Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Neotec 500DX high pitch regular chirping - no power  (Read 268 times)

Nexus13

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Neotec 500DX high pitch regular chirping - no power
« on: January 24, 2017, 11:36:15 pm »
Hey all!

I've got a doozy of a neotec that is giving me grief.  This is my first time working on a monitor like this one with what I think is an SMPS power supply.  Neotecs i've read are famous for having their HOTs go but after pulling mine out and checking it with my Atlas DCA75 I don't think its bad.  This type of power supply is making it really hard to trouble shoot as its constantly pulsing make it hard to measure voltages anywhere.   Does anyone have any advice?

I'm currently following lilshawn's advice from an older thread here to see if any of those caps near the power regulators have gone.  C525, C527, C519, C501, C502.  will also check Q505 and Q511

Thanks so much in advance!

Nexus13

• Offline Offline
Re: Neotec 500DX high pitch regular chirping - no power
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 12:43:59 am »