Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Double Dragon rom 1 error  (Read 660 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hypergaming

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Double Dragon rom 1 error
« on: January 16, 2017, 02:57:37 pm »
Hi everyone,
Until last week, I had a fully working double dragon arcade cabinet. My luck, I turned it on yesterday and see a message on the screen thst says rom 1 error , does anyone know how to repair this and maybe can tell me what to do?

Thanks

Karetaker

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 260
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 04:44:03 pm »
You can try prying the chip up a little and reseating it. If that fails your next step will be to pull out the ROM and clean the pins. If that fails you may have a bad socket or the ROM itself may be bad. You can replace the socket if you have the skills to do so.

hypergaming

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 12:08:30 am »
where is the rom located? how do I know which one it is? and where is the socket located?

thanks.

hypergaming

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2017, 02:53:20 pm »
Anyone?????????????????

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6237
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2017, 02:58:17 pm »
Why not just do all the chips?  Takes all of 10 seconds.


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3914
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2017, 03:01:20 pm »
here
mods this IS NOT A ROM SITE

http://www.jammarcade.net/double-dragon-repair-log-6/

u may need to book mark and go to the home page to read the logs
will help u a ton

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6237
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2017, 03:38:12 pm »
The best part of that repair log is that he gets a RAM error.. tests and replaces a bunch of ---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- besides the RAM... and then ends up replacing the RAM. 

Then it magically works.

Brilliant!




ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3914
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2017, 03:52:40 pm »
---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- happens :)
snip snip awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy....

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

hypergaming

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2017, 04:17:17 pm »
The error says " rom 1 error "
Which chip on the board is rom 1?


Thanks

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6237
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2017, 04:23:18 pm »
Again - just do all of the socketed chips and be done with it.  You have wasted more time asking for clarification than it would have taken you to do it.


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3914
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2017, 04:28:03 pm »
thk-u pbj :)

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3914
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2017, 04:32:41 pm »
without reading all of it
surley to god the error is listed ?
same site

•Double Dragon II – The Revenge repair log
•Double Dragon repair log #1
•Double Dragon repair log #2
•Double Dragon repair log #3
•Double Dragon repair log #4
•Double Dragon repair log #5
•Double Dragon repair log #6
•Double Dragon repair log #7
•Double Dragon repair log #8
•Double Dragon repair log #9

my lord

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6306
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Double Dragon rom 1 error
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2017, 05:31:17 pm »
The error says " rom 1 error "
Which chip on the board is rom 1?
Looks like the info isn't in the manual, the ROM labels aren't readable in the repair log pictures, and you haven't posted any pics.   :dunno

Closest I can come is this ROM list from one of the .dat files:
Quote
ROM REGION:
21j-1-5.26          0032768    maincpu   
21j-2-3.25          0032768    maincpu   
21j-3.24            0032768    maincpu   
21j-4-1.23          0032768    maincpu   
21jm-0.ic55         0016384    sub       
21j-0-1             0032768    soundcpu 
21j-5               0032768    gfx1     
21j-a               0065536    gfx2     
21j-b               0065536    gfx2     
21j-c               0065536    gfx2     
21j-d               0065536    gfx2     
21j-e               0065536    gfx2     
21j-f               0065536    gfx2     
21j-g               0065536    gfx2     
21j-h               0065536    gfx2     
21j-8               0065536    gfx3     
21j-9               0065536    gfx3     
21j-i               0065536    gfx3     
21j-j               0065536    gfx3     
21j-6               0065536    adpcm     
21j-7               0065536    adpcm     
21j-k-0             0000256    proms     
21j-l-0             0000512    proms
I even tried editing/corrupting more than half of these ROM files, but wasn't able to get a ROM error on the bootscreen.  :badmood:

Why not just do all the chips?  Takes all of 10 seconds.
+1  Gently reseat all socketed chips.

If you like, power up after reseating each one to see if that one fixed it.   ;D


Scott

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31