Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?  (Read 7180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 01:02:09 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« on: September 27, 2016, 07:26:35 am »
Hello Guys
Is it possible to patch an ARCADE VGA 5000 with Atom-15 to get the benefits of the Calamity┤s CRT emudriver ?

Thanks Marcos

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2016, 08:50:09 am »
An ArcadeVGA should have it's own protection. I don't know if it's a jumper that limits it to 15kHz like a J-Pac, or if it's in the bios, but i swear you shouldn't need Atom-15. Once windows takes over, though, you need either the Ultimarc drivers or crt_emudriver.

Try the ultimarc site or forums for confirmation of the above, i reckon.

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 01:02:09 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2016, 01:34:26 pm »
Hello buttersoft
Thanks for you answer.
Yes forgot to mentioned, i┤m using a J-pac already, i just want to convert the AVGA 5000 (ATI HD5450), into a ordinary HD5450 with the Atom-15 and use it with CRT Emudriver to get the benefit of all modelines that the Calamity┤s driver could anchive.
Because AVGA 5000 is too much restrict in terms of resolutions.

Thanks Marcos

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2016, 08:35:09 pm »
I wouldn't have thought you needed to use Atom-15 though. The bios on the card should not affect you installing crt_emudriver.

Does the card have a 15kHz bios already? If yes, there is no advantage to flashing it with Atom-15.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2016, 03:15:48 am »
Since ArcadeVGA outputs 15kHz modes in BIOS there is no need to patch those cards. As reported by many users those cards works nice with Calamity drivers, ArcadeOSD and groovymame.

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 01:02:09 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2016, 07:20:54 am »
Hello haynor666
Thanks a lot for your feedback!
So you mean the AVGA 5000, that infact is an ATI HD 5450, will work just like an ordinary video card compatible with the Calamity┤s CRT Emudriver ?

Thanks Marcos

K-rnivoro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:May 03, 2020, 11:51:55 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2016, 07:53:49 am »
Hello haynor666
Thanks a lot for your feedback!
So you mean the AVGA 5000, that infact is an ATI HD 5450, will work just like an ordinary video card compatible with the Calamity┤s CRT Emudriver ?

Thanks Marcos

Sorry to say, but Calamity has been specific about ArcadeVGA 3000 and 5000, despite being made with a HD5450 ATI chipset. Those cards does not support CRT-Emudriver. I bet you can't even install it because the cards won't be even recognized as ATI cards, due to the fact the have a specific ID-name and drivers on their own. But don't believe my words, just try.

Same thing with ATOM. I don't think ATOM could find ATI signature in that board in order to flash it.

However, if ATI Flash is able to see the ArcadeVGA as an ATI card. I think that maybe (and just maybe...) you can download a regular ATI HD 5450 BIOS, patch it with ATOM, and flash it to the ArcadeVGA (backup original ArcadeVGA Bios first!!).






haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2016, 07:58:47 am »
Since I didn't have any ArcadeVGA card I might be wrong but I read long time ago messages about successfull usage. Maybe with Andy's driver instead of Calamity or maybe somehow card was forced to work with Calamity driver.

EDIT. It works but only under linux so I was wrong after all - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,140728.msg1457459.html#msg1457459
« Last Edit: September 28, 2016, 08:06:29 am by haynor666 »

K-rnivoro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:May 03, 2020, 11:51:55 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2016, 08:05:45 am »
Since I didn't have any ArcadeVGA card I might be wrong but I read long time ago messages about successfull usage. Maybe with Andy's driver instead of Calamity or maybe somehow card was forced to work with Calamity driver.

See at the 4.2 post: http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?id=47


haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2016, 08:10:50 am »
Yeah, I've corrected my previous post. So it did work but for very old models that's why remember that some people reported ArcadeVGA cards as working. Sadly New models works as mentioned in other topics works somehow only under linux.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2016, 08:13:46 am by haynor666 »

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 01:02:09 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2016, 09:07:25 am »
Hello Guys
Thank you so much for your answers.
So the main go is transform the AVGA 5000, into an ordinary ATI HD 5450, so it can work normaly with the Calamity┤s Crt Emudriver, K-rnivoro made some importat note, if the avga 5000 has some kind of exclusive signature that┤s not normal on those ATI will have some trouble in flash it with Atom-15.
Before do that,  will try to install the Calamity┤s Crt Emudriver, and not the Andy from Ultimarc will see if work.
Thanks a lot!

K-rnivoro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:May 03, 2020, 11:51:55 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2016, 09:36:26 am »
Hello Guys
Thank you so much for your answers.
So the main go is transform the AVGA 5000, into an ordinary ATI HD 5450, so it can work normaly with the Calamity┤s Crt Emudriver, K-rnivoro made some importat note, if the avga 5000 has some kind of exclusive signature that┤s not normal on those ATI will have some trouble in flash it with Atom-15.
Before do that,  will try to install the Calamity┤s Crt Emudriver, and not the Andy from Ultimarc will see if work.
Thanks a lot!

m.andrade: Actually ATOM does not flash your card, ATIFlash does it. So, downloading a "generic" ATI BIOS (check model and memory though!!) and patch it with ATOM will surely work; It will give you a modified BIOS file (i've tried that).
Thing is: Will ATIFlash recognize the ArcadeVGA as an ATI card? That I haven't tried...

PS: Andrade seems to be latin. Hablas espa˝ol?

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 01:02:09 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2016, 09:44:31 am »
Hello K-rnivoro
I┤m Brazilian !

Thanks a lot !
Marcos

pakoman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Last login:August 04, 2022, 08:03:49 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2016, 01:36:38 pm »
Mi advice is sell the arcadevga 5000 and buy a second hand ati 5xxx. You might even get some extra money.

K-rnivoro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:May 03, 2020, 11:51:55 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2016, 11:47:56 am »
Mi advice is sell the arcadevga 5000 and buy a second hand ati 5xxx. You might even get some extra money.

Yes and No. I recently bought a HD6570 from XFX. The card has VGA and DVI-I connectors. I discovered that the DVI-I connector only works in Digital Mode, meaning it should be a DVI-D connector (f**ing XFX!!). Why is this important? Because you cannot use two VGA outputs (one for CRT, one for VGA-31KHz monitor)
ArcadeVGA do have two real analog outputs, one VGA and one (real) DVI-I.

If you plan to use a second monitor, you have to be sure to use a digital one, OR be sure you get a two analog output card, which seems to be geeting difficult with modern cards.

My chances now: Using two cards, the 6570 for CRT-Emudriver, and the integrated card (Intel) for second monitor. I still have to try...


buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2016, 06:11:36 pm »
Mi advice is sell the arcadevga 5000 and buy a second hand ati 5xxx. You might even get some extra money.

Yes and No. I recently bought a HD6570 from XFX. The card has VGA and DVI-I connectors...you cannot use two VGA outputs (one for CRT, one for VGA-31KHz monitor)
ArcadeVGA do have two real analog outputs, one VGA and one (real) DVI-I.

If you plan to use a second monitor, you have to be sure to use a digital one, OR be sure you get a two analog output card, which seems to be geeting difficult with modern cards.

Calamity himself notes, in the guide to setting up the 5450 on eiusdemmodi, that when using EDID emulation with a 5000/6000/7000 series card - the preferred method - only the 5000 series is capable of outputting two analog signals. The 6000 series and 7000 series only have the capability to output to one CRT, whether 15kHz or higher. This is built into the card design. (You could use an active converter to turn the digital signal from the second port into an analog one, of course, but that's not going to look as nice or work as well.)

XFX could have specified that more clearly though. In Australia if anyone, whether vendor or manufacturer, had actually said or written DVI-I somewhere, you'd be entitled to a refund. Not sure about consumer law anywhere else though :)
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 06:15:35 pm by buttersoft »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2016, 03:44:58 am »
What about series 6xxx and 7xxx with DMS-59 output? I've seen those cards with two VGA outputs.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2016, 07:31:37 pm »
What about series 6xxx and 7xxx with DMS-59 output? I've seen those cards with two VGA outputs.

Fair enough, maybe those are a special case. Either way, you'd want to make sure before buying a 6000 or 7000 series card with the expectation of getting two analog signals out of it.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2016, 03:58:28 am »
Radeon 6350 is really cheap so maybe I'll buy one and test it.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1369
  • Last login:August 05, 2022, 07:55:07 am
  • retro maniac
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2016, 08:54:57 am »
Today Radeon 6350 arrived. It's actually Radeon 5450, the same GPU, ID match model 5450. Since I cannot find any model 6450 with DMS-59 or higher I assume that 6xxx and above really oputputs only analog signal on one output :/

telengard

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 771
  • Last login:February 27, 2021, 12:27:49 am
  • Yeah, it's a classic! 18+ on BYOAC and still goin
    • S T U R C A D E
Re: Arcade VGA 5000 with Crt Emudriver ?
« Reply #20 on: October 10, 2016, 12:10:46 pm »
I didn't have much luck with the AVGA 5000, except on Linux using GroovyArcade.  Drivers didn't even WORK in Windows 8!  Spent easily a month w/ Andy working on it.  It's a nice card if you are looking for total plug n play, but I'm glad I picked up a X600 XT.  I only wish I could flash it with Atom 15.  I always cringe when I see "Out of Sync" during boot.  Nice arcade monitors are hard to come by these days without paying an arm and a leg!
S T U R C A D E     M.A.M.E. Cabinet
http://www.briansturk.com/mame.html