Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions  (Read 1017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Is there any way to fix this? Everything works flawlessly aside from this one hiccup that's unfortunately preventing me from playing some of my favorite games. I've read something about changing a polarity value in monitor.ini, but that made my PVM freak out.

Software: Windows 7 x64, GoovyMAME 0.186, CRT Emudriver 2.0 beta 10
Hardware: AMD FX-4100 w/ HD3000 onboard graphics

Thanks.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 998
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2017, 01:42:32 pm »
If positive polarity is a problem I suggest to buy new radeon from HD5xxx serie or newer.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2017, 04:11:15 pm »
I have a 4670 that I'll try the positive polarity with, but I'd like to avoid buying a new card if possible. Is there really no other way within software to do this? Retroarch runs the game at normal speed, but I'd like to continue to use GroovyMAME and avoid creating a custom config for every MAME game I play.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2017, 02:16:02 am »
No luck with the 4670 unfortunately. I priced some of the newer (albeit less powerful) Radeon cards and they're really cheap, but before I buy one I'd like to confirm that there's no other way to fix this problem and that the polarity change is really what I'm looking for.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1822
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2017, 10:08:47 am »
You've never said what kind of monitor you are using...  arcade CRT, LCD, VGA CRT, NTSC TV, etc...

Also, you say "everything works flawlessly" but then mention "one hiccup" without ever saying what it is.

Please be more specific.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2017, 10:33:43 am »
I said I was using a PVM (Sony TV, I figured most 15khz users would know that) in the first post, and the problem is listed in the title. I thought that was enough clarification.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1822
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2017, 11:09:31 am »
Sorry, I don't think I was fully awake before I made my post.  Ignore me.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2017, 08:26:25 pm »
Lol no worries, just looking for some help.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2017, 07:48:12 am »
Just an update for anyone having similar issues, I upgraded my on-board graphics (HD 3000) to a Radeon HD 6450 and it fixed it right up. I guess the older cards just don't handle the interlaced display modes properly. Had some odd installation hitches which I think had to do with existing driver installations, but all is good now. If I had to do it again, I'd probably pay a (very) little more and get a 5570 which is a good bit more powerful if I ever need it, but most emulators are more reliant on CPU power so the 6450 does just fine.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 998
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2017, 07:56:59 am »
Just an update for anyone having similar issues, I upgraded my on-board graphics (HD 3000) to a Radeon HD 6450 and it fixed it right up. I guess the older cards just don't handle the interlaced display modes properly. Had some odd installation hitches which I think had to do with existing driver installations, but all is good now. If I had to do it again, I'd probably pay a (very) little more and get a 5570 which is a good bit more powerful if I ever need it, but most emulators are more reliant on CPU power so the 6450 does just fine.

That's right but this was mentioned many times - card from 5xxx serie and newer does not have problems with halved speed with interlaced resolutions.

dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2017, 08:50:34 am »
Dug around quite a bit, didn't see it mentioned aside from your reply. Even the documentation that I've read doesn't touch on it specifically. Just documenting my experience in case anyone else has this problem.


dirtythekid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2017, 06:18:32 pm »
I know how to search. Most of those results don't address the card upgrade as a fix. I would hardly call that "many times". Thanks for that helpful info though.

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2017, 02:48:08 pm »

That's right but this was mentioned many times - card from 5xxx serie and newer does not have problems with halved speed with interlaced resolutions.

Just some info for people having this issue and looking to upgrade to 5xxx.

I do have 5450 Cedar and Caicos having issues with half speed in interlaced mode. Even low end 6450 and 7450 can have this issue.

[AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series], ATOM BIOS: C09302 -> half speed issue
[AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series], ATOM BIOS: 13 -> working perfectly
[AMD/ATI] Caicos [Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM] , ATOM BIOS: GV -> half speed issue

It really depends on the bios version but version number is a bit cryptic.

No workaround for Linux users at the moment. Setting frame_delay or positive sync does not help.


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5588
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2017, 12:43:28 pm »
Just some info for people having this issue and looking to upgrade to 5xxx.

I do have 5450 Cedar and Caicos having issues with half speed in interlaced mode. Even low end 6450 and 7450 can have this issue.

[AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series], ATOM BIOS: C09302 -> half speed issue
[AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series], ATOM BIOS: 13 -> working perfectly
[AMD/ATI] Caicos [Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM] , ATOM BIOS: GV -> half speed issue

It really depends on the bios version but version number is a bit cryptic.

No workaround for Linux users at the moment. Setting frame_delay or positive sync does not help.

You certanly shouldn't be seeing that on Linux, since we're using vsync by drm. In Windows it's different because unless you enable frame_delay, vsync is managed through Direct3D which has this problem with pre-5000 cards.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #15 on: August 12, 2017, 01:08:59 pm »
You certanly shouldn't be seeing that on Linux, since we're using vsync by drm. In Windows it's different because unless you enable frame_delay, vsync is managed through Direct3D which has this problem with pre-5000 cards.

I am under Linux and the interlaced 50% speed issue exists (since...??? after 15l/m for sure). The reason is simple, the vblank event is only set after the odd frames for interlaced resolution. This choice has been taken to have a full picture (even+odd) before doing the page flip. I looked to see if it was possible to have a vblank for both frames but I am at the moment desperately unlucky.

PS: My 2nd line was a false positive due to a multi-sync monitor able to have high progressive resolution.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5588
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2017, 04:16:21 am »
If we have a chance, try latest GA. A few months ago when Ves was building it he sent me logs of interlaced gamed and they run at 100% once drm was properly initialized.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2017, 04:36:39 am »
If we have a chance, try latest GA. A few months ago when Ves was building it he sent me logs of interlaced gamed and they run at 100% once drm was properly initialized.

I will do.

Check also you email, I have investigated the drm/kms situation and hw interrupt processing in last kernel 4.12.6.

If you and Ves are right, it means that drm behaviour changed recently. Now, we have to either stick to a working kernel (which one) or work with the new situation and drm_next framework.

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: GroovyMAME running at half speed when playing interlaced resolutions
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2017, 04:57:05 am »
Problem with Linux DRM is confirmed. (I have tested GroovyArcade kernel and the issue is also present)

The kernel's DRM irq handler only fire the VBLANK event when the full frame is drawn. In case of interlaced content, the VBLANK event is discarded between the two half frame.

Similar issue is referenced in this thread about vblanks https://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-samsung-soc/msg57798.html

No final solution exists at this time. DRM next and kernel 4.13 have a completely new code to be tested.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 05:10:14 am by Doozer »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31