Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem  (Read 995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« on: September 07, 2016, 10:46:36 am »
Hi guys I'm new to this forum, recently gave me 2 cabs kept in the garage do not know how many years and I have put them to exhume them, and I have to say that I've gotten pretty good.
But I have a problem with a Street Fighter 2 CE 920313 PCB which works perfectly, but has a problem with a few sounds, mostly when I do combos.
I went into test mode and tried the address sounds to address and many are missing, someone can tell me what are the EEPROM to be replaced or re-write to get the sounds to the full?
Accurate I have 2 pcb identical, though one not working, but I can try to move the EEPROM and see what happens, but what? They are numbered from 1 to 17.

Will post photos of PCB





pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6030
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 06:34:19 pm »
Have you tried taking out the chips, cleaning the legs, and putting them back in the sockets?  That board's an antique.


philenotfound

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 05:35:20 am »
Did you remove the stickers from EPROM 13-15? Or were they missing all along?

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2016, 03:17:14 am »
I found the card already so whit no labels on the EPROM, I do not know how long this is so.
I can reprogram eprom but i need binary file.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2016, 07:13:29 am »
The first step is to confirm exactly which board you have.

The PCB pic you posted looks like this bootleg. (sf2ceeab5)

Do the CPU/ROM/RAM/PLD part numbers on your board match those?   :dunno


Scott

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2016, 07:01:20 pm »
It seems that the pcb is  bootleg set 5 PCB2
I checked the entire board and the components are accurate except for the ROM n . 1,2,4 which in the original are M27C1001-15XFI instead in my pcb have D27C010-200V10.
I attach more photos:
















PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2016, 07:54:54 pm »
In that case, look at ROM 1. (ic26)

Several things you may want to try:

  * Carefully remove the chip, clean the legs, and reseat it

  * Try the chip from your other board

  * Use your ROM burner to compare the contents of the ROM to the dumped version


Scott

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2016, 06:36:44 am »
I cleaned Rom 1 pin and replace whit that of another board, but same problem. No combo sound.
Now ?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2016, 01:18:22 pm »
I cleaned Rom 1 pin and replace whit that of another board, but same problem. No combo sound.
Now ?
1. Check the audio section PCB traces for damage.
(from the Z-80 to the edge of the board and several inches around)

2. Check the audio section for bad/cold solder joints.

3. Dump and compare the contents of the two ROM1 chips using your ROM burner.

If both ROMs are the exact same, you can eliminate the chips as the problem.

Unless you remember hearing your board making the combo sounds before the problem came up, the "problem" might actually be normal operation for that bootleg.   :dunno

Quote from: R. Belmont, MAMEDEV
Audio is a very low priority for [arcade PCB] bootleggers beyond that the game has any. They typically replace the synthesizer chips from real games with the cheapest thing they can find, even if it sounds terrible.


Scott

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2016, 04:07:28 pm »
PCB traces are excellent, and sf2 cards work perfectly. Monday i will read both roms and compare it.
I had cards as a gift , so I do not know if it's a defect . Sound are only on rom 1 ?
It's possible to have binary file for Rom1 and re-write it?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2016, 06:32:16 pm »
PCB traces are excellent
Good.   ;D

Monday i will read both roms and compare it.
I had cards as a gift , so I do not know if it's a defect .
That's why I suggested comparing your two ROM1 chip dumps.

It is almost impossible that both ROM1 chips would malfunction in exactly the same way yielding exactly the same data dump.

It doesn't rule out a defect elsewhere on the board/logic ICs, but it does let you rule out ROM1.

Sound are only on rom 1 ?
I don't know for sure, but the dump documentation indicates that the Z-80 handles the audio for the board.

ROM1 is the only one near the Z-80, so it is probably the only one with audio.   :dunno

It's possible to have binary file for Rom1 and re-write it?
If the ROM isn't damaged/corrupted, it won't do any good to rewrite it or burn a new one for the same reason that copy+paste =/= spell-check.

The problem is almost certainly an inherent mnufacturer's flaw in your ***bootleg*** board caused by imperfect reverse-engineering of the original Capcom board/logic/ROMs.

One possible way to verify this is to find the dumped ROMs and run them in the FB Alpha 0.2.97.39 emulator.

The only drawback is that the PLDs are listed here as "read protected" -- not sure if that would result in sound emulation working differently from the original board.  :(

Another way is to contact the guys who dumped the ROMs from this board and ask them if the combo in question triggers a sound on their board.   ;D


Scott

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2016, 11:47:30 am »
I try sf2ceea in the FBA emulator and it have all sound.
In the test game i can listen all sound, if i sign address of sound that not work, and i read rom, i can check if address are really blank ?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2016, 07:50:36 pm »
In the test game i can listen all sound
To be clear, which are you saying?

1. In test mode you can play the missing sound in FBA. (expected)

2. In test mode you can play the missing sound on the actual board. (not expected)

if i sign address of sound that not work, and i read rom, i can check if address are really blank ?
The test program menu lets you select a "sound code" to play.

The program then translates that "sound code" into a command to use the data found at the actual ROM address(es) and whether it should play it once (like a word or a hit) or keep repeating it until commanded to stop. (background music)

The "sound code" does not tell you the actual ROM address of the sound.

I have no idea how to find the actual ROM address of a specific sound.   :dunno


Scott

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11977
  • 說好話 做好事 存好心
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2016, 08:25:46 pm »
buy a non bootleg PCB and your issues should go away
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award

Latest project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

Latest Restore?
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html
Killer Instinct Cab

AndreaIta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter 2 CE , problem
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2016, 11:02:04 am »
So, I am made to give two cards SF2, a third bootleg and an original.
The bootleg, this too, has no audio for combo, now I think it's just not a defect. I came to know that produced in Naples. ( ;D ;D ;D)
The second card is a Capcom, but there is a problem does not power on, where do I start?

Tnk you







  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31