Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!  (Read 4484 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 834
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #80 on: October 28, 2017, 04:59:27 pm »
on mac osx 10.7.5,   2ghz core 2 duo mac mini, 2gig of ram,  the game does the happy bouncing opening thing, then quits with out any error message.   Not able to test actual gameplay.  :(

Okay thanks. It used to work and suddenly it doesn't for me either. I may have checked a box that I shouldn't have. I'll see.

I can make a 64 bit version, didn't even think about it. Do I need to? I don't use Linux so I don't know. I can make a universal 32/64 bit build.

64 bit version would be nice.
32 bit version on 64 bit linux requires me to track down 32 bit libraries and manually install.
could be my distro though.
it isn't debian based. :)

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #81 on: October 28, 2017, 09:07:14 pm »
Okay I will do a 64 bit Linux right now. I remember reading about players needing the 32 bit files otherwise. Should have it up in 10 minutes.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2017, 09:16:50 pm by DaredevilDave »
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #82 on: October 28, 2017, 09:14:58 pm »
Linux Universal v1.0 (32/64 bit)

http://mdigitalmedia.com/computerspace/files/computerspace_linux_v100.zip

Same download link, same ZIP file. I could make separate versions for 32 and 64 bit if that is somehow easier.

Please let me know if this works correctly.

I will try to fix the osx version soon as I can.

ETA:
Failed to fix the Mac version. I don't know that I will continue to try. OSX was an afterthought - it was easy to deploy to it along with the others. Now it isn't. Hopefully one of the older versions above will work for people. I removed it from the website.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2017, 09:33:19 pm by DaredevilDave »
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 834
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #83 on: October 29, 2017, 09:28:53 am »
works on 64bit linux now.
this would fit perfectly in a mini cabaret woody cab with a small crt.

I probably missed it in the thread but what resolutions will this run at?
Can you force a res. at start or does it adopt desktop res?

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #84 on: October 29, 2017, 04:22:22 pm »
Watching.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #85 on: October 29, 2017, 08:14:46 pm »
works on 64bit linux now.
this would fit perfectly in a mini cabaret woody cab with a small crt.

I probably missed it in the thread but what resolutions will this run at?
Can you force a res. at start or does it adopt desktop res?

It will run at your desktop res. It will have black bars on the sides if necessary to keep the 4:3 aspect ratio. It does that on my 16:9 and 16:10 screens. There should be no stretching in Windows. Not sure about Linux.

I just experimented - I tried setting my 60 inch TV to 800 x 600 (in Windows I mean) and it filled the screen.
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #86 on: November 07, 2017, 12:30:36 am »
I just received a very nice email from Kevin at www.computerspacefan.com. If you want to learn everything about Computer Space, go there!

I asked him for comments and was very pleasantly surprised. There are a few things I should fix, like the saucers aiming and the missiles don't normally have tails.

It was great hearing from someone who owns an actual machine(s?) and is so into it. Seriously cool, it totally made my day!

So in the near future (weeks) I will do another update.

I'm turning 50 tomorrow so starting the party early (now). Party on, Wayne!  :afro:
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4176
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #87 on: November 07, 2017, 09:49:20 am »
Happy B-Day DareDevilDave.
Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #88 on: November 08, 2017, 01:16:00 am »
Thank you!!!

This is a trip...

I just got off the phone with my Dad. I was telling him about this game. He's 75.

He told me "some guys" approached him at around 1970. My dad made boats in San Jose, CA and they needed a fiberglass cabinet built for a game they'd designed. Before I could say anything he said, "I remember the name of their company - Nutting Associates"

I said, "That's them!!! That's them! Those are the guys who made Computer Space!" I freaked the f out! No way?!?! He said all they had was a wooden cabinet at the time and some TVs and a production area.

My Dad almost designed the cabinets for Computer Space! What a trip! I had no idea of this connection until right now. I don't know why he didn't design them, he doesn't remember everything right now, but he remembered their name and thought it was strange that he did. I think maybe they couldn't afford the work, but they obviously got them designed somewhere.

 :cheers:
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

bosco

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #89 on: December 04, 2017, 11:30:11 pm »
I'm usually a lurker but had to chime in to thank you for this great simulator.  Is there a way to turn off the filtering?  I'm one of the few that like my pixels blocky. :)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15871
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #90 on: December 05, 2017, 03:54:20 pm »
Computer space isn't a raster game, it's vector.  There aren't any pixels to uncover. 

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6794
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #91 on: December 05, 2017, 04:07:53 pm »
Computer space isn't a raster game, it's vector.  There aren't any pixels to uncover.

lol wat.  Did Yoshi tell you that when you lapped him in Mario Kart?


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15871
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #92 on: December 05, 2017, 04:43:28 pm »
Yeah computer space is a series of dots drawn on the screen.  It's not vector in the sense that everything is line art, but it is vector in the sense that there aren't any sprites. 

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6794
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #93 on: December 05, 2017, 04:48:56 pm »
That is not what vector means.


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15871
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #94 on: December 05, 2017, 05:12:09 pm »
Dude I come in trying to explain something and it didn't come out right.  Instead of asking what I meant you come in laughing like Nelson from the simpsons and bringing up a discussion from several months ago.  I get the feeling that you think I'm the ---uvula--- in this situation.  You have a problem, you can't come in and talk like an adult and nobody on this earth or any other is going to disrespect me in that manner.  Please work on that and this won't happen anymore. 

Now as I was saying....  The ship is just a bunch of dots as is the starfield, ect.  They are at a super low resolution and drawn via instructions, which, yes, technically qualifies as vector drawing even though it is done so via a raster monitor.  It's just a vector with a length of 0.  Now if that doesn't qualify for your definition of vector fine, but it doesn't detract from my point... there isn't anything to clean up, unless you want those dots to look like giant chunky squares. 

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #95 on: December 10, 2017, 03:06:11 pm »
I'm usually a lurker but had to chime in to thank you for this great simulator.  Is there a way to turn off the filtering?  I'm one of the few that like my pixels blocky. :)

There are some options in the TAB menu. If those are off that's as sharp as it can go.

This is a simulator and, unlike the real game, this one uses sprites. The ship is made from individual ones (dots or pixels, so to speak, and they aren't actually square), the saucers are one big animated sprite each.

By the way, I still need to fix the enemy ship aiming, they aren't very accurate. I've had a lot to deal with lately, but I won't forget this.
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 834
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: "Computer Space" Clone (1st Video Arcade Game) - Now Available!
« Reply #96 on: December 12, 2017, 11:10:59 am »
The only way to make this better is to put it on the raspberry pi.





  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31