Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: I need to laminate if i use sidearts?  (Read 1009 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jack

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • See You Space Cowboy..
I need to laminate if i use sidearts?
« on: January 19, 2017, 12:46:58 pm »
I need to laminate first or i can just put the sidearts on the multilayer wood? What do you guys suggest? Thanks.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1532
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: I need to laminate if i use sidearts?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 01:21:31 pm »
As long as it's smoothe enough. Prime and paint it first.

vinegar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • ID/hardware hacker
Re: I need to laminate if i use sidearts?
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2017, 05:35:27 pm »
Prime and paint it first.
yup, and that's not a suggestion.  do it or the art will curl right off and be ruined.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 11:31:10 pm by vinegar »

menace

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2548
Re: I need to laminate if i use sidearts?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2017, 08:25:45 am »
Spray on adhesive before you apply and it will be good to go (without priming and painting) I've learned this from first hand experience and not from a forum post somewhere.  I use 3M 77 adhesive (from lowes).
its better to not post and be thought a fool, then to whip out your keyboard and remove all doubt...

bdn103

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
    • Classic Arcade Cabinets - FREE arcade cabinet build plans, printable PDFs and CNC plans
Re: I need to laminate if i use sidearts?
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2017, 08:24:33 am »
The sideart will amplify every imperfection in the wood. You will need to sand, prime, sand, paint....... and repeat until you have a glassy finish.... or you can glue down some laminate since it is already flat and smooth.  I prefer paint, but laminate is quick and easy.

Brian




Free arcade cabinet build plans. CNC drawings, CAD drawings, and printable templates. http://www.classicarcadecabinets.com

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31