Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz  (Read 318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

patrickfx1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz
« on: July 17, 2017, 08:04:56 pm »
Hello, I will try to ask my question quick and simple.

I have a cabinet MAME arcade connected to a a old tv (27 inch) via s-video.  I just purchase recently a new (old :) ) vodeo card Radeon 4550 and when windows 7 detected it, I can only choose 29 or 30 hz.  Is it normal ?

I can't remember if my old video on windows XP was able to do 59 or 60 hz.

Thanks for your help.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 11:58:24 pm »
That's normal for 480i. It's running at 60 fields per second, which is equal to 30 frames per second. Sometimes Windows reports that as 60Hz, sometimes 30, but it's still running at 60-fields/30Hz either way.

The card you are using has a TV-out port, and that port is locked to 480i over S-video.

EDIT: actually this is a bit weird. I guess Windows is actually detecting a monitor on that output? Or have you installed something like crt_emudriver? (you don't really need to use crt_emudriver with those TV-out ports, because they won't produce a great picture no matter what you do.)
« Last Edit: July 18, 2017, 02:42:29 am by buttersoft »

patrickfx1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2017, 10:01:06 am »
Thanks for the answer, this is satisfying me.  I will not try to fix it if no matter what I can do won't change anything.  I was understand  s-video is 480i max and like you realize, my question was more about the 30 hz.  I was wondering if I can go to 60hz, it's not a part that I'm really good.   

patrickfx1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2017, 09:43:00 pm »
OK, I continue to make some test and I'm now 100% sure now there is a refresh or something related problem.  I replay my old title I was playing since 10 year and dam the video is like slow , on vertical scrolling shooting, I could see the horizontal line not able to get smooth !!! 

Can this be related to the video card ?  I know my question can look large but I try to explain the best I can.

patrickfx1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade cabinet tv s-video at 30 hz
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 12:37:15 am »
OK, I will answer my own question.  Finally, it was an option at mame command line which make this artifact.  The -nofilter option need to be remove for my personal setup.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31