Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3  (Read 475 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« on: April 18, 2017, 04:54:20 pm »
Hi! So after probably year of taking a break and researching more, I'm finally setting up an arcade machine!  ;D  I bought a Taito Gameroom Classics bartop and it's pretty cool! It's wired with JAMMA, but the power supply I think is missing the -5 and 12 volt as there are no wires coming from the harness in those slots. It also has a small real arcade monitor and controls.

After the many roasts I got from my early posts, I spent many hours setting up a Pi 3 with RetroPie with the intention of putting this in the cabinet. However I am not sure what direction I should go. I love the new ArPiCade JAMMA adapter, but it requires -5 and 12 volts from the power supply. I could replace the power supply, but I'm not sure if the cabinet uses a standard power supply or not. My next option would be to use a JPAC and hook that up to the Pi, but I'm not sure if the JPAC does video/audio through the JAMMA harness.

My final option would be to take out the JAMMA stuff and replace them with Zero Delay encoders, and a GBS 8100 VGA to CGA adapter. However I don't know what to do about audio if I go that route, and I couldn't see any video cables from the monitor.

So if anybody could help me here that would be great! I'm still new to this stuff so be patient and thank you!  :applaud:

If anybody needs pictures let me know!
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 04:57:53 pm by SuperGojira2001 »

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2017, 07:48:28 pm »
No replies?  :embarassed:

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10556
  • Awesome face!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2017, 09:23:37 pm »
deleted
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 09:45:04 pm by paigeoliver »
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5724
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2017, 09:27:25 pm »
I got $50 for the PCB out of that thing.


paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10556
  • Awesome face!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2017, 09:44:41 pm »
I will buy your board if you go through with it. I have an empty Taito full size cabinet to put it in.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7744
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2017, 10:24:42 pm »
I'm still new to this stuff so be patient and thank you!  :applaud:

No replies?  :embarassed:

 ::)

Based on previous conversations about the board in question -- it looks like it only requires +5V. Can't say if the PS supplies -5V and +12V without a decent picture. In any event, those pins won't be wired on your harness, so you would need to rewire if you indeed need them.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,78325.0.html

JPac does both video and audio through the harness. NOTE: JAMMA requires amplified audio and there is no amplifier built-in to the JPac.

How about controls? Are you planning to change them (see rewire comment above).
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4045
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2017, 11:37:27 pm »
I'll buy your board. Paying more than pbj  :laugh:

In all seriousness, if you go the pi route, how exactly are you going to connect the JPAC? From what I remember the JPAC takes vga for video. Does the pi only output hdmi?
You would have to pick up a vga add-on card like the Gert VGA, and configure your display to put out vga through that.

Personally I would go the re-wiring route and add a proper power supply. You will learn what JAMMA is all about, and it gives you the chance to put all that hard work in configuring the pi with your ArPiCade JAMMA.

Give this a read:
http://www.therealbobroberts.net/jh.html

Bob roberts site was a blessing when I first got into the hobby, and it's still a great reference tool. I suggest checking out some of his other pages as well to get familiar with all things arcade related. But the JAMMA page is most relevant to your re-wire.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2017, 12:08:52 am by opt2not »

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2017, 08:58:59 am »
I will buy your board if you go through with it. I have an empty Taito full size cabinet to put it in.

Lol no. I might use it for another project, sorry  :D

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2017, 09:08:38 am »
I'm still new to this stuff so be patient and thank you!  :applaud:

No replies?  :embarassed:

 ::)

Based on previous conversations about the board in question -- it looks like it only requires +5V. Can't say if the PS supplies -5V and +12V without a decent picture. In any event, those pins won't be wired on your harness, so you would need to rewire if you indeed need them.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,78325.0.html

JPac does both video and audio through the harness. NOTE: JAMMA requires amplified audio and there is no amplifier built-in to the JPac.

How about controls? Are you planning to change them (see rewire comment above).

I'll take lots of pictures later today of the inside and outside of the cabinet. As for controls I plan to give player 1 6 buttons, and player 2 4 buttons. The ArPiCade supports some type of kick harness, or if I go JPAC it has those screw thingies to add buttons.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2017, 09:14:33 am »
I'll buy your board. Paying more than pbj  :laugh:

In all seriousness, if you go the pi route, how exactly are you going to connect the JPAC? From what I remember the JPAC takes vga for video. Does the pi only output hdmi?
You would have to pick up a vga add-on card like the Gert VGA, and configure your display to put out vga through that.

Personally I would go the re-wiring route and add a proper power supply. You will learn what JAMMA is all about, and it gives you the chance to put all that hard work in configuring the pi with your ArPiCade JAMMA.

Give this a read:
http://www.therealbobroberts.net/jh.html

Bob roberts site was a blessing when I first got into the hobby, and it's still a great reference tool. I suggest checking out some of his other pages as well to get familiar with all things arcade related. But the JAMMA page is most relevant to your re-wire.

As for video through the JPAC I'll use a pi-compatible HDMI to VGA adapter. I will be taking pictures later today to see if it would be possible to replace the power supply, or if it already has -5 and +12 volts. I'll definitely give that link a read too, thanks!

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1186
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2017, 09:40:41 am »
I'm still new to this stuff so be patient and thank you!  :applaud:

No replies?  :embarassed:

 ::)

Based on previous conversations about the board in question -- it looks like it only requires +5V. Can't say if the PS supplies -5V and +12V without a decent picture. In any event, those pins won't be wired on your harness, so you would need to rewire if you indeed need them.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,78325.0.html

JPac does both video and audio through the harness. NOTE: JAMMA requires amplified audio and there is no amplifier built-in to the JPac.

How about controls? Are you planning to change them (see rewire comment above).

I'll take lots of pictures later today of the inside and outside of the cabinet. As for controls I plan to give player 1 6 buttons, and player 2 4 buttons. The ArPiCade supports some type of kick harness, or if I go JPAC it has those screw thingies to add buttons.

Why?

Give p2 6 buttons to for street fighter etc.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2017, 10:53:33 am »
Why?

Give p2 6 buttons to for street fighter etc.
[/quote]

Only enough room for 2 more buttons on player 2's side.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1186
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2017, 02:13:07 pm »
Why?

Give p2 6 buttons to for street fighter etc.

Only enough room for 2 more buttons on player 2's side.
[/quote]

Fair enough, just googled a pic thats 1 tiny bartop :o

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2017, 03:09:16 pm »
Got some pictures!

Outside:

http://imgur.com/a/qMf4c

Inside:

http://imgur.com/a/QhB6i

JAMMA board and harness (with no -5 or 12 volt wires):

http://imgur.com/a/IyG5H

Power supply:

http://imgur.com/a/rENkm

Monitor:

http://imgur.com/a/xk08u

Speaker:

http://imgur.com/a/gAXJf

Sorry for the Imgur links but ArcadeControls was complaining about the size of the pictures  :dunno

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+44)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9931
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2017, 03:23:19 pm »
I love how they used that cheap chinese JAMMA harness you see all over eBay in there.  Wow. 

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2017, 03:25:34 pm »
I love how they used that cheap chinese JAMMA harness you see all over eBay in there.  Wow.

Ikr  :laugh2:

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2017, 05:57:57 pm »
I'm still new to this stuff so be patient and thank you!  :applaud:

No replies?  :embarassed:

 ::)

Based on previous conversations about the board in question -- it looks like it only requires +5V. Can't say if the PS supplies -5V and +12V without a decent picture. In any event, those pins won't be wired on your harness, so you would need to rewire if you indeed need them.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,78325.0.html

JPac does both video and audio through the harness. NOTE: JAMMA requires amplified audio and there is no amplifier built-in to the JPac.

How about controls? Are you planning to change them (see rewire comment above).

The power supply: http://imgur.com/a/rENkm
« Last Edit: April 19, 2017, 06:00:36 pm by SuperGojira2001 »

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2017, 10:39:02 am »
Wait a minute. If that's a Chinese JAMMA harness, does it mean it uses that "Chinese JAMMA" setup like the Pandora's Box?  :o

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+44)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9931
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2017, 11:36:38 am »
I doubt it.  It's most likely JAMMA standard. 

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2017, 11:41:19 am »
I doubt it.  It's most likely JAMMA standard.

I hope so  :P

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4045
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2017, 11:54:42 am »
The power supply: http://imgur.com/a/rENkm

That looks more like the monitor chassis. Is the JAMMA connector powered from this board??
If so then this would be both the monitor chassis and the PSU? ??

If that's the case, I would for sure install a proper power supply.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2017, 12:26:17 pm »
The power supply: http://imgur.com/a/rENkm

That looks more like the monitor chassis. Is the JAMMA connector powered from this board??
If so then this would be both the monitor chassis and the PSU? ??

If that's the case, I would for sure install a proper power supply.

Yes I believe the monitor and board share the power supply. But how do I know if I can replace it with modding anything?

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4045
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2017, 01:17:49 pm »
Well you can't replace the chassis without replacing the whole monitor. I would install a PSU alongside this and wire the power to the JAMMA loom.
That way you have more serviceable points of failure. Ie if the monitor chassis dies, it doesn't take the other hardware with it.


SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #23 on: April 20, 2017, 01:28:06 pm »
Well you can't replace the chassis without replacing the whole monitor. I would install a PSU alongside this and wire the power to the JAMMA loom.
That way you have more serviceable points of failure. Ie if the monitor chassis dies, it doesn't take the other hardware with it.

Nice idea. I'm a noob so I'm not 100% sure how I would do this though  :dunno Also I would need to find a small PSU that can fit in there. The regular black PSU's are kinda large, however a PC ATX PSU would be small enough (and $10 more expensive).

EDIT: I could use an extra PSU just for the -5 and 12 volts instead of completely rewiring the JAMMA harness. That would make more sense tbh. I have some spare ATX PSU's but they're from  :censored: pre-built PC's. Might be ok for this...
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 02:05:59 pm by SuperGojira2001 »

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4045
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2017, 04:07:44 pm »
I've used this one for my projects:
https://na.suzohapp.com/products/power_supplies/80-0210-00

Size is better than an atx psu because it can lay flatter.

I think for your bartop space you'll want to lay the psu down flat to fit it in, so a proper switching psu would be better.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Upgrading Taito Arcade Bartop with Pi 3
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2017, 04:34:15 pm »
I've used this one for my projects:
https://na.suzohapp.com/products/power_supplies/80-0210-00

Size is better than an atx psu because it can lay flatter.

I think for your bartop space you'll want to lay the psu down flat to fit it in, so a proper switching psu would be better.

Too expensive. If I'm just going to use the 2nd PSU for the -5 and 12 volts I would use an ATX Pico PSU:

http://www.mini-box.com/s.nl/it.A/id.417/.f

These things are SUPER tiny!  ;D

EDIT: Just realized they use an external power brick, maybe not the best idea. Might have to just replace the entire PSU unless if I use one of my old ATX PSU's for -5 and 12 volts  :banghead: I'm not sure if the PSU in the bartop is a standard PSU with standard wires though. Can someone maybe verify?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 04:41:42 pm by SuperGojira2001 »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31