Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?  (Read 980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« on: September 06, 2017, 06:14:31 pm »
It seems like there are a lot of lighting options when it comes to marquees. What I'm looking for is the safest and best way to light a marquee that turns on and off with either the computer on button or monitor on switch. I currently have a working fluorescent fixture that is 110v with a three pronged cord that is not plugged in. I'm open to any options for wiring it up or buying an LED setup that wires into the computer. I'm hoping someone has some sound advice on which route to go, options for wiring, safety, or links to replacement plug and play lighting.

Many thanks

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3051
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 06:48:07 pm »
I recommend lighter fluid and a match.  The orangey-red glow is breathtaking.

But seriously, if you wanna power it off of the PC power supply, there is a TON of 12v LED strip options on amazon and others.  If you want the easiest way, take a look at Groovy Game Gear's option.  It wires straight inline with your PC supply.

http://groovygamegear.com/webstore/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=83&products_id=307

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5344
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 09:09:34 pm »
Will there be kids around?  Is it for a full size cab?  Are you a Frank Spencer when it comes to electricity?

110v Strip for full size cab, LED lighting for bartop.  It doesn't matter about power or voltage as you have 110/240 going into the cab.  Heat is never a factor, but seeing your marquee lit up in a darken room is pretty cool, so you can go both routes.  Whatever you feel comfortable with.


Frank Spencer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kP8PzO1mBug
"I really do feel pity for those who go out of their way to perform a personal slight, than taking the effort in joining the conversation and creating some useful dialogue which would benefit the persons' perusal of this topic.  Yet where would we be without the persistant antagonist?"

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2017, 10:33:49 pm »
I bought these to light the marquee in my jukebox. Much better than the cold cathode tubes I had before.

http://www.frys.com/product/8662280?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2017, 11:53:46 pm »
It's a full sized cab and my first build. Thanks for the advice. I'm leaning toward wiring in the flourescent to the cab first. If I run into a snag the LED bar Yotsuya posted looks pretty slick. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2017, 12:31:35 am »
It's a full sized cab and my first build. Thanks for the advice. I'm leaning toward wiring in the flourescent to the cab first. If I run into a snag the LED bar Yotsuya posted looks pretty slick.

I'd do the fluorescent as well, but that LED bar is great for bartops and small builds.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1969
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2017, 04:04:32 am »
Floury all day long in a full size :)

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2017, 09:15:50 am »
Floury all day long in a full size :)

Do you buy floury tubes on your lappy in the U.K.?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1969
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2017, 10:00:54 am »
Floury all day long in a full size :)

Do you buy floury tubes on your lappy in the U.K.?

Nah, I nick them from work :D

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 954
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2017, 02:36:24 pm »
For my full sized cab I went with leds and have it connected to a Molex connector for my computer. Everything turns on and off via a bit smart power strip.

Ggg has it in an all in one package (be sure to add the wiring harness).

http://groovygamegear.com/webstore/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=83&products_id=307

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2009
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2017, 05:09:23 pm »
One one of mine I pushed led christmas bulbs through some pegboard and mounted it inside. Another one was some under cabinet lights on clearance at home depot.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1290
  • Web Developer.
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2017, 03:44:26 am »
Look into the "ecostrip". It's a circuit strip that will turn on secondary plugs when power is detected on a USB cord. All you would have to do to turn on your existing marquee ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---, monitor, etc is plug it into the strip and usb cord in computer. You can wire the strip to one of those flush panel plugs in the back of your cab for a fresh look.

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2017, 05:16:45 pm »
So here is where I am at. I have a lead coming off the main power that previously went to the PCB power supply. I tested the AC voltage and got 68V, 74 V, and 134V from presumably hot to hot. My questions is how I can utilize these leads to power my floury tube which calls for 110V. Typically three phase AC outlets are hot, neutral and ground... I am a bit stumped as I anticipated seeing 110+V from one lead to ground and no voltage from the second lead to ground. What am I missing here... seems like it is staring me in the face.







Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2017, 05:26:54 pm »
Here are some pics that I meant to have added to the previous post.

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2017, 09:54:30 pm »
Here is a better question... If I connect the hot and neutral coming off of the floury tube to the AC leads that previously powered the PCB power supply, and the green (ground) from the floury tube to the ground that previously ran to the PCB power supply, will I end up with a powered floury light or a house fire?! I am just a bit baffled that both AC lines that previously ran to the PCB power supply carried a downgraded current of 68V and 74V...

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1969
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2017, 02:47:47 am »
Think you are getting a little confused.

I dont work with American power so dont know exactly what normal voltages are over there.

But.

 3 phase supplies have 3 "live" or "hot" wires, a "earth" or "ground", and sometimes a neutral.

What you describe sounds more like dual phase or centre tapped.
Where you have 2 live wires and 1 ground.
That will give you a total voltage of 110v or whatever live to live and say 55v live to ground.

How that relates to your light ime not sure.
As I said ime in the UK where we use 240v live to earth/neutral so a totally different supply for domestic use!

But we do have 2 & 3 phase supplies in industry lol

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2017, 12:10:39 pm »
Think you are getting a little confused.

I dont work with American power so dont know exactly what normal voltages are over there.

But.

 3 phase supplies have 3 "live" or "hot" wires, a "earth" or "ground", and sometimes a neutral.

What you describe sounds more like dual phase or centre tapped.
Where you have 2 live wires and 1 ground.
That will give you a total voltage of 110v or whatever live to live and say 55v live to ground.

How that relates to your light ime not sure.
As I said ime in the UK where we use 240v live to earth/neutral so a totally different supply for domestic use!

But we do have 2 & 3 phase supplies in industry lol

Indeed I am getting confused and don't know much about electricity/wiring. Unfortunately my buddy who is an electrician is out moose hunting for a few weeks, but I will likely ping him to help me wire this thing up when he gets back.

I was just curious if anyone has taken the leads that run to a PCB power supply and wired them into a light fixture on their cab. At this point it might be more worthwhile to start a new thread asking a troubleshooting question... Either way I appreciate the help!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2017, 12:53:39 pm »
Wire it up, take it outside, plug it in, turn on the hose, then fire up that mother!

I think you'll find that it works.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2017, 12:57:33 pm »
Wire it up, take it outside, plug it in, turn on the hose, then fire up that mother!

I think you'll find that it works.

The question is... which line do I run to hot on the florescent tube, and which do I run to neutral... or does it matter?!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2017, 01:14:38 pm »
I don't think it matters.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Alaska

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Fight inflation not farmers
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2017, 04:58:30 pm »
I don't think it matters.

Done and done! Light works, cab looks great. My first build is officially done! Pretty exciting. Thanks again for the help.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 16917
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2017, 08:42:25 pm »
I don't think it matters.

Done and done! Light works, cab looks great. My first build is officially done! Pretty exciting. Thanks again for the help.

No problem! Glad it worked out!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 665
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: What is the Best Way to Light a Marquee?
« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2017, 10:42:05 pm »
You guys are trippin, LED's all the way.        Used the led strips from groovy in my last two builds and never looked back :cheers:
They treated me like an animal and that's what I became.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31