Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?  (Read 601 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jimd0586

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hey all. I built a Mame cabinet and finally got all my electronic issues sorted out... the cab is working! I did notice though that many of my 3/4" HAPP buttons, when depressed on certain sides, don't engage the microswitch underneath. I have to push either very hard or move the position of my finger on the button and depress to engage the switch. I assume this is because of the cheap buttons I bought. Is there a fix for this? Sanding some plastic or adding something to the base of the button so that no matter where it is depressed, the microswitch beneath is engaged?

any secret tricks out there?

- Jim

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1507
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 03:04:29 pm »
Happ are standard buttons and should work fine unless you brought some rip off ones?

But no secrets, just press the button in the middle like they are designed to be and you should have no problems ;)

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 05:01:48 pm »
Seems like you got some Chinese "quality products"...

If it's a very small gap, you might be able to bridge it witch some (foam) tape.

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6023
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 11:56:48 am »
Seems like you got some Chinese "quality products"...

It may surprise you to know that some of the Chinese versions in this style are actually superior to the HAPP in this regard.  The HAPP buttons have a larger gap between the plunger leg and the switch actuator nub.

jeremymtc

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2017, 01:12:42 am »
Original IL or some of Randy's selections are really the best bet these days for a classic-style concave microswitch button. I was not impressed with the last batch of Happ buttons I used about a year or so ago. They felt all kinds of sloppy, right on par with X-Gaming buttons.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 129
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2017, 09:30:37 am »
I got cheap buttons and they are Sanwa style, they are not too great either based on my tests.

Dont cheap out on parts is what I am learning... $$$.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1507
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2017, 11:07:19 am »
I got cheap buttons and they are Sanwa style, they are not too great either based on my tests.

Dont cheap out on parts is what I am learning... $$$.

Yeah when it comes to the controls quality is key!!

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5192
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2017, 05:04:19 am »
They felt all kinds of sloppy, right on par with X-Gaming buttons.

Blasphemy!   :o

But I did replace the micro switches to cherry, but xgaming buttons are pretty good and hard wearing.  ;D
"I really do feel pity for those who go out of their way to perform a personal slight, than taking the effort in joining the conversation and creating some useful dialogue which would benefit the persons' perusal of this topic.  Yet where would we be without the persistant antagonist?"

Cynicaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
Re: Happ arcade buttons don't always trigger microswitch. Is there a fix?
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2017, 12:50:44 pm »
In my experience, the X-Arcade buttons are perfectly fine.  I mean, if one dislikes microswitch buttons in general, then that's one thing... but having spent countless hours using both brands, I'm baffled that anybody would call the X buttons garbage and sing the praises of Happ. 

I had a button once that had the issue described by the OP--it would sometimes not consistently register button presses.  I took a few small pieces of electrical tape and "padded out" the plunger, and it has worked flawlessly since (that was over 5 years ago). 



  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31