Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build  (Read 119563 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #360 on: January 02, 2022, 10:14:45 am »
If this is derived from the official ARCADE64, then you don't need a nonag patch - it's got a built-in one that only needs to be turned on.

It was used form MKChamp source :/

BTW. Some old problems with audio for various Konami games has been (?) fixed so probably many hacks are not nedeed now. Someone could confirm proper audio in Super Contra, Aliens, Simpsons, Crime Fighters ?
« Last Edit: January 02, 2022, 11:37:04 am by haynor666 »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #361 on: January 03, 2022, 04:34:42 am »
Audio fixes/hacks for various Konami games are not needed in version 239 now but would be nice to see confirmation from users if it's really ok.
Also audio fix Gradius, Galactic Warriors is not needed now.

Are there other hacks that are needed to remove? I didn't look closely into mame source for long time using old version in my semicab env so feedback would be welcome as well.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2022, 03:56:09 pm by haynor666 »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #362 on: January 05, 2022, 10:35:08 am »
Version 238 is out.

Version from 229 to 238 are renamed - removed 64 suffix just like in official mame.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #363 on: January 13, 2022, 02:54:14 pm »
Version 239 is out

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
  • Last login:September 28, 2022, 09:58:34 am
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #364 on: January 13, 2022, 07:01:21 pm »
Audio fixes/hacks for various Konami games are not needed in version 239 now but would be nice to see confirmation from users if it's really ok.
Also audio fix Gradius, Galactic Warriors is not needed now.

Are there other hacks that are needed to remove?

Likely the one fixing Captain America and the Avengers' audio, in case there was one for that.

Trnzaddict

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • Last login:November 23, 2022, 06:10:44 am
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #365 on: January 14, 2022, 06:03:20 am »
NVM
« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 05:59:43 pm by Trnzaddict »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #366 on: January 15, 2022, 02:01:27 pm »
Audio fixes/hacks for various Konami games are not needed in version 239 now but would be nice to see confirmation from users if it's really ok.
Also audio fix Gradius, Galactic Warriors is not needed now.

Are there other hacks that are needed to remove?

Likely the one fixing Captain America and the Avengers' audio, in case there was one for that.

No ,there wasn't any fix for this game.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #367 on: February 13, 2022, 01:18:41 pm »
Version 240 is out.

silvereagle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:August 18, 2022, 04:47:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #368 on: February 20, 2022, 02:09:30 pm »
Please pardon the noob question, but would your latest versions have the killer instinct audio stutter fix by any chance? Thank you.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #369 on: March 07, 2022, 05:48:22 am »
I didn't modify Killer Instinct source so if there are problems in official mame then also here.

MK3FANATIC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:November 27, 2022, 06:37:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #370 on: March 09, 2022, 02:59:21 pm »
 @haynor666  Would it be possible to compile a groovymame with the mame0139b_64bit version? With the modifications that this version allows, of course. Me and many Killer Instinct fans would be very happy.

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
  • Last login:November 30, 2022, 01:15:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #371 on: March 11, 2022, 03:07:13 am »
@haynor666  Would it be possible to compile a groovymame with the mame0139b_64bit version? With the modifications that this version allows, of course. Me and many Killer Instinct fans would be very happy.
Hi, you can run cmdline switchres with mame passing 320x240@60 resolution, right?

MK3FANATIC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:November 27, 2022, 06:37:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #372 on: March 11, 2022, 11:06:48 am »
Quote
Hi, you can run cmdline switchres with mame passing 320x240@60 resolution, right?

I'm not very familiar with command lines, but I can change the mame to 320x240 through .ini , I didn't quite understand your question...

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
  • Last login:November 30, 2022, 01:15:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #373 on: March 12, 2022, 11:52:20 am »
Quote
Hi, you can run cmdline switchres with mame passing 320x240@60 resolution, right?

I'm not very familiar with command lines, but I can change the mame to 320x240 through .ini , I didn't quite understand your question...
switchres.exe -f 320x240x60 320 240 60 -s -l "mame.exe kinst" -i "switchres.ini"

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #374 on: April 02, 2022, 01:21:17 pm »
Version 241 and 242 are out. I'm sorry for delay.

Moksi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:38:58 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #375 on: April 05, 2022, 06:25:16 am »
IS the latest version of your Groovymame best to date ? , wasnt there some probs with the latest releases of groovymame ?
whats is the best version to date ?


Quote
Hi, you can run cmdline switchres with mame passing 320x240@60 resolution, right?

I'm not very familiar with command lines, but I can change the mame to 320x240 through .ini , I didn't quite understand your question...
switchres.exe -f 320x240x60 320 240 60 -s -l "mame.exe kinst" -i "switchres.ini"

where do you add that line in the ini ?  i want to setup that specific version of mame for killer instinct aswell or do you have an example ini file thanks

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #376 on: May 03, 2022, 06:34:46 am »
Version 243 is out. Added resolution fix for slapfght driver. - broken. I will soon upload fixed version.

EDIT. Re-uploaded :)
« Last Edit: May 03, 2022, 04:02:55 pm by haynor666 »

eewoke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:November 26, 2022, 09:33:59 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #377 on: May 04, 2022, 02:48:46 pm »
Version 243 is out. Added resolution fix for slapfght driver. - broken. I will soon upload fixed version.

EDIT. Re-uploaded :)

Thanks! Appreciate your contribution!

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #378 on: May 29, 2022, 07:50:44 am »
Version 244 is out. Removed patch for slapfght driver - not needed.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #379 on: July 01, 2022, 03:52:05 pm »
Version 245 is out.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #380 on: August 11, 2022, 05:59:59 pm »
Version 246 is out.

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Last login:November 30, 2022, 01:25:29 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #381 on: August 17, 2022, 12:53:17 pm »
Hello haynor666
How are you, hope you are fine !
Tried to download 0.246 but Chrome are complain about a virus on the file.
Can you checkout please.

Thanks
Marcos

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #382 on: August 19, 2022, 08:41:27 am »
ESET says it's fine. No complain from latest Chrome either.

Olivcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:October 11, 2022, 05:11:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #383 on: August 19, 2022, 10:42:09 am »
Hi,

I am under XP32 SP3 and the maximum version that I can use is the Custom Groovymame32 0.211 version, from 0.212 it no longer works on my XP32, any idea?

I saw that you had compiled the 32-bit 0.215 too but ditto it does not want to work on my XP32 I get a system compatibility error.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #384 on: August 19, 2022, 12:42:36 pm »
I stopped support DX8 cards from version 216 but starting from version 212 seems to stopped working on Windows XP sadly probably due official changes.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2022, 12:52:34 pm by haynor666 »

Olivcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:October 11, 2022, 05:11:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #385 on: August 19, 2022, 03:22:59 pm »
what is strange is that the official versions of Mame/Arcade32 all work on XP32 until the latest.
arghh it's a shame for version 0.216 because it has the "low latency" option but from what I've read it's the equivalent of Groovymame's Frame delay option. so I don't know if it's interesting.

I'm happy to be able to use version 0.211 on my XP32 thank you very much for your work

peterson65

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Last login:November 26, 2022, 11:20:28 am
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #386 on: August 25, 2022, 11:35:16 am »
cant download on chrome says it has a virus. download on edge also the same but if I choose download as a zip it works but trying to unzip defender blocks and says , see attached

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #387 on: September 01, 2022, 03:48:05 am »
FireEye (very restrictive) in my work place does not see any virus either. ESET at my home also says it's ok (at least for versions 245 and 246).
« Last Edit: September 01, 2022, 03:50:32 am by haynor666 »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #388 on: September 18, 2022, 05:23:35 pm »
Version 247 is out.

Endprodukt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
  • Last login:Today at 02:34:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #389 on: September 24, 2022, 09:09:29 am »
Thank you so much for your work. Would it be possible to include Mk2+ and Umk3+ into the build?

https://github.com/antonioginer/GroovyMAME/pull/2/commits/f7afacd4811f3cb26930712908652f492986042e

It's an amazing update to the original Mortal Kombat games. https://mortalkombat.plus/
« Last Edit: September 24, 2022, 10:25:28 am by Endprodukt »

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
  • Last login:November 30, 2022, 01:15:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #390 on: September 24, 2022, 11:28:36 am »
HBMame

Endprodukt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
  • Last login:Today at 02:34:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #391 on: September 25, 2022, 05:22:27 am »
HBMame

Has nothing to do with GM though.

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
  • Last login:November 30, 2022, 01:15:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #392 on: September 25, 2022, 11:16:25 am »
You need a HBMame with switchres patch, aka HBGroovymame.

Endprodukt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
  • Last login:Today at 02:34:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #393 on: September 25, 2022, 12:09:20 pm »
Okay, that would make sense, but from what I see non of the files in HBMame are matching, completely different romset.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9096
  • Last login:Today at 03:00:48 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #394 on: September 26, 2022, 01:16:11 am »
from what I see non of the files in HBMame are matching, completely different romset.
Yes, the ROM hacks and homebrew games that are in HBMAME (or some of the other MAME spinoff builds) are not the same as the un-hacked and non-homebrew ROMs that are in mainline MAME.

Quote
HBMAME (HomeBrew MAME) is a derivative of MAME, and contains various hacks and homebrews. It is based on the latest MAME source at the time of release.

What's in it?

    - Homebrew games meant for arcade hardware, or emulators of arcade hardware
    - Hacks of arcade games
    - Test roms and similar that do not generate revenue
    - Selected bootlegs that are not in MAME
    - Games that are enhanced or improved but not suitable for MAME

https://hbmame.1emulation.com/index.html


Scott

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1401
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:55:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #395 on: September 26, 2022, 03:44:25 am »
Thank you so much for your work. Would it be possible to include Mk2+ and Umk3+ into the build?

https://github.com/antonioginer/GroovyMAME/pull/2/commits/f7afacd4811f3cb26930712908652f492986042e

It's an amazing update to the original Mortal Kombat games. https://mortalkombat.plus/

I'm sorry but my build adds only some modifications for existing games. I don't have any plans to add new games.

As was mentioned earlier HB MAME would be the best choice.

Endprodukt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
  • Last login:Today at 02:34:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #396 on: September 26, 2022, 07:18:48 am »
Bummer! Have been trying to make my own HBMame version with your patch and gm, no success here.

spiderzsoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 22, 2022, 09:47:33 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #397 on: October 22, 2022, 09:44:01 am »
Version 247 is out.
i want to add KOF98AE in Arcade32. can some one do this?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9096
  • Last login:Today at 03:00:48 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #398 on: October 22, 2022, 10:23:24 am »
i want to add KOF98AE in Arcade32. can some one do this?
AFAIK KOF98AE is a hack from 2007.
- Did a quick check on github and it looks like it's not currently in mainline MAME or HBMAME.   :dunno

You should be able to run it using the Final Burn Alpha (FBA) emulator.   :cheers:


Scott
EDIT: Found this in the HBMAME 0.175 release notes here.
Quote
- [kof98ae3]
- [kof98ae20160308] Kof'98 Anniversary Edition 2016

Digging further, "kof98ae" and a large number of other related titles + code (lines 33-2282  :o) were removed from the HBMAME kof98.cpp driver with this commit on September 14th.
- No idea when/if those titles and code might be fixed and added again.
- If you use a GroovyHBMAME or HBMAME release between v0.175 and the last version released before September 14th, "kof98ae" should be supported.

If you're looking for the 2016 version hack, line 3731 of the kof98.cpp driver reads "ROM_START( kof98hh02 ) //kof98ae2016h" in current HBMAME source.
- I assume that means that "kof98hh02" is the current ROMname of the 2016 hack.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2022, 12:01:11 pm by PL1 »

Robbbert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 185
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:05:25 pm
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #399 on: October 23, 2022, 04:50:40 am »
Yes there was a lot of cleaning up recently to remove games that had issues, including all the kof98ae series. Problems included rebooting unexpectedly (with euro bios) or Address Error (with unibios), bad graphics or just not working at all.

Most neogeo hacks originate in China, where they favour using mc68000 cpus that don't have exception processing (such as FBNeo, nebula, kawaks, neorage, etc) and therefore the faulting games won't work on real hardware.