Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Failing my skill check...  (Read 421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3074
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Failing my skill check...
« on: August 12, 2017, 11:13:40 pm »
Pac Man monitor.  When I got it, the screen had an all over red hue.  Turns out a wire had come loose from a plug.  It's the blue/black in the pic.  When I connect the blue/black to the empty pin there, the monitor looks beautiful.  But that OTHER wire that is there... hanging... concerns me.  I can't figure out where the heck it goes.  It doesn't seem to go to the edge connector, or the power supply.

Any ideas?  The monitor is a 19k4606

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1524
Re: Failing my skill check...
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 04:30:24 am »
     **Jennifer ventures a guess**   Without seeing the big picture, My thoughts would be.... That went to that top 2 pin plug, and the wire there goes somewhere else, it appears in the pic it was grabbed by a pliers at one time and isn't in the main bundle.

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3074
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: Failing my skill check...
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 10:57:46 am »
I've since re-attached the blue/black, so that's good.  The other wire, I've been told, is basically a redundant synch.  I've clipped off the stripped part and let it hang.  Seems to work!

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1524
Re: Failing my skill check...
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2017, 02:31:33 pm »
    You certainly got me with that one. Redundancy doesn't sound like something a midway dev would incorporate, but crazier things have happened I suppose , What gets me is it seems so fresh, like it was ripped from its pin, will have to check one out when I get some time. Jennifer would repin all those wires however they seem to have poor crimps.... Glad you got it to work though that's always fun :applaud:.

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3074
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: Failing my skill check...
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2017, 09:36:57 pm »
It had some gnarly screen curl as well, but that adjusted out once I found that there is a second horiz adjustment.  I had to shave a bamboo skewer into a non-conductive screwdriver in order to reach the slot for the adjustment.  A little square can in the middle of the board.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31