Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Tempest and rotating monitor  (Read 988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Tempest and rotating monitor
« on: May 14, 2017, 02:12:45 pm »
All the vertical games I have tried seem to work fine... except Tempest. I just now got around to trying it after installing spinners in my CP. It launches rotated, but the monitor autorotation doesn't happen; it stays in landscape mode. I looked in mame.xml and compared it to Centipede, which works... both say "rotate=270" correctly.

There is no tempest.ini nor centipede.ini.

Any idea why mrotate isn't catching it and telling the monitor to rotate?

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 03:13:42 pm »
Found another -- Sinistar.

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 09:24:54 pm »
What front end are you using? The command to rotate comes from the frontend.

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2017, 01:31:05 pm »
I'm using Mala, plus your plugin.

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2017, 07:42:21 pm »
So, you are saying the monitor is physically turning, but the display is not? What version of mrotate do you have?

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8079
  • My arcade cabinet has a cup holder.
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2017, 09:30:08 pm »
Has the XML changed since the Mala "all games" list was generated?  If so, the all games list needs rebuilt.  After that, the problem games will need to be deleted from any other lists and added back from the updated all games list.

There is a tool somewhere in the Mala subforum to covert the Mala game list to a text file and back again.  Might figure something out (or fix the issue) by having a look at what's in the MLG file.

Sent from my Life One X2 using Tapatalk

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2017, 10:37:29 pm »
So, you are saying the monitor is physically turning, but the display is not? What version of mrotate do you have?

The other way around. The game is in portrait mode, as specified in MAME. The monitor is not physically rotating when the game is launched. It DOES rotate for all other portrait games I have tried -- Centipede, Raiden, etc.

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2017, 10:42:08 pm »
Has the XML changed since the Mala "all games" list was generated?  If so, the all games list needs rebuilt.  After that, the problem games will need to be deleted from any other lists and added back from the updated all games list.

There is a tool somewhere in the Mala subforum to covert the Mala game list to a text file and back again.  Might figure something out (or fix the issue) by having a look at what's in the MLG file.

Sent from my Life One X2 using Tapatalk

Yes, the XML changed! Good catch. And I did do the rebuild list step. But I didn't delete the games from the other lists and re-add. I bet that's what it is; I don't think I launched them from the All Games list.  :hissy:

Sigh. I am getting tempted to try a newer MAME (I am on 143b) and do the XML hacks that are around, just in order to have a fresh start. After five years of hacking on this cab, who knows what else is weird. I have so many backups of mame.xml and mame.ini at this point...

I'll go try your suggestion now, BadMouth. :) I'll report back on whether it did the trick!

I will say... Tempest and Arkanoid on spinners, Sinistar with analog... I am so happy with my CP upgrades...  :cheers:

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2017, 04:01:58 am »
That did the trick! Though it took a while to get a list back to the state I wanted (with merged info via ROMLister).  All good now though! Thanks Badmouth! :applaud:

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Tempest and rotating monitor
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2017, 08:21:30 pm »
I forgot about the XML file changing. Good catch Badmouth!!!  :cheers:
Im glad you got it fixed raph!

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31