Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?  (Read 545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lamaman1971

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« on: September 07, 2017, 12:11:51 pm »
Hi Folks, Ive a large control panel and am using the mame keyboard layout at the moment -which is not ideal since the use of shift, control, alt and so on is a pain in the behind. Do anyone else on here have a control panel key layout which works for 4 players? My setup is as follows :

Player 1
Coin, Start
6 Buttons
Up, Down, Left, Right

Player 2
Coin, Start
6 Buttons
Up, Down, Left, Right

Player 3
Coin, Start
4 Buttons
Up, Down, Left, Right

Player 4
Coin, Start
4 Buttons
Up, Down, Left, Right

Plus a spare button which Ive mapped to Escape.

45 unique keyboard codes required.
26 letters of the alphabet
4 cursor keys
10 numeric keys
What else?

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1290
  • Web Developer.
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 02:32:16 pm »
I don't understand why the use of those keys is a pain in the behind, especially if your using mame. Use name default keys. Make life easy.

Lamaman1971

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 02:50:47 pm »
Well, for a multi player cabinet there are lots of scenario's where Player One mashing away on either the Control, Shift or Alt keys while another player hits other keys (like Player 2 Enter for example) will cause problems.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6438
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2017, 03:29:00 pm »
The five default MAME "modifier" keys are:
- P1B1
- P1B2
- P1B4
- P3B1
- P3B2

In addition to those five keys, there's an overlap in the I-Pac4 defaults for P2B5-P2B8 and P3 Joystick. (both use I, K, J, and L)


Scott

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5344
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2017, 07:01:03 pm »
So Xarcade USB is out as it appears you cannot hit all six buttons at one time (I could never imagine or duplicate it).  So, that just leaves us 2 (or 4??) KADEs or Keywiz encoders for your project.  Do you really need that many player buttons?

You could get a minipac but I would want something of excellent quality and reliability in such an important product as an encoder, thus my recommendations above.  The KADE is a clear winner here if you can resource four.

Let us know how you get on.  :applaud:
"I really do feel pity for those who go out of their way to perform a personal slight, than taking the effort in joining the conversation and creating some useful dialogue which would benefit the persons' perusal of this topic.  Yet where would we be without the persistant antagonist?"

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6438
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 08:08:03 am »
Several clarifications:

1. I wouldn't recommend the oiginal KADE miniArcade due to the difficulty/expense finding Minimus AVRs, but you'd only need 2 AVRs to handle the 45 inputs OP mentioned (40 regular inputs and 5 shifted inputs) or 3 AVRs if you wanted to avoid the slightly-more-complcated wiring and/or diodes for shfted inupts. (assuming dedicated admin buttons instead of a separate shift button)

2. You'd need 2 KADE miniArcade 2.0's for OP's setup, no shifted inputs.

3. KeyWiz has 40 inputs and has to load custom keymaps during boot-up -- a great product, but probably not the best fit for OP's setup.

4. I'm shocked, shocked that you forgot to mention the easiest and most popular high-quality option for a setup like this -- an I-Pac4.   ::)


Scott

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5344
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2017, 12:32:46 pm »
Several clarifications:

1. I wouldn't recommend the oiginal KADE miniArcade due to the difficulty/expense finding Minimus AVRs, but you'd only need 2 AVRs to handle the 45 inputs OP mentioned (40 regular inputs and 5 shifted inputs) or 3 AVRs if you wanted to avoid the slightly-more-complcated wiring and/or diodes for shfted inupts. (assuming dedicated admin buttons instead of a separate shift button)

2. You'd need 2 KADE miniArcade 2.0's for OP's setup, no shifted inputs.

3. KeyWiz has 40 inputs and has to load custom keymaps during boot-up -- a great product, but probably not the best fit for OP's setup.

4. I'm shocked, shocked that you forgot to mention the easiest and most popular high-quality option for a setup like this -- an I-Pac4.   ::)


Scott


1.  Like I said, if you could resource them.

2. Really?  I didn't know that.  Thanks.

3.  Yeah, well the OP is button crazy.

4.  Haha. Now I know who has been deleting my posts. 
"I really do feel pity for those who go out of their way to perform a personal slight, than taking the effort in joining the conversation and creating some useful dialogue which would benefit the persons' perusal of this topic.  Yet where would we be without the persistant antagonist?"

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2017, 01:37:58 pm »
Don't forget the Howler....












***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6438
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2017, 02:00:19 pm »
2. You'd need 2 KADE miniArcade 2.0's for OP's setup, no shifted inputs.
2. Really?  I didn't know that.  Thanks.
Related info:
How many input ports are available?
Mapper has 47 available Button Mapping IDs. (0-46)
The Button Mapping ID "Input As" indicates which of the 24 Normal input ports or 23 Shifted input ports (Shift + B7 is reserved for Shift Lock) will trigger the related output.

Don't forget the Howler....
:duckhunt


Scott

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4595
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2017, 03:37:06 pm »
I don't understand why the use of those keys is a pain in the behind, especially if your using mame. Use name default keys. Make life easy.
Because people playing together simultaneously on a 4-player panel (using the MAME default keys) causes problems.  For example, Player 1 may press button 2 (ALT) as Player 3 presses button 3 (Enter) which will cause the screen in MAME to become windowed instantly.  Try playing NBA Jam to see what I mean (holding button down for turbo while another player presses another key).  Highly annoying.

Read more about it here:  http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=77803.0

To answer the OP's question:
You can also map buttons on an iPac to:  [ ] \ / , . ' ;   These all seem to work well, even for most console emulators as well which do not like the shift or alt buttons.

Hope this helps!

DeL
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

Ian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 681
  • "A day without Laughter is a day wasted"
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2017, 04:47:51 pm »
Get an IPac4 from Andy over at ultimarc. Works great!
Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.

AndyWarne

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1838
    • Ultimarc
Re: Arcade Control Panel - Choice of Keys for Encoder?
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2017, 08:31:15 am »
Get an IPac4 from Andy over at ultimarc. Works great!

Another solution if pre-made wiring harnesses are preferred would be 2 X Mini-PAC, each assigned with unique keycodes.

Or one I-PAC Ultimate I/O would handle it, along with 96 LED channels.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31