Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: What preset for 800 x 600 Arcade CRT  (Read 313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tspeirs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
What preset for 800 x 600 Arcade CRT
« on: March 14, 2017, 03:55:06 pm »
Hi all,

I am only looking to get the correct refresh rates and I apologise if I missed it but I have a Wei Ya high res Arcade CRT supporting 800 x 600 (and a bit lower 640 x 480). I guess this is 36hz? I don't see a profile for it.

It supports refresh rates from 49hz to 65hz without issue. It supports higher refresh rates at 640 x 480 and I guess running at that res is not a problem.

My ATI R7 240 arrived today and am looking forward to putting GroovyMAME to work :)

Thanks in advance.
Tom

UPDATE 1: I installed the card, driver and Groovy MAME and everything works as Arcade_31 although this is obviously quite wrong for my monitor type and the video mode is quite warped. I guess we need an Arcade_36 mode?

UPDATE 2: I think the warping is just my monitor. I believe its a modern Chinese manufactured one and is not the great. Oh well.

UPDATE 3: I found a config for the monitor. All good now I guess accept the monitor is crappy!

« Last Edit: March 14, 2017, 09:27:55 pm by tspeirs »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5486
Re: What preset for 800 x 600 Arcade CRT
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 01:30:34 pm »
Happy to see you got your way through the configuration part.

You have two potential settings to apply too:

-monitor vesa_480 (this will produce 640x480-like modes)
-monitor vesa_600 (this will produce 800x600-like modes)
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tspeirs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: What preset for 800 x 600 Arcade CRT
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2017, 02:41:23 am »
Hey,

Thanks for the reply and all your awesome work.

I've actually got everything working really nice now. Someone had supplied a config for the Wei-Ya monitor in the topic and I was able to convert it the new format.

Thanks again. I am really pleased with how everything runs.

This is the config I used (My monitor is the same model number but Wei-Ya):

// MAKVISION 2929D (cotmm68030)

      monitor_specs0    30000-40000, 47.00-90.00, 0.600, 2.500, 2.800, 0.032, 0.096, 0.448, 0, 0, 640, 768

Converted to new format:
        crt_range0 30000-40000, 47.00-90.00, 0.600, 2.500, 2.800, 0.032, 0.096, 0.448, 0, 0, 384, 480, 768, 960
« Last Edit: March 17, 2017, 02:47:43 am by tspeirs »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31