Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Organization of frontend menu  (Read 1289 times)

raph

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:September 11, 2022, 11:42:35 pm
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Organization of frontend menu
« on: April 27, 2017, 03:39:05 pm »
I could use opinions on organization of front-end menus, and info on how others have done it.

I'm a professional game designer, so my interest in my cab is split between nostalgia, desire to have something fun in the house, and research purposes. Because of this, my cab is actually titled "Press Start: Emulating Videogame History." It also means that I have crammed quite a lot of platforms into the cab -- it's not at all an "arcade purist" cabinet -- and also run fairly uncurated lists.

But this leaves me with interesting dilemmas as far as how to organize the menus. Until now, I have run like this:

Favorites
 - lots of fave lists under each platform
Arcade
 - genre lists
 - DICE for integrated circuit
 - a classics list for key 70s-80s games
 - LaserDisc
Atari
 - 8 bit
 - Lynx
 - Jaguar
Apple
 - II
 - IIgs
 - B&W Mac
ColecoVision
Nintendo
etc

So, sort of a manufacturer organizing principle, except for arcade, which uses genre.