Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Question about specific dual monitor setup with CRT Emu 2.0  (Read 4322 times)

lordoxide

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:September 07, 2017, 11:53:19 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Question about specific dual monitor setup with CRT Emu 2.0
« on: February 15, 2017, 03:32:42 pm »
Team,

I am new to the mame cabinet world,I ran mame on a media pc along time ago, but nothing major. I am setting up a dual monitor system, with a WG 27" CRT for horizontal gaming, and a 4k freesync IPS for vertical gaming. I just wanted to see what would and would not work.

Since I want to use CRT Emu for the WG, I need to use a supported ATI card, and since I want Freesync I also need a supported ATI card, but windows will only allow one driver, so I assume I will use the CRT Emu beta 2 driver for both.

My first question is, are the CRT emu drivers built for a version of catalyst with Freesync capabilities? 
2nd: Can I infact use it for both a HD 6450 and a R9 380 in the same machine
3rd: Would it be better just to get a single R9 380 and run both monitors. This would required a dvi-vga adapter on the R9 380, will CRT emu work fine over the adapter, and only on one display port?
4th: Not related to CRT emu, but is a R9 380 enough power for HLSL on a 4k display?

Thanks,
Tom

lordoxide

• Offline Offline