like the resolution refresh rates are messing with the framerate. At times it tries to speed up but appears to be governed.

Can anyone offer any insight how to fix this with vmmaker?? I'm stuck for ideas!!

My tv can do 100hz and 480p if needed.

Any help guys would be great!!

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 10:20:12 pm »
No idea about a fix, but you have T7 running fine at 640x480@60i? That's awesome. Was anything special required to get it running? Where did you turn V-sync off, in the game menus?

cornhairboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2017, 02:46:50 am »
Yeah it's pretty awesome although you end up losing the detail in the lines and the picture is squashedand stretched so although your native res is 640 x 480 the actual borderless window is probably alot smaller to keep with the ratio.

I will post some pictures shortly, but it was running at 800x288 at one point all stretched! Yuk!

My plan is to get the newer fighting games running on my 36inch 16:9 crt tv at full speed. But I really need input from the pros who know how to manage vmmaker and modelines.

So close yet so far!! Calamity and the other forum guys normally save my bacon though with his insight
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 03:04:44 am by cornhairboy »

Calamity

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5615
Re: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2017, 05:23:42 am »
Just to clarify, are you talking about PC games (not MAME)?

Is that Windows 7? If so, disable desktop compositing (i.e. "Aero").
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

cornhairboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2017, 05:34:26 am »
Yes it's windows games, mame runs amazingly well. I will try disabling Windows aero as I'm running Windows 7. I will also try manually forcing vsync to be disabled as I had to do this when I was running my old 4890 crossfire. Currently the 5870 manages everything well.

I will update you with my results.

Thank again

cornhairboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Resolution frame rate slow downs anything above 640x480@30hz
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2017, 01:12:14 pm »
Calamity,

It works!!!!! Amazing stuff can't thank you enough. Now any advice for removing modelines my monitor can't support.

I have tekken 7 running at 800 x 496. I will post a picture it runs so smooth with vsync on no issues or tearing so it was the aero.

Now my next quest is to get it running at full screen as currently its running borderless. If I switch to full screen it uses a resolution my 36crt can't display. How do I remove this from the modeline?

Thanks

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31