Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable  (Read 18232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #160 on: May 20, 2018, 01:39:53 am »
OK quick question.....I got the OR2SP dump. In TeknoParrot, what is the actual file I need to set it to, to launch the game? There's a bunch of different directories and files in the OR2SP folder and someone said something about all the important files being in the "disk0" folder. I looked in there but which of the files does TP use to actually launch the game? The other games I have, contain an exe but OR2SP doesn't.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #161 on: May 20, 2018, 02:11:36 am »
Jennifer/Jennifer.elf

also just so you know, you don't currently need patreon, the latest public version is identical to patreon version.

There is a new patreon coming out in next couple weeks tho and it looks like it might have Sega Race TV!

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #162 on: May 20, 2018, 04:44:50 am »
Awesome thanks mate!  :cheers:

I'm at work now so can't wait to get home and try this out!

Sega Race TV sounds awesome. Hopefully it's in there like you said.

I can't wait until he eventually adds network/online support to OR2SPDX. Do you happen to know if the game originally supported actual online play in the arcades, or was it simply local multiplayer via linked cabinet LAN? If it's via LAN only, how well do you think it would translate to online multiplayer?

Are the Initial D games, particularly Stage 7 and Stage 8 LAN only games? If so, how was TeknoGuy able to implement online play ? I see several people playing ID7 and ID8 everyday in different lobbies. I wonder if OR2SPDX can achieve this? Hell, if he can work his magic on making LAN only games work in an online multiplayer environment, who's to say he can't get Sega Racing Classic up and running online?

This guy seems like he can do pretty much anything. I love to see him go old school and make a dedicated Namco System 22 emulator so we can finally play the Ridge Racer games properly with hardware accelerated graphics and particularly Rave Racer with force feedback and online play. man I'd ---smurfing--- KILL for that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  :dizzy: :o  :o :dizzy: :afro:

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #163 on: May 20, 2018, 05:01:56 am »
Most the games support LAN except for sonic racing from memory.

At this point there hasn't really been any interest in Lindbergh networking, especially from Reaver. He isn't really the guy who does network side however that's typically done by NTA.

They have setup some special system via steam somehow to do the online. He can't do Sega racing classic as it works differently

He also isn't interested in old arcade games, I've asked

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #164 on: May 20, 2018, 05:49:13 am »
OK Gotcha.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #165 on: May 21, 2018, 01:11:03 am »
Yea it's actual ffb now and not just vibration etc and no you don't need additional plugin anymore.

Each game is different really but I personally helped get ffb going with Reaver so I'm happy with most of it.

Need a bit of help if you don't mind mate: Can you please tell me how to get ffb working in Initial D 7? I played the game and got my wheel working but didn't feel any ffb. I read somewhere that you have to enable it from within the game's test menu. Is this true? I tried getting into the test menu but upon pressing the test button the game simply crashes back to desktop. Any ideas how to get around it crashing?

Also, I read somewhere that out of the three ID games TP supports(ID6, ID7, and ID8)ID7 is the only one that supports proper H-Pattern shifting. So I assigned each gear to my shifter but while playing the game it only recognized my sequential. The emulator thinks I'm using a Logitech G27 wheel by the way. How do I get the H-Pattern working in ID7?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #166 on: May 21, 2018, 01:19:26 am »
you simply load up teknoparrotui.exe and go to emulation settings then set it as Dinput and you will see the Force Feedback menu below

tick Use Force Feedback then select your wheel in drop down menu and click save settings

you shouldn't have to press test button ingame, just load id6, 7 or 8 and click the toggle to test menu before even launching game

as for h pattern, Reaver did one of them awhile back for H pattern and will do the others eventually, its more a hack as the games only use sequential in actual arcades

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #167 on: May 21, 2018, 02:11:41 am »
you simply load up teknoparrotui.exe and go to emulation settings then set it as Dinput and you will see the Force Feedback menu below

tick Use Force Feedback then select your wheel in drop down menu and click save settings

you shouldn't have to press test button ingame, just load id6, 7 or 8 and click the toggle to test menu before even launching game

I did all that already but admit I only played it for a few minutes, and realized i had my ffb strength in the windows control panel settings turned down to 60%. Perhaps I need to increase it. Thanks for the reply....I'll try again tomorrow when I get back home  and see if I can sort it out.


Quote
as for h pattern, Reaver did one of them awhile back for H pattern and will do the others eventually, its more a hack as the games only use sequential in actual arcades

Ahhh gotcha...if you find out which of them he "hacked" for H-pattern support please reply back and let me know. I'm assuming I'll need to download some sort of plugin or something to get the "hack" to activate?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #168 on: May 21, 2018, 03:21:39 am »
No it's all part of it now. No extra plugins etc

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #169 on: May 21, 2018, 07:51:13 pm »
OK I got everything working now.  :applaud:  The H-pattern was simply an option I missed in the emulator's menu settings. Also the FFb was not activated on my end for some weird reason. Anyway after getting the FFB working now, it feels very nice!!

After spending some time with it, all I can say is Initial D stage 7 is **FUN**!!!!!!!!!!!! I've been missing the boat on these games for so long. I love the whole anime aestestic and flavor of this game. The presentation and the whole Rivalry angle is awesome.  I'm up to the E1 Rivals or whatever you want to call them. The drifting of the Toyota Trueno is very intuitive and the overall car handling is surprisingly fantastic!

Guess I'll go ahead and move on to trying out ID8 but I can't wait until Reaver releases the H-gate patch for that game. I have a sequential shifter I can use in the meantime but there's nothing like shifting a Japanese drift car using a real life H-gated shifter which I'm using with my rig.

The only gripe I have, and this isn't the game's or emulator's fault, is that despite applying the ID7 English Translation patch, 99% of the game's text is still in Japanese. Is that the case for you? Perhaps I applied the translation patch wrong, but  it's kinda hard to figure out what's going on with my progress in the game due to the lack of English subtitles. Do you suspect I applied the English patch incorrectly? I did follow the readme's instructions(I think). Is the English Translation patch supposed to translate the majority of the text contained within the game's menus and intermission? It's really all the different menu options I'm having a problem figuring out. If you guys have any tips please let me know.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12845
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #170 on: May 22, 2018, 08:24:48 am »
You have the English patch applied properly, all the stuff that is text based is translated. All the stuff that is image based isn't.  You can download google translate for your phone and point it at the screen and it does a serviceable job of giving you a broken English translation.
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project - Dayclona USA 2 :
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155515.0.html

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #171 on: May 22, 2018, 09:48:09 am »
Yup. That's true. Got a reply back from Syfyre and he said it'll be the most complete version for a while. Although I do find your suggestion regarding pointing my cellphone at my screen to translate text intriguing. Is this really possible or were you joking around?  :lol

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12845
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #172 on: May 22, 2018, 10:20:51 am »
Although I do find your suggestion regarding pointing my cellphone at my screen to translate text intriguing. Is this really possible or were you joking around?  :lol

It sounds like I'm joking, but I'm serious. Some translations are WAY OFF, but for the most part you can get the gist of it.  I don't know if Google Translate is available for iOS, but it works well on my S7
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project - Dayclona USA 2 :
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155515.0.html

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #173 on: May 22, 2018, 01:06:30 pm »
Although I do find your suggestion regarding pointing my cellphone at my screen to translate text intriguing. Is this really possible or were you joking around?  :lol

It sounds like I'm joking, but I'm serious. Some translations are WAY OFF, but for the most part you can get the gist of it.  I don't know if Google Translate is available for iOS, but it works well on my S7

OK cool, thanks. I got an android phone so I'll see if my camera is good enough and give it a shot.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #174 on: May 22, 2018, 10:54:28 pm »
OK time for a general TeknoParrot question. I would like to start adding some of these games to my Steam account as Shortcut "Non-Steam" games. I've accomplished this with my racers from MAME, SuperModel, Model 2 and other Emulators. I'm assuming I'll need to create some sort of batch file somewhere, but is it possible to launch these games without opening and going through the TeknoParrot GUI? If so, please tell me how.

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 238
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #175 on: May 22, 2018, 11:50:46 pm »
OK time for a general TeknoParrot question. I would like to start adding some of these games to my Steam account as Shortcut "Non-Steam" games. I've accomplished this with my racers from MAME, SuperModel, Model 2 and other Emulators. I'm assuming I'll need to create some sort of batch file somewhere, but is it possible to launch these games without opening and going through the TeknoParrot GUI? If so, please tell me how.

msg'd in the discord but adding here just to have a record for others with the same question:

Code: [Select]
TeknoParrotUi.exe "C:\path\to\game\file.exe" --profile=SR3.xml

the XML file you want is stored in the TP UserProfiles directory (once you've configured controls etc for a game).

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 630
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Sega Ringwide loader- Sega Racing Classic AKA Daytona playable
« Reply #176 on: May 23, 2018, 01:15:28 am »
Yup, got it sorted now, thanks! :)

I posted the following in the discord as well but I'll go ahead and post it here in-case:

______

I would like to replace all the background music files in Initial D 7, ID8, and WMMT5. Can you kindly tell me which directory in each game's folder contains the music files, and what their extensions are? I took a brief look at the ID7 Sub-directory and looked in "SOUNDS" but didn't see anything I recognized as music files. Any help would be appreciated.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31