Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: CBO's arcade build  (Read 1068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
CBO's arcade build
« on: September 13, 2017, 10:58:52 am »
Hello all. I'm going to be sharing my build here and asking questions along the way. I have too many projects going on to build my own cabinet so I bought an old cabinet off craigslist and drove an hour to pick it up. Its just the cab no guts. It was a War Final Assault machine so it used to look like this:





Pretty awesome looking. I bought it looking like this:



The control panel board was hacked up so the first thing i did was replace it. Happened to have some scrap mdf around.







I bought happ buttons and sticks. Enough buttons for fighters.  Cut the holes.







Touched up the paint a little. I've still got a lot of work to do stay tuned. Any tips or advice is appreciated!!

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2017, 11:39:47 am »
I'm planning on using a flat panel tv so I'll be trimming the back off by 8 inches. It just doesn't need to be so colossal. So cutting on the green line.



You can see I mounted one joystick. I had some trouble tho! Almost ruined the board but it'll work! So excited for this thing!!

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2017, 10:23:39 pm »
I had an old 17" tv I thought about using but it was just too small. I eventually found a 25" flat screen on CL for $15! I just went and picked it up. Its not the largest screen that could fit but I'm very pleased with it for 15 dollars. It has a vga port too. So I dont need a fancy video card.



This next picture is my mock design for the cab. Cut 8", I already have carbon fiber wrap for the cp, and I found this gaming sticker bomb wrap on ebay for the CP sides. I think it will look cool and unique.



It came with a coin door and I'm not sure what I'll do with the marquee yet.  ???

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16460
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2017, 10:29:52 pm »
Awwww, you lost me at cutting the cab....
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3024
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2017, 10:34:02 pm »
Looks like the same cab as a Mortal Kombat.  I think I woulda just bought an MK resto art kit and gone from there.  How much was the cab, itself?  Any idea what you are gonna do on the sides?

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 10:56:03 pm »
Awwww, you lost me at cutting the cab....
Why?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2017, 11:17:59 pm by Crashburnoveride »

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2017, 11:01:33 pm »
Looks like the same cab as a Mortal Kombat.  I think I woulda just bought an MK resto art kit and gone from there.  How much was the cab, itself?  Any idea what you are gonna do on the sides?

Ya that would be cool actually slippy. I havent cut it yet so I'll do some research on that. I can't remember exactly but I think I paid $100 for the cab. Maybe less but not more. As of now nothing on the sides unless I find a graphic I really like.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16460
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2017, 11:11:36 pm »
I'd keep it full sized - you never know down the road what you might do with  the cab.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2017, 11:17:02 pm »
I'd keep it full sized - you never know down the road what you might do with  the cab.

Well you may be right. If there comes a time when I can justify spending 200+ dollars on a set of stickers. Definitely can't do that now! Yikes...

smass

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
  • Cheapskate Arcade
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2017, 09:52:42 am »
I'd totally mortal kombat the crap out of that thing.  I understand the budget issue, but I agree with Yots, if you have the room don't cut her.  Maybe Santa is reading the thread and can get you the artwork - if you are a good boy of course...

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 961
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2017, 10:13:24 am »
Cutting that cab won't substantially reduce the cost of the artwork. It will, however, limit the future use of that cabinet. Who knows? Maybe you will get infected with the arcade bug. You will not be able to stuff an arcade monitor in there in the future if you butcher the cab now.

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6556
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2017, 08:20:26 pm »
Cut it! There are a bazillion of those cabs and if you want to go with a big honking CRT later, sell it and get a new cab.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 12125
  • Redhead pee the bed, blame it on a cabbage head.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2017, 09:09:38 pm »
I dont think cutting the 8" off is worth all the extra work. Its not just cutting its moving the braces, the casters, extending the back door (or back top plat the door butts up against), etc
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

KI to Open Ice Conversion: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16460
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2017, 10:19:50 pm »
Cut it! There are a bazillion of those cabs and if you want to go with a big honking CRT later, sell it and get a new cab.

Quiet, you!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2017, 12:54:01 pm »
I wouldn't of cut the cabinet in case if you wanted to put in a CRT.  :(

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2017, 07:39:29 pm »
Well, for now at least I will not be chopping the cab. Most of you will be happy. I got the monitor mounted. The guy I bought the cab from gave me a piece of glass but its too big doesnt fit.  ??? So I'll have to have it cut or buy something new.  :angry:



While cutting the lexan for the cp the bit slipped off and scratched it! Live with it or spend money on another piece??



 :hissy:

zinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 107
  • There's a Donkey Kong Kill Screen coming up!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2017, 03:26:01 am »
You could try and cut the glass yourself with a $3 glass cutter.  :-\

After all the time you'll put into this thing, you're not going to want those scratches on your control panel. I would just get another piece.

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2017, 11:21:45 am »
After all the time you'll put into this thing, you're not going to want those scratches on your control panel. I would just get another piece.

Ugh... you're right. Cuz once you put the micro switches on the buttons dont fit thru the holes anymore do they? I figure they dont so I probably want it perfect before I wire everything up. Im going to check today if my local hardware store cuts glass too.

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6556
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2017, 05:39:29 am »
How is the glass too big? Is it too tall? If it's too wide, you will need to cut a new piece, but if it's too tall, it might need to be slid up more into the marquee area.

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
  • RetroPie all the way!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2017, 07:24:55 am »
You could try and cut the glass yourself with a $3 glass cutter.  :-\
If it's tempered you shouldn't cut I guess? Will shatter, right?

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 961
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2017, 07:48:36 am »
There are ways to do it, but for your personal safety, don't try. It will probably crack or shatter or both.

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2017, 07:54:57 am »
There are ways to do it, but for your personal safety, don't try. It will probably crack or shatter or both.

I'm definitely letting the hardware store cut it for me. They only charge $1 per cut.  :applaud:

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #22 on: September 18, 2017, 08:21:32 am »
How is the glass too big? Is it too tall? If it's too wide, you will need to cut a new piece, but if it's too tall, it might need to be slid up more into the marquee area.

Its too wide AND too tall. Literally just think the dood gave me any piece of glass he had around when I bought it. But oh well I'll figure it out.

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #23 on: September 18, 2017, 02:42:36 pm »
So what do u guys do for a monitor bezel? I was gonna tape and paint the backside of the glass black. Then maybe use foil tape to block all light. Thinking about glueing some dark foam in a square that will smush up to the tv edges to seal that gap.

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2017, 09:17:48 pm »
Ok WTF.  :angry: Whats the secret here guys?  :banghead:


PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6362
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #25 on: September 18, 2017, 09:48:55 pm »
Ok WTF.  :angry: Whats the secret here guys?  :banghead:
Check out Selfie's thread here.


Scott

Spawn2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #26 on: September 18, 2017, 11:25:13 pm »
Ok WTF.  :angry: Whats the secret here guys?  :banghead:

The way i make plexi overlays for my mame cabs.
1) Cut the plexi as close to the original cp as possible.
2) Clamp the plexi to your control panel and use at least 3 clamps on different sides so it will not slide around.
3) Use a flush trim bit and a router to route the outside edge.
4) Use a step drill bit to make holes where the buttons are. You just need them big enough for the router bit to fit though.
5) Use the flush trim bit and router to route button holes.

This will make a horrible mess but the plexi will be an exact copy of your control panel. I use a shop vac after each button hole. The biggest thing you have to watch out for is flakes of plexi getting under the router base. A flake might get caught and you will be dragging (and scratching) your overlay. The router may bump into a clamp and you will have to reposition the clamp so its out of the way. Do this one clamp at a time.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2017, 11:27:01 pm by Spawn2k »

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #27 on: September 19, 2017, 10:54:22 pm »
forstner bits baby. Oh yea :notworthy:  Make the pretty holes in the plexi

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 12125
  • Redhead pee the bed, blame it on a cabbage head.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #28 on: September 20, 2017, 08:45:18 am »
clamp the plex to the CP, dremel it out. Its a poor mans router, just get a triangle shaped bit, plunge near the outside and do a loop. Get a pack of the cheap sanding bits in case they get clogged.

Its messy but effective.  Optionally, measure everything and get a piece of plexi CNC'ed
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

KI to Open Ice Conversion: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #29 on: September 20, 2017, 08:59:33 am »
Thanks for all the suggestions. This forum has been great so far. I'm getting another sheet of lexan and avoiding the plexi. Will be buying a forstner bit this go around. *fingers crossed* will update y'all with how it went!

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 961
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #30 on: September 20, 2017, 09:05:38 am »
Lexan (polycarbonate) is harder to crack, but it scratches easier than Plexiglass (acrylic).

Crashburnoveride

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #31 on: September 20, 2017, 09:17:12 am »
P.s. my local hardware store was scared to cut my glass. Idc if it shatters so i might score it and use my father in laws brake (break?) I already have a score tool for tile. If it shatters do people use 1/4" plexi for the screen cover? Or should I have a new piece of glass cut? Was thinking too maybe use wood with just the screen cut out and a smaller piece of plexi there.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 12125
  • Redhead pee the bed, blame it on a cabbage head.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #32 on: September 21, 2017, 08:07:01 am »
I use plexi to replace monitor glass all the time. The stuff hardware stores cut isnt tempered , so it'll break into sharp jagged pieces.
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

KI to Open Ice Conversion: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 961
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #33 on: September 21, 2017, 09:14:48 am »
Acrylic is optically clearer than glass. It is more durable than glass. It is much lighter than glass. The main downside is that it is far easier to scratch than glass. As long as you can keep people from poking the screen, acrylic is the better choice.

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4196
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #34 on: September 21, 2017, 03:22:30 pm »
Acrylic is also less static-resistant than glass. So dust will accumulate faster on acrylic than glass will.

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1403
Re: CBO's arcade build
« Reply #35 on: Yesterday at 03:24:39 pm »
Well, for now at least I will not be chopping the cab. Most of you will be happy. I got the monitor mounted. The guy I bought the cab from gave me a piece of glass but its too big doesnt fit.  ??? So I'll have to have it cut or buy something new.  :angry:



While cutting the lexan for the cp the bit slipped off and scratched it! Live with it or spend money on another piece??



 :hissy:
   There might just be some hope for you yet :applaud:.... A gutted cab like that doesn't seem much of a loss if you were to just chop around on it, but it does have a name and number, and still holds the secrets of a long life (maybe someday, for someone else?) but for now, that extra cab, will help keep it more stable in heated battle, and bonus points to others around here  with the OMG what!!!  mentality .... HEY JENNIFER, what do you think of acrylics? Jenn?... Oh never mind, She must have went to her mothers....Sorry ::)
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 04:02:53 pm by jennifer »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31