Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All  (Read 257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

markran

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« on: August 06, 2017, 09:38:21 pm »
I'm trying to upgrade our much beloved 10 year-old MAME cab from .120 to current vintage. The cab has a ArcadeVGA2 (the ATI 9250 flavor) and a Wells Gardner D9200 CRT attached to a 3.1Ghz P4 with 1gb of RAM running WinXP 32. I installed GroovyMAME with new roms and am trying to run it from the command line to test. VMMMaker created 27 modelines and Arcade_OSD appears to be working from the Windows desktop. I'm running the Windows desktop in 800x600.

GroovyMAME runs but displays only a blank (black) screen. No pixels of any kind. Strangely the ROMs seem to be working despite not being visible. If I call a ROM like "GroovyMAME.exe joust" the screen goes blank but if I wait and then give it a coin and press 1Player, the game seems to start but the sound (which is the only detectable output) is messed up, too fast/too high pitch. It will exit when I press Esc. The command line window says "GroovyMAME.exe [joust] 292 x 240@60 -> 320 x 240@60"

Any thoughts as to what I should try or what diagnostic info I can provide?

EDIT TO ADD: I tried running stock MAME .187 from the command line and it appears to work fine. I see the UI and can select/run games. So the issue appears to be unique to GroovyMAME.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2017, 09:56:20 pm by markran »

markran

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 12:32:07 am »
Troubleshooting thoughts:

* Do "Super Resolutions" work with cards as old as the ATI 9250 / ArcadeVGA 2?

* Is there a setting to disable SwitchRes?

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1806
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2017, 12:34:13 am »
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

markran

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2017, 01:57:23 am »
Thanks for your response. The file is attached.

Also, some experimental info. I tried setting full-screen off and I can see the window GroovyMAME creates, there's just black inside it though.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2017, 02:00:29 am by markran »

markran

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2017, 02:10:03 am »
Just a follow-up post. I uploaded the requested diag file three days ago. I'm stuck and can't figure out how to get GroovyMame to run.

Is there another place I should try to see if I can find some help?

- Mark

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5546
Re: GroovyMAME: No Video Shows At All
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2017, 03:27:34 am »
If your card is based on the 9250 it won't work with modern MAME, you need an specific patch for it. Try this build http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,154799.0.html

Assuming it's the same issue as this: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,154617.msg1621497.html#msg1621497
« Last Edit: August 11, 2017, 03:34:42 am by Calamity »
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31