Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Which GPU?  (Read 5094 times)

EssexMame

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 03, 2024, 10:52:05 am
  • Mame Weekender
Which GPU?
« on: August 07, 2017, 05:12:09 am »
First, an admission. I work in IT but I've never, ever, understood graphics cards. The numbering and constant releasing of new models means I'm clueless.

So, I need some help. I have an old PC with a decent (for the time) AMD Athlon 64 FX-60 CPU (socket 939) - the top spec and highly overclockable for that socket. However, my display has gone. I believe I need a new graphics card. Alas there is no on-board graphics to confirm this but pretty sure that's what's gone.

So, advice please - what is the best GPU to get this PC running as best it can without overspending for no improvement? It'll be for Mame/emulators to whatever it can take (N64 would be nice if it can handle it).

ark_ader

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: Which GPU?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 07:14:25 am »
First, an admission. I work in IT but I've never, ever, understood graphics cards. The numbering and constant releasing of new models means I'm clueless.