Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Getting Stable controller id's...can't get it to work with gm  (Read 2917 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

retrogamer123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:April 11, 2021, 04:06:23 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Basically I was trying to follow the official docs on this
http://docs.mamedev.org/advanced/devicemap.html

I put the cfg file in the following foldre
Quote
ctrlr/xbox360.cfg

I set the ctrl path in groovy mame to ctrl
and in the core input options I set:

Code: [Select]
ctrl xbox360
Thats the working part. So fine so good. Starting groovymame with a game also uses my controller mappings.
But as soon as I add the following to my cfg file:
Code: [Select]
<mapdevice device=”XInput Player 1” controller=”JOYCODE_1” />
<mapdevice device=”XInput Player 2” controller=”JOYCODE_2” />
groovymame gives me an error that it can't load the controller cfg file
I'm using the d3d9x build of groovymame 0.183

Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong ?? ???

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7411
  • Last login:March 14, 2024, 05:26:05 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Getting Stable controller id's...can't get it to work with gm
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 07:28:16 am »
What happens with official MAME?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead of pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

ozfalcon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:April 07, 2022, 04:55:03 am
  • ZSystem
Re: Getting Stable controller id's...can't get it to work with gm
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2017, 11:51:18 am »
Basically I was trying to follow the official docs on this
http://docs.mamedev.org/advanced/devicemap.html

I put the cfg file in the following foldre
Quote
ctrlr/xbox360.cfg

I set the ctrl path in groovy mame to ctrl
and in the core input options I set:

Code: [Select]
ctrl xbox360
Thats the working part. So fine so good. Starting groovymame with a game also uses my controller mappings.
But as soon as I add the following to my cfg file:
Code: [Select]
<mapdevice device=”XInput Player 1” controller=”JOYCODE_1” />
<mapdevice device=”XInput Player 2” controller=”JOYCODE_2” />
groovymame gives me an error that it can't load the controller cfg file
I'm using the d3d9x build of groovymame 0.183

Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong ?? ???
Did you copy and paste the example?
http://docs.mamedev.org/advanced/devicemap.html

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<mameconfig version="10">
    <system name="default">
        <input>
<mapdevice device="XInput Player 1" controller="JOYCODE_1"/>
<mapdevice device="XInput Player 2" controller="JOYCODE_2"/>
        </input>
    </system>
</mameconfig>

Your double quotes are not correct (Docs have formatted double quotes, Mame requires standard double quotes).
« Last Edit: May 13, 2017, 12:01:49 pm by ozfalcon »

retrogamer123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:April 11, 2021, 04:06:23 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Getting Stable controller id's...can't get it to work with gm
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2017, 12:33:56 pm »
@ozfalcon.
Thx so much. Yes, you were right.I had the wrong doublequotes.
Its working now, cause the verbose output of mame now shows the remapped controller messages :)