Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Source for marquee monitor?  (Read 932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tony.silveira

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 551
    • my baby
Source for marquee monitor?
« on: April 10, 2017, 04:03:01 pm »

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1295
  • Web Developer.
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 04:11:56 pm »
For $800, it better come with the rest of the arcade machine.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17026
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 04:50:45 pm »
You guys and your LCD Marquee monitors, man.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

markc74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 610
  • Definitely my last Cab. Yeah I said that last time
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137295.0.html
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2017, 09:48:34 pm »
You guys and your LCD Marquee monitors, man.

I know... it's like soooo 2014  ;D

Edited because i couldn't remember when i made blip!
« Last Edit: April 19, 2017, 09:50:26 pm by markc74 »

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17026
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2017, 09:59:28 pm »
You guys and your LCD Marquee monitors, man.

I know... it's like soooo 2014  ;D

Edited because i couldn't remember when i made blip!
I blame you - you did it so well,  you made it look easy!  :cheers:
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1186
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 12:45:53 am »
Just print out a stack of marquees. Hire a guy to stand by the machine and swap out the marquees as you change games. It will be cheaper.

raph

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
  • Gradually adding bells and whistles to a stock cab
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 02:59:56 am »
There are several sources on Alibaba. One of them: https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/special-customized-TFT-LCD-module-panel_876684360.html -- and check the "you may like" at the bottom.

You might also have luck with monitors for slot machines. My cab is smaller, I used a 17x3 Kortek one, but there are 26 inchers out there, I think.

Aloy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1186
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2017, 07:34:55 pm »
560 dollars will buy a lot of tacos.

Laythe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
  • "-smurfing- delivers." - Yots
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149109.0.html
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2017, 10:35:09 pm »
So, what you do, is you print all your marquees on a continuous sheet of flexible transparent plastic, and you motorize a scroll like old metro busses used for their "Destination" sign. 

Your frontend tells the arduino to bump the motor to reel, say, 14 marquees worth of vertical feed off the top reel onto the bottom reel, and what's exposed in the middle between the rollers in front of your backlight is the current game.

You can have a couple idler wheels up front to match the traditional arcade cabinet profile, the big takeup reels can be buried back in the guts of the machine.

Aloy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2017, 10:38:45 pm »
This sounds like it would be just as, if not more expensive.

Laythe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
  • "-smurfing- delivers." - Yots
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149109.0.html
Re: Source for marquee monitor?
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2017, 10:44:23 pm »
Well, yeah.  It'd also take forever to index once you had a hundred games on it, and it'd wear out.  They stopped using those mechanical scroll displays for a reason in the busses, too. 

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31