Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Dual Cab Question  (Read 732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Dual Cab Question
« on: September 10, 2017, 12:10:12 pm »
I eventually want to get a dual racing cabinet set up in order to be able to play coop 2 player racing games whether it's Cruisn USA, MK GP2 or SRC.  BUT I was curious if there was a list of racing games already compiled that are playable in a dual cab scenario with guidance on how to set up each game per emulator? Also, do you usually need two pcs in that set up or could one PC work with 2 monitors and 2 cabs next to eachother. Thanks

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 455
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 04:36:25 pm »
This has been discussed here:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137697.0.html

You can play Model 2 Emulator and MAME in link-up with multiple versions of the emulator on a single PC and have a windowed version of each in a different monitor using a dual screen set-up but you won't be able to go full-screen on either. You're better off using two PCs.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2017, 04:47:32 pm by MrThunderwing »

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2017, 06:53:28 pm »
This has been discussed here:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137697.0.html

You can play Model 2 Emulator and MAME in link-up with multiple versions of the emulator on a single PC and have a windowed version of each in a different monitor using a dual screen set-up but you won't be able to go full-screen on either. You're better off using two PCs.

Thanks this is very helpful.  Just as a side question, has anyone had any luck getting Cruis'n USA to work in 2 player coop mode in MAME?

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2017, 09:18:09 pm »
No idea about Crusin' USA, but for PC driving games you can network i'd reccomend Grid, Dirt and Outrun 2006 :)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15798
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 10:53:37 pm »
In theory Crusin' might work, they added fairly robust network functionality to mame a while ago.  You probably need to lookup the master/slave settings required for each player. 

It looks like supermodel might get some networking support and if so it's on!  We're gonna have byoac Daytona 2 and Scud Race tournaments every weekend.  ;)

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 05:04:00 am »
It looks like supermodel might get some networking support and if so it's on!  We're gonna have byoac Daytona 2 and Scud Race tournaments every weekend night;)

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2017, 05:31:14 pm »
In theory Crusin' might work, they added fairly robust network functionality to mame a while ago.  You probably need to lookup the master/slave settings required for each player. 

It looks like supermodel might get some networking support and if so it's on!  We're gonna have byoac Daytona 2 and Scud Race tournaments every weekend.  ;)

Has anyone confirmed whether any racing games on MAME work with lan/networking support other than Outrun 2 and VR Racing? I'll test Cruis'n USA tonight.  That would be sweet.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2017, 05:56:43 pm »
Sailorsat has made a  few work. I forget which ones however

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2017, 01:56:36 pm »
Sailorsat has made a  few work. I forget which ones however

Is there a way to get in touch with Sailorsat?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dual Cab Question
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2017, 02:18:13 pm »
Yeah she's a member of this community. You can send her a pm if needed I'm sure

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31