Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 1.21.0 / A08  (Read 9242 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #40 on: November 11, 2017, 01:12:42 pm »
Yes, here it is  :cheers:

Ok, it seems that emu4crt is doing his job: switching to 256x288.

So, your problem should be related to your PAL modelines. You can check them, one by one, with Arcade_OSD.  ;)

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #41 on: November 11, 2017, 03:01:49 pm »
Yes, here it is  :cheers:

Ok, it seems that emu4crt is doing his job: switching to 256x288.

So, your problem should be related to your PAL modelines. You can check them, one by one, with Arcade_OSD.  ;)

Thanks for the hints! I will check them, first i need to look how to use arcade_osd because i never used it before :)

In the meantime switched some of the roms to the respective ntsc version, and they seem to work fine. I did also some tests to convert pal to ntsc roms and this seems to work well so far :)

I will check the remaining roms that have no ntsc version and try to fix them with arcade_osd.

Again thanks and keep the good work!! Its awesome what you do with emu4crt :) :) :)

Dacasks

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #42 on: November 17, 2017, 11:29:06 am »

Well, I'm pretty sure that vsync will prevent any tearing. ;)

About input lag, emu4crt should not be worse than the official build, and, just in case, the Mednafen Team gives some recommendations: https://mednafen.github.io/documentation/#Section_lag

Blit time Sync was activated, that was causing more input lag, sorry. Now it's fine like the vanilla build, but what I meant about no screen tearing is the same solution as Groovymame: No tearing without needing the "regular vsync" which introduces lag.

I guess that isn't possible for now. But it's great already... just need to ignore the tearing.

Lindiu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #43 on: January 04, 2018, 04:36:35 pm »
Hi, the PSX bios transition is fixed?, I have an error starting a lot of PSX games ( with no problems in others).

Error:
Assertion failed!: ... video.cpp, Line 1218
Expression: dest_rect.h > 0

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #44 on: January 04, 2018, 05:51:39 pm »
Hi,

I didn't know about such error, so... there is no fix for now.  :)

Please, could you give one or more game which produce the error ?

Log file may help too.

Thank you.

Lindiu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #45 on: January 04, 2018, 06:46:57 pm »
The X-Files, for example. Tomorrow I'll upload the log file.

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #46 on: January 05, 2018, 03:22:34 am »
It's ok, I can reproduce on several games.  :o

I will work on it.

Lindiu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #47 on: January 05, 2018, 10:27:32 am »
Thank you :applaud:

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - updated to 0.9.48
« Reply #48 on: January 06, 2018, 10:00:12 pm »
Hi, the PSX bios transition is fixed?, I have an error starting a lot of PSX games ( with no problems in others).

Error:
Assertion failed!: ... video.cpp, Line 1218
Expression: dest_rect.h > 0

New release! It should be fixed.  :)

Is it possible to build a Windows 32bit version?

A 32bit version is available... in case you didn't migrate to a 64bits OS until today.  ;)

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A06
« Reply #49 on: January 17, 2018, 02:55:58 pm »
Fantastic! This is now the number one way to play PS1 on a CRT with a PC!  :applaud:

Thank you so much for your work silmalik!

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A06
« Reply #50 on: January 18, 2018, 04:22:45 am »
Would it be possible to display the control remapping a bit upper on the screen? when I use it on the arcade monitor it always displays at the bottom of the screen (usually i stretch it to match most of the games resolutions), for which i have no visibility.
It doesnt have to be in the center, as long as it is a few lines  upper and not at the bottom should be fine - maybe something like MAME style  :)

I can always stretch the monitor display, adjust the controls and then stretch it back, so its not a big deal, but just a small feature request :)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 04:24:19 am by alex2005 »

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A06
« Reply #51 on: January 18, 2018, 10:04:09 am »
Fantastic! This is now the number one way to play PS1 on a CRT with a PC!  :applaud:

Thank you so much for your work silmalik!

Thank you, I'm glad you apreciate.  :)

Would it be possible to display the control remapping a bit upper on the screen? when I use it on the arcade monitor it always displays at the bottom of the screen (usually i stretch it to match most of the games resolutions), for which i have no visibility.
It doesnt have to be in the center, as long as it is a few lines  upper and not at the bottom should be fine - maybe something like MAME style  :)

I can always stretch the monitor display, adjust the controls and then stretch it back, so its not a big deal, but just a small feature request :)

Could you confirm that you use the last version ?
OSD messages are already displayed a bit upper to prevent overscan, but maybe it's not enough in some situation.

I like comfort too, so I will have a look on this if I can reproduce.  ;)

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A06
« Reply #52 on: January 18, 2018, 12:47:29 pm »
my bad, I thought I was using the last version, but I was not.

The latter one is perfect! Fonts display bigger and no longer out of my screen range.

Thanks a lot!!

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #53 on: January 18, 2018, 07:42:42 pm »

A07 Update: support of Super Resolutions added.

Configuration file update is required since resolution switch is now defined with "video.resolution_switch" parameter.
Accepted values are: 0 (default), native and super.

Feel free to report any issue or suggestion.

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #54 on: January 19, 2018, 08:00:28 am »
Just tried the latest version, its such an awesome job what you are doing!
So far works great with native resolutions, but I must say Saturn using super resolutions looks even better :)

Thanks a lot for all your time and dedication! :)

hotdog963al

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • PVM-14M2E
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #55 on: January 23, 2018, 06:38:18 pm »
Hey, thanks so much for this.

I started fiddling with the A05 release a few weeks back, but quickly noticed the frequent horizontal switching on PSX was not great for my PVM, so I hacked about with the GPU code and got it outputting at 2560 wide which worked perfectly. I see you've included this feature in the newer version which is great.

Another issue I had however was with how Mednafen itself handles positioning/overscan, for example, at certain horizontal resolutions, you either end up with stuff being incorrectly cropped, or extra black bands being added (note how screenshots are never the right res). I eventually managed to get the code working so that the output was exactly perfect with no black bands or incorrect cropping, save for a slight crop at the 368 res which wound up at 365 (due to it being @ 2560).

Would you be interested in fixing this issue in your version? I can supply some diffs if you'd like to see what I did to get it working.

Cheers

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #56 on: January 24, 2018, 02:42:33 pm »
Hi hotdog963al,

Yes, of course, I'm eager to test your fix!  :)

Please, send your diffs and I'll try to integrate them in my mod.

hotdog963al

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • PVM-14M2E
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #57 on: January 24, 2018, 05:01:23 pm »
Hi hotdog963al,

Yes, of course, I'm eager to test your fix!  :)

Please, send your diffs and I'll try to integrate them in my mod.

Here's the entire gpu.cpp file. I isolated the changes that were relevant and integrated them into the code from your A07 release. Seems to work!
https://pastebin.com/raw/KyQ8jXPa

Here's a few screenshots as well to just give you an idea, I've tested all resolutions and it works great. Granted, 3px are lost at 368, but that would take quite a bit more effort to resolve and I honestly don't think it's worth it. :laugh:
https://imgur.com/a/gp1MZ

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #58 on: January 24, 2018, 07:58:45 pm »
Ooooh it works great, well done!  :)

It seems to fix Mednafen's global PSX horizontal centering issue, maybe you should contact the team to expose what you've done.

If you are ok, i will integrate your fix "as is" in a next release.

Thank you for sharing.

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #59 on: January 25, 2018, 01:01:20 pm »
I don't suppose I could ask a strange favour?

I'm working on getting the original NES Zapper working which I'm confident it should, I just need the optical sense line exposed as an input, would that be possible? I don't know where to start compiling mednafen or I'd do it myself!

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #60 on: January 25, 2018, 03:00:49 pm »
Hi retrorepair,

Well, I don't understand your request, sorry.  Don't know what is the optical sense line ?  ???

I'm not very experienced with cpp, so, if you feel confident to make your mod by yourself, I can help to get a compilation environment.

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #61 on: January 25, 2018, 04:14:14 pm »
That would be very helpful, thanks! I'll PM you after work

hotdog963al

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • PVM-14M2E
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #62 on: January 27, 2018, 08:56:55 am »
Ooooh it works great, well done!  :)

It seems to fix Mednafen's global PSX horizontal centering issue, maybe you should contact the team to expose what you've done.

If you are ok, i will integrate your fix "as is" in a next release.

Thank you for sharing.

Great! Glad to hear it's working for you.

By all means go ahead and include it, it'll save me having to patch it in every time you release an update! :D

0mike0b

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #63 on: February 10, 2018, 04:46:25 pm »
Hello! I'm very interested in using Emu4CRT in super resolution mode but I can't seem to figure out what I'm doing wrong when I try to set the option in mednafen-09x.cfg

Is there any way somebody could go in to detail on how to set super resolution mode in the cfg or maybe send a working cfg file. It would be a huge help thanks so much to anyone reading this!

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #64 on: February 10, 2018, 06:31:34 pm »
i went through the documentation and its quite straight forward,  did you install the required modelines in vmmaker?

0mike0b

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #65 on: February 11, 2018, 08:25:33 pm »
i went through the documentation and its quite straight forward,  did you install the required modelines in vmmaker?

Yes I have all 4 of them required for Super Resolutions. If it is so straight forward maybe you can help me find where I am messing it up. I attempt to add an option at the end of my config for mednafen like so

video.resolution_switch Super

It always gets moved to a section of the cfg titled "Unrecognized Settings Follow:"

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #66 on: February 12, 2018, 08:23:51 am »
Hi,

Once launched, emu4crt should add required lines in cfg file by himself, and not in "Unrecognized" section of course:

;Video resolution switch (0, native or super).
video.resolution_switch 0


If you still have troubles, please check that you are using the correct executable version and post cfg & stdout file. Thanks.

terranigma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #67 on: February 18, 2018, 02:41:46 am »
Hi silmalik, thank you for your effort.

Is this mod Windows specific or other systems (say, Linux) that mednafen supports can benefit of it?

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #68 on: February 18, 2018, 12:18:26 pm »
Hi terranigma,

No specific Windows code has been added, just some calls for SDL standart functions, so... it could work on other systems. :)

terranigma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #69 on: February 20, 2018, 09:07:30 pm »
I just made a quick test on Linux with psx and snes and it behaves very well! One thing I noticed is that snes runs in a narrowed picture then I checked actual resolutions. Well, I see that It runs on "384x288" resolution instead of "256x288" which emu4crt claims.
"video.resolution_switch" is "native".

 
Code: [Select]
### VIDEO Native resolution init - set to 256x288
  Video Driver: OpenGL
  Video Mode: 256 x 288 x 32 bpp
  Shader: none
  Fullscreen: Yes
  Special Scaler: None
  Scanlines: Off
  Destination Rectangle: X=0, Y=0, W=256, H=288
  OpenGL Implementation: nouveau NVA5 3.0 Mesa 17.2.4
  Checking extensions:
   GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two found.
   GL_ARB_sync found.
  Using non-power-of-2 sized textures.
  Checking maximum texture size...
   Apparently it is at least: 8192 x 8192
  Using GL_BGRA, GL_UNSIGNED_INT_8_8_8_8_REV for texture source data.
MAIN - native resolution switched

Code: [Select]
$ xvidtune -show
"384x288"       7.41    384  392  427  472    288  291  294  314 -hsync -vsync

EDIT: Similar issue also appears on psx's intro and demo stages but actual game runs on claimed resolution.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2018, 10:19:40 pm by terranigma »

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #70 on: February 21, 2018, 01:39:48 pm »
Hi,

Well, unexpected behaviour indeed.
It seems to act like some video mode are unavailable on your system or emu4crt does not correctly set initial video mode.

- Is the window correctly sized in window mode ?
- If you disable native/super resolution and manually set 256x288 in fullscreen, does it work ?
Could you try Snes games that change resolution (ex: Secret of mana, blues brothers), let them swith and post complete log file ?

Thank you.



terranigma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #71 on: February 23, 2018, 01:39:04 pm »
Hi,

Well, unexpected behaviour indeed.
It seems to act like some video mode are unavailable on your system or emu4crt does not correctly set initial video mode.

- Is the window correctly sized in window mode ?
- If you disable native/super resolution and manually set 256x288 in fullscreen, does it work ?
Could you try Snes games that change resolution (ex: Secret of mana, blues brothers), let them swith and post complete log file ?

Thank you.

You're right. It's my bad. I thought that emu4crt is going to tune required modelines like groovymame. When I add some modelines for testing, emu4crt uses the closest one to switch if required one is not available.

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #72 on: February 24, 2018, 12:11:25 pm »
Ok, good news.

Thank you for the feedback.

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #73 on: February 25, 2018, 12:56:21 am »
Is there a way to use hard sync with mednafen, like with retroarch? It really helps reducing input lag.

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #74 on: February 25, 2018, 10:04:03 am »
I don't know about this.  ???

Recent Mednafen release is based on SDL 2, maybe it opens way for such improvement.

You may ask directly the Mednafen team for such feature. :)

terranigma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #75 on: March 04, 2018, 11:26:40 am »
Hi silmalik,
Any plan on Mednafen 1.21 ?

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #76 on: March 04, 2018, 06:20:11 pm »
Hi terranigma,

Yes of course, work in progress... should be available this week.


silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 0.9.48 / A07
« Reply #77 on: March 05, 2018, 06:08:55 pm »
Hi silmalik,
Any plan on Mednafen 1.21 ?

Done! :)

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork
« Reply #78 on: March 07, 2018, 05:32:40 pm »
If mednafen or emu4crt switches to a 31kHz mode, you can try this fix:
  1 - Stop and Disable service: AMD External events utility
  2 - Ensure that the Windows advanced display option is enable: "hide modes that is monitor cannot display"

This service often resets the "hide modes", so standard 31kHz video modes are exposed to applications, not good for our usage.

A bit late, but thank you for this post. And to Calamity for highlighting it. I was having an issue where a frontend i'd setup on an LCD was grabbing a 31kHz mode out of nowhere - it had never used that resolution before. Stopping and disabling the AMD External Events Utility fixed it.

As a side note, the second step does not seem to be needed for Win10. In fact I can't even find if that option still exists or is built-in now.

silmalik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: emu4crt Mednafen fork - update 1.21.0 / A08
« Reply #79 on: March 08, 2018, 04:21:25 pm »
Hi buttersoft,

Thank you for the feedback, I'm glad that you have fixed your issue.

The setting can still be found in Windows 10: Display settings / Display adapter properties.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31