Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!  (Read 1112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« on: May 18, 2017, 07:31:31 pm »
http://8ch.net/1cc/res/2505.html

So they have released new versions of jconfig for WR and CH2 which now allow analog control.
Here's what you have to do...

Replace the files in your game folder with the new ones.
Go into Jconfig for each game, map your controls.
Go to settings and turn "Fake Analog" off.
Go into the game and re-calibrate controls...

Seems to work, although I don't see any way to adjust the sensitivity for "real" analog controls.
The controls seem a bit sensitive, but I have not tested them with a wheel yet, only a 360 controller.

Thanks to Harry99710 and Flybit

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 09:00:51 pm »
Update: I have tried both games on my wheel setup and the both work rather well!

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 573
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 03:56:24 am »
with FFB?

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 08:46:05 am »
I don't have ffb, so I don't know but I doubt it.

mickael28

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2017, 12:04:07 am »
Update: I have tried both games on my wheel setup and the both work rather well!

Hey, how did you manage to configure the wheel?

I've got a USB logitech driving GT, I've downloaded the linked files and replace by the originals but if I launch 'JConfigHQ.exe' and try to set steering wheel or pedals, they don't seem to be recognized, do I need to do something else?

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2017, 11:14:22 am »
My wheel is technically a hacked xbox 360 controller, so its hard for me to give exact advice on your wheel, but maybe see if there is a direct input setting? Or see if you can find a program that will emulate the 360 controller with the wheel...

mickael28

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2017, 04:32:16 pm »
My wheel is technically a hacked xbox 360 controller, so its hard for me to give exact advice on your wheel, but maybe see if there is a direct input setting? Or see if you can find a program that will emulate the 360 controller with the wheel...

I was trying that (mapping the wheel like an xbox 360 controller ealier on, but had problems with Chase HQ not recognizing it), I'll try to find other programmes in the next few weeks.

Out of curiosity, what is a 'hacked xbox 360 controller - wheel'? can you find any pic on the net? or how did you achieved that?

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2017, 05:08:31 pm »
So its a basic potentiometer hack. If you don't know, a potentiometer is the thing inside your wheel that controls your steering position, there are also potentiometers in the pedals. Gamepads also have potentiomters in them and they can be removed and replaced with larger ones and then hooked up to Actual arcade controls... Which is exactly what I did. I hacked the left analog potentiomter for the steering wheel and the left and right triggers for the pedals. Its not super popular with the community here because force feedback is not possible with this set up. But it gives me maximum compatibility with games and that's more important to me. Plus it works surprisingly well. Here's some basic info on a pad hack someone else did.

http://www.racermame.altervista.org/howto.htm

Here is a video of my set up from a while ago, I've since hooked it back up to the original cabinet. I'll be posting an updated video about it in the near future possibly tonight so stay tuned.





mickael28

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2017, 05:39:08 pm »
I'm always surprised by people who know how to hack hardware, nice job!!!, but what a hassle :)

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2017, 05:56:37 pm »
a bit, but its worth it for me.  :)

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2017, 10:50:06 pm »
Doesn't work for me as when I do JconfigHQ it only allows me to enter Left and Right and shows up as Joy 1 Axis -X 1000 and Joy1 Axis +X 1000 instead of just being Joy 1 Axis X 1000 or such

I can't change this manually as far as im aware either

Jconfig is a clunky mess of a program too


ah nevermind. Relised i had deadzone set to 250 and thats why it was crap. Put it right down and its much better!
« Last Edit: August 19, 2017, 10:56:55 pm by Boomslang »

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wacky Races and Chase HQ 2 now officially support analog!
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2017, 12:55:48 pm »
I'm having trouble getting JConfigHQ to recognize any input from my wheel, even though it shows up in the top left. It's a DFGT wheel, and I'm running on win10 x64 if that makes a difference. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get it to worK? Apologies if I missed something...

The original JConfig that came with CHQ2 also just automatically puts everything as joy y-axis +1000, so there's that...


nevermind all of that. does everyone else also have the accel/brake happen slowly? like if i floor the accel, it only slowly (~half a sec) goes up to 1.0 in the game?

thanks!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2017, 01:39:52 pm by nugarp »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31