Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel  (Read 417 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

extracampine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« on: June 02, 2017, 05:43:16 am »
Looking around online, I haven't seen this done before, though I could have missed something. What I am looking to do is have the dynamic marquee screen at the top of my control panel. The reason for this is that I will be using a pedestal control panel with a projector screen.

Has anyone any experience of this? Can anyone recommend somewhere to get a small marquee-shaped (i.e. bar) screen? Any potential problems?

Thanks!

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2017, 06:13:34 am »
Projectors have pretty significant lag. Your arcade experience will be pretty bad. If you are a casual gamer it probably won't matter too much. My son tried playing xBox360 online with our projector and he experienced pretty terrible results.

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2017, 11:48:28 am »
Projectors have pretty significant lag. Your arcade experience will be pretty bad. If you are a casual gamer it probably won't matter too much. My son tried playing xBox360 online with our projector and he experienced pretty terrible results.

Huge generalization. Low end projectors have big lag, but the same goes for low end TVs. The expensive ones are mostly fine. Just take that into account when you buy them.

Can anyone recommend somewhere to get a small marquee-shaped (i.e. bar) screen? Any potential problems?

Googling "marquee lcd" will get you the right screens. Prepare to spend $500-$1000, though.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2017, 11:57:55 am »
I am telling you my direct experience with the 5 projectors that I have owned, and the probably half a dozen others I have played video games on. Your experience may vary.

extracampine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2017, 11:17:24 am »
It's a sony VPL-HW40ES. Supposed to be a good choice for games and I don't really notice any input lag.

Any comments on the small LCD screen for in my control panel? I'm struggling to find something small (around 20cm or so in length).

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2017, 12:59:05 pm »
They only exist for industrial use, that's why they are so hard to obtain. This is one.

It would be 10 times easier and cheaper to just take a 16:9 lcd, and hide the bottom half.

extracampine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2017, 01:27:03 pm »
They only exist for industrial use, that's why they are so hard to obtain. This is one.

That one looks interesting - would it be suitable. What's a "resizing" LCD - does it stretch or something? And how does it plug in to the computer - via HMDI/USB?

What about this one - https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/1280x320-thin-wide-stretched-bar-lcd_60528865991.html?spm=a2700.7724838.0.0.bIhSSm

« Last Edit: June 03, 2017, 01:35:38 pm by extracampine »

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2017, 02:47:56 pm »
Quote
That one looks interesting - would it be suitable. What's a "resizing" LCD - does it stretch or something? And how does it plug in to the computer - via HMDI/USB?

See this. Basically it's cutting an LCD panel into different dimensions. That's why you get the familiar resolutions of 1024 and 1280.

Quote
What about this one - https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/1280x320-thin-wide-stretched-bar-lcd_60528865991.html?spm=a2700.7724838.0.0.bIhSSm

Watch out! This is just this panel so it takes LVDS input. Without a vga/hdmi converter it won't work.

extracampine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2017, 06:07:47 am »
It would be 10 times easier and cheaper to just take a 16:9 lcd, and hide the bottom half.

I'm wondering if this might be a better option. I should be able to "hide" part of the screen inside the panel, with a marquee-shaped cutout on the panel showing the relevant portion of the screen.

Is this easy enough to do software-wise with hypermarquee/the event dispatch system? Could you recommend a suitable screen in this instance? Thanks again.

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2017, 02:14:19 pm »
Something like this or this. Nice easy to mount screens with IPS panels are the best in this situation.

I don't know the specific settings, but software like hypermarquee and mamehooker seem to do the business. Good luck :afro:

extracampine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Screen for Hypermarquee on control panel
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2017, 05:31:22 am »
They only exist for industrial use, that's why they are so hard to obtain. This is one.

I got a quote for the 8" version of that (Litemax SSH0822-ENN-G01) at 190. Do you think this is a reasonable option? It's a lot more than the equivalent size standard screen (around 40-50), but I wonder if there are any advantages/disadvantages to either option? Thanks!

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31