Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc  (Read 645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rickn

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 470
Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« on: November 29, 2016, 11:40:57 am »
I have tried win32 Diskimager and a few others. I still get a not enough space to clone a card that already has kodii, etc. on it. Tried with the so called same make and size of Micro sd card. Probably simple, but has anyone had the same issue and resolved it using a PC? Thanks
Rickn
Always happy to help.., for the best in displays
Rick Nieman
Rick@Niemandisplays.com
www.niemandisplays.com
1023 Rife Rd Cambridge, Ontario Canada N1R5S3
519-621-1722

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3851
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2016, 02:56:41 pm »
rick this proggie works every time
EaseUS Partition Manager

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 688
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2016, 03:14:57 pm »
I usually run g-parted to shrink the partition on my rpi's sd card in order to make the image smaller.

ZoOl007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
    • RGBcommander
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2016, 03:39:53 pm »
if you are on windows you can use SD Formatter 4.0 for Windows to format your card - there is an option to reclaim space - do a quick format then you can use win32diskimager iirc
(if I understand your problem correctly..)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2016, 03:42:18 pm by ZoOl007 »

Rickn

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 470
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2016, 03:46:42 pm »
Thanks guys, neither solution worked? Perhaps I am doing something wrong. Still reports target SD is too small.
Always happy to help.., for the best in displays
Rick Nieman
Rick@Niemandisplays.com
www.niemandisplays.com
1023 Rife Rd Cambridge, Ontario Canada N1R5S3
519-621-1722

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2664
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2016, 09:27:46 pm »
DId you use win32 diskimager to copy the sd image to your HDD on the computer - or try going directly to the SD card ??

Try creating the .img file to your PC and then after you have the image created use win32 diskimager again to copy the image to the SD card.

Rickn

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 470
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2016, 09:38:53 pm »
Thanks again! Yes I used win32 diskimager to create the .img file. Then tried to copy/clone it to a new card that is identical to the existing card. But still got the error that the new card is too small. Even tried SDFormatter first but same results. Minipartition alsodid not solve this. Next step is to buy a 64 gig card to see if it accepts the original 32 gig img, but seems to me it is a partition problem? Any thoughts?
Always happy to help.., for the best in displays
Rick Nieman
Rick@Niemandisplays.com
www.niemandisplays.com
1023 Rife Rd Cambridge, Ontario Canada N1R5S3
519-621-1722

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3851
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2016, 09:55:10 pm »
is it "ios">kodii<

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5010
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: Probably an old topic, cloning a card with a Pc
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2016, 02:25:09 pm »
Cheap SDcards report 32gb but in reality are 8gb cards.

If this applies to you.  Go buy a sandisk 32gb for 7.99.   ::)
Thank God I am me.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31