Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested  (Read 315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kblozano

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested
« on: July 19, 2017, 04:48:41 pm »
Thank you for your time. I have searched for answers and have come up empty.

I own a Maximus Arcade/Mame cabinet for my business and it has worked okay for 2 years. It is there to entertain children so it has always been free to play and there is no coin slot. Recently the person who set it up came by to fix some issues I was having. After he left, the system would require credits with no way to add them. Contacting that person is no longer an option and im stuck.

From everything ive researched there is no "free play" mode. But for years it has not required anything to play besides selecting your game and starting it. Please excuse my ignorance on these matters.

Is there a way solve my current dilemma?
Is there a Free Play mode that I could get back to?
How would I go about doing so?

Very Respectfully,
Kevin

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1867
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2017, 05:35:00 pm »
How many games do you have on this machine?

It is possible that each game was individually set to free play mode in its service menu.

Or it may of ran a script on game start to give credits.

The only other thing I could think of is the Credit and Start buttons had the same mapping which you could do in the controls config menu of mame.

I am not aware of a free play mode for mame as a blanket option though.

kblozano

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2017, 05:55:33 pm »
There are many games on this machine, upwards up 30+

Thank you for responding so quickly. It seems I may need to hire a person capable and willing to help in Northern California.

I might be able to go in and map a credit button to the 1p or 2p buttons. It doesnt seem to be difficult.

Does there happen to be a place where I could hire a Arcade/MAME proffesional?


Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1867
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 07:51:42 pm »
Ime in the UK so cant help sorry :p

You can change key settings in mame by pressing the tab button to bring up the menu.

kblozano

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Maximus Arcade and MAME assistance requested
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 08:16:01 pm »
You've been more than helpful. I was able to easily map a seemingly unused button to be the credit button. Thank you very much


Very Respectfully,
Kevin

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31