Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?  (Read 1461 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

langlem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« on: January 24, 2017, 11:41:04 pm »
I have a WG U3100 I managed to pick up and am considering it for a Rasp Pi project.  I see others have used an HDMI to VGA adapter on lcd's with success... Hoping it wont be a big deal.

Anyone done this? If so, any advice on the settings?

I am not 100% sure what I should set the resolution to.... 640 x 480?

Thanks!

Matt

mahuti

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2503
  • Back from the dead.
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 01:18:20 am »
I've used:

VGA Monitors: HDMI to VGA adapter
CRT TVs: Composite Jack (the audio out jack also sends video) to RCA (clearance Zune cables off Amazon work great... HAH HAH)
LCD TVs: HDMI to VGA adapter.  Have also used the Composite to RCA
CRT Arcade monitors Using HDMI -> CVGA converter card. 

If you do not have anything plugged into the HDMI port on power up, the composite jack works fine with no configuration. It will auto set size to... (I think it's 640x480) just based on using the composite jack. Audio quality sucks, but the video is fine. 

You can edit the config in the boot if you need special settings. I'm sorry I can't quote them off the top of my head right now. Suffice it to say, I've tried a bunch of methods and they all worked fine. It gets a little complicated if you have HDMI as well as the Composite jack hooked up at the same time and want to switch between the two as the Pi opts for HDMI by default. Generally speaking though, I have had little trouble.

I also own a GERT VGA header card, but PiSupply or whoever, didn't send me one of the 2% tolerance resistors so I can't finish wiring it up. I'd love to run that thing straight out and see what happens, but no luck yet.
Formerly known for the (apparently now defunct) arcadeartlibrary

DorkVonWaterfall

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2017, 11:10:38 am »

CRT Arcade monitors Using HDMI -> CVGA converter card. 



whats that? got more info?

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6530
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2017, 11:32:31 am »
I've done HDMI -> VGA and HDMI -> VGA -> Composite (just because I could).  Looks fine.

You should really be using monitors with an HDMI input for the Pi, IMO.


mahuti

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2503
  • Back from the dead.
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2017, 04:33:34 pm »
https://www.amazon.com/Andoer-Portable-GBS-8100-Definition-Converter/dp/B00XKWX4F8

That's the CVGA converter. You can go straight 15khz using it.

https://www.pi-supply.com/product/gert-vga-666-hardware-vga-raspberry-pi/

And that is the GERT VGA 666 gpio board which will let you bypass the HDMI completely and output at 15khz or other wacky resolutions.

You should really be using monitors with an HDMI input for the Pi, IMO

In my opinion you should do whatever you want. Currently none of my RPI are hooked to HDMI because I want low-def output. That said, with the nice overlays and shaders they're starting to make for libretro emulators (which simulate low def) I may change my opinion. For now though, one of the things I love the best about the cheap RPI Is that it encourages you to salvage all of the other cheap old junk you have laying around like TVs, monitors and CRTs.
Formerly known for the (apparently now defunct) arcadeartlibrary

DorkVonWaterfall

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2017, 12:02:54 am »


That's the CVGA converter. You can go straight 15khz using it.

doesnt support HDMI, you have to go HDMI to VGA first ( or GPIO/Gert to CVGA)

And that is the GERT VGA 666 gpio board which will let you bypass the HDMI completely and output at 15khz or other wacky resolutions.


Gert adapter populates all GPIO,so no use of for example Mausberry shutoff circuit and so....

langlem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Anyone using VGA CRT monitor with Retropie?
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2017, 12:37:45 am »
Just to post a follow up...  Rec'd the hdmi to vga adapter today. Nothing special just a $9.00 amazon special that had decent reviews. Hooked up, powered on and rec'd a pretty garbled image.  Opened config file and uncommented the hdmi_safemode to get it to boot into vgamode and after a restart it looks great.

I do have an issue that has to be simple with a specific game...but will open a new thread in an effort to get a little more action.

Thanks to all who replied. Most appreciated.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31