Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Golden Tee will not boot  (Read 450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mikesaintgolf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Golden Tee will not boot
« on: August 09, 2017, 01:55:12 pm »
Hi
I am new here and really would appreciate some help.
I have two Golden Tee machines, both with the red board.
One of the machines has a faulty hard drive but both machines boot up and play perfectly with the good hard drive fitted
I therefore got my IT guy to make a copy, I believe that he used EaseUS software to do this.
I fitted the copy hard drive but neither machine would boot up with the copy.
The copy was made on a 10Gb hard drive (as per the original) and I have tried setting the links in different places but it wont boot.
I can only assume that there is something wrong with the copy?
Can anyone please steer me in the right direction please? IE; method for copying the good drive or is there an easy way that he can just download the information?file that I need from the internet?
Any help gratefully received

Many Thanks
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 01:58:58 pm by mikesaintgolf »

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 03:46:06 pm »
try this program
hdd raw copy tool
u are going to make a clone of the original
so this is how I do it
clean drive (use partition magic 9.1) no other
then once drive is wiped
shut it down and open hdd raw copy
and clone the original

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mikesaintgolf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 01:57:45 pm »
Thank you very much for your help Ed
I took your advice and got my IT guy to make another copy exactly as you suggested but it still wont load on either machine.
I can only assume that there is still something wrong with the copy?
I have attached a photo of the error message (it takes several minutes for the red message to appear)

Any ideas what it means?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 02:40:22 pm by mikesaintgolf »

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5902
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 02:39:06 pm »
Long story short, unless the "replacement" harddrive matches the drive you are cloning exactly (brand, make, model, size) there is a bunch of partition fixing to the master boot record that needs to be done to have it work. it sounds like your guy hasn't fixed the partition information when the clone was made.

"HDD raw copy tool" or MAME's "chdman" to create an image you can dump on another drive. (or drive to drive if you like) These programs will do the partition fixing for you.


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2017, 02:52:27 pm »
thk-u Shawn
could not have said it better..

now lets try this
tell your it guy to do exactly this
take partition magic 9.1 and have the hard drive hooked up , open partition magic make sure drive is detected
now just "wipe drive" that is it just "wipe"
now with clean "non partitioned hard drive"
open hddr raw copy
copy master to clone
wa-la problem solved

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mikesaintgolf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2017, 03:49:39 pm »
Hi Ed
Yes, that is exactly what he done and with exactly the software that you recommended so I am at a loss as to why it doesnt work?

I do know that it is a different make of drive (Seagate as opposed to the original Western Digital) but I even went out of my way to get a 10Gb one to match the original size.

The only other thing that I am unsure about is the position of the jumper link.

The original working drive is set to 'cable' and works fine at this setting but the clone drive cannot be detected by the board unless the link is set to 'master'

Would this have anything to do with it?

Is it important where the links are when copying the drive?


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2017, 04:01:55 pm »
yes it dose
do this
exactly as I stated but have once the wipe is done
put the to be cloned drive in "cs" mode
then do the clone from the master

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mikesaintgolf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2017, 06:00:25 am »
OK Guys
Thanks for all of your help on this

Unfortunately I am still struggling as the machine still won't detect the copied drive and we have done exactly what you have said, however.....

I have just noticed however that the software that we are using to wipe the drive is called Partition Wizard 9.1 as opposed to what you stated (Partition Magic 9.1) this is because all searches led to Partition Wizard and there was no link found for Partition Magic?

Is this one the same thing or is this the problem ie; this is the wrong software to wipe the disk?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5902
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2017, 10:15:48 am »
not sure... us old timers sort of use them interchangeably.

"PartitionMagic" is a discontinued Symantec product... last version was 8.05

"Partition wizard" is a MiniTool Solution Ltd product... currently at 10.2

I've used both without much issues...but I think Ed is referring to an older version of wizard but saying magic (magic was the staple of partition management for YEARS before these smaller companies came about.)

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2017, 11:31:33 am »
mini tool partition magic 9.1 is exactly what I use to wipe the drive..
please post your exact screen error again..
or better yet
go to [ROMsite] and down load gt6.01.chd
and get chdman , then re-expanded the chd to a none slaved non cable select drive
in other words no jumpers installed
extract chd and carry on
just remember to wipe the drive and DO NOT format it in any way shape or form

ed
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 11:53:26 am by PL1 »
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mikesaintgolf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2017, 12:35:51 pm »
Ok, will do
With regards the wipe, I am given the options as per this photo, which is the best method for me to select?

Sorry if this is obvious but I am unsure

Thanks again

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee will not boot
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2017, 01:21:24 pm »
the 1 it is on
here is the reason
not only will it remove the partition info
but it will also wipe the mbr. thus u have a none formatted non mbr drive.
now if allow chdman do its job ?
it will do the format for u..
cd\c:chdman
chdman createhd -o gt6.1.chd -i \\.\PHYSICALDRIVE3 -f
this will load the chd to a disk of your choice by replacing 3 with the disk #..mine tend to show up as 9
so I replace 3 with 9
next the -f at the end tells chdman to format the disk
if u need more help let me know

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31