Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: MAME Lua Autofire Plugin  (Read 540 times)

tj0390

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
MAME Lua Autofire Plugin
« on: August 20, 2017, 03:59:32 pm »
I got tired of having to turn on autofire for my 3 year old every time so I decided to try to make a plugin. I am a DBA by trade so my coding is fairly weak. Below is my script. It seems close but does not work. I can actually get it to autofire without holding the button but not while holding it. I did not see anywhere in the API to set the autofire setting in MAME. If I missed this option I wasted some time. Any help is greatly appreciated. One additional question I tried the following, key = manager:machine():input():code_from_token("KEYCODE_LCONTROL"), but it returns nil. It looks correct to me though.

local button
local counter
local state

counter = 1

for tag, port in pairs(manager:machine():ioport().ports) do
   if port.fields["P1 Button 1"] then
      button = {port = port, field = port.fields["P1 Button 1"]} --TODO move this to config file
   end
end

local function press()
   button.field:set_value(1)
end

local function unpress()
   button.field:set_value(0)
end

local function check()
   state = ((button.port:read() & button.field.mask) ~ button.field.defvalue) --Gets current state of button pressed or released

if state == 1 and counter % 3 == 0 then