Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GM in 31Khz  (Read 370 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 203
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
GM in 31Khz
« on: August 14, 2017, 09:44:52 am »
So I have seen a few posts on the matter but I want to confirm before jumping off a cliff
(http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,130820.0.html)


I am currently using a Neotec NT-35C (Standard Res, 39" :D )  monitor in a cab that I have setup for GroovyMame.

I have the opportunity to do a monitor swap to a Neotec NT-3602 (VGA Resolution, 39" :D ), and a cabinet upgrade to Gauntlet legends Dark legacy.   I love the idea of GLDL playing nice with a full resolution-ed screen, but I don't want to sacrifice those tasty CRTEmudriver/GroovyMAME resolutions.


Are there users on here with 31Khz only monitors, (the NT3601 even :D) who use Groovymame in 31KHZ mode, how does it look?  anyone have a resource for video or pictures of a screen with a game up on it?

So far Google seems to be telling me i'm looking for something a little too specific for it today.

Thanks for the help gang!

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2017, 03:23:10 pm »
Your question is how do 15-kHz games look on a 31-kHz display?

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 203
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2017, 06:30:32 pm »
Well, sure I guess so


I don't want to use true 15KHz modes as the monitor has a far better picture in 31KHz with fake scanlines than it does in low resolution, and I'm not comfortable having it switch between syncs regularly.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 06:38:02 pm by bimm25e »

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1812
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2017, 06:57:52 pm »
If you're not going to use real native 15KHz resolutions, then why even use GroovyMAME?

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 203
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2017, 07:46:22 pm »
If you're not going to use real native 15KHz resolutions, then why even use GroovyMAME?
I don't know, does groovymame not do anything forb31 khz monitors? Does a 31 khz monitor just naturally look good ?

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2017, 07:49:39 pm »
Cools is talking there about a multi-sync unit, as you'll know. Multi-sync arcade monitors quite often provide a not-too clean picture at 31 kHz, which indeed benefits a picture with simulated scanlines effect/black-frame insertion. Though, in my experience (which is not much with these, actually), it's not better than the actual 15-kHz display.

It much depends on one's preferences, as well as the monitor's behaviour. For instance, some people are crazy about high-end 15-kHz BVM displays with over 600 TVL, in which case a good VGA monitor at 640 x 480 with simulated scanlines effect (or black-frame insertion, since it'll support 120 Hz) will show a very similar result. I myself find that too unnatural. I'd say if you're used to old arcade monitors, keep a true 15-kHz display at hand. 39'' 480-P is not something I'd reject, though; there are many things to emulate/play at that res.

Paradroid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
    • SCART Hunter
Re: GM in 31Khz
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2017, 08:54:11 pm »
I myself find that too unnatural. I'd say if you're used to old arcade monitors, keep a true 15-kHz display at hand.

Man after my own heart! My thoughts exactly. :)
My MAME/SCART/CRT blog: SCART Hunter

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31