Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Star Wars build  (Read 4581 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Star Wars build
« on: July 17, 2016, 05:55:11 pm »
I bought a flight yoke (originally a Lock-On) sometime ago, mounted it to an empty cab and played some Star Wars, but I felt like I had to at least try and do it right.  So, I decided to try and replicate a SW upright.  If I was more certain I would finish/do this project justice I would have started this post a few months ago.  I want to say thank you to bdn103,  Le Chuck, Arximidis, Yotsuya, OUFlight for their help.  I still have a way to go, but I thought I would share some pictures.









leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6739
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2016, 06:24:46 pm »
Very very nice.

I'm considering pulling my LCD out of my star wars and putting in a CRT. Is that a CRT or LCD? If it's a LCD, and you plan on putting it behind the smoked Plexi the star wars cabs used, there are some settings in either the mame.ini or the individual game.ini to get the vector settings decent.

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2016, 07:00:40 pm »
Thank you Lew, the monitor is a PC crt.  It is a Lacie 22" (20" viewable) crt I got off craigslist for 20 bucks. I decided not to decase it.  It has a great picture for vector games IMO. 

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4517
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2016, 07:49:22 pm »
Neat!

Did you order a template from somewhere?  That looks awesome!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2016, 08:09:15 pm »
Looks great, my friend. Kudos on the CRT. That's what I did in mine!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Alejo I

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Trying something new
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2016, 07:10:16 am »
That's amazingly clean. I have the same monitor, too. I'm not a huge fan of it for retro stuff since its too high res for my taste (I was a n00b, I made a n00b mistake), bit it does indeed work quite nicely with vectors. Fantastic choice for the cabinet!

ppv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 236
  • The cheap@ss gamer
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2016, 07:30:25 am »
Doing arcades, the cheap@ss way!
First Project : ttp://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151071.0.html
Next one : The Token Muncher [urlhttp://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135417.0.html[/url]

n3wt0n

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 531
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2016, 10:28:38 am »
Wow! This is going to look great. Good start.  :applaud:

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2016, 05:14:12 pm »
Thank you for the kind words guys!

Eric - The pieces were cut by a CNC from the plans on Brian's (bdn103) website www.classicarcadecabinets.com. Brian is a great guy and contributes a lot to this hobby, he puts A LOT of work into his site and those plans.

I am really happy with how it is coming along, but since I do not have a donor cabinet I have been trying to put it together by referencing pictures online and the bezel, so there are some imperfections, but I am confident the end result will be worthwhile.  I need to either find a speaker grill or come up with something else to cover the speakers.  I also plan to put some smoked plexi to mask the monitor....

Fydo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Alberta, Canada
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2016, 05:24:50 pm »
Looking great! Nice and clean...

*subscribed*

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2016, 05:36:25 pm »


I need to either find a speaker grill or come up with something else to cover the speakers. 

Oh, you mean something like this spare Star Wars speaker grill that I have lying around... :-)

***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2016, 05:50:49 pm »
Yes, that is exactly what I mean! Yotsuya, you had me at speaker grill.  ;D  PM incoming

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4517
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2016, 10:31:22 pm »


I need to either find a speaker grill or come up with something else to cover the speakers. 

Oh, you mean something like this spare Star Wars speaker grill that I have lying around... :-)


Say.  It is hard to tell from the pic.  What is that pattern?  Is it something that can be found at lowes or menards? 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2016, 10:35:34 pm »


I need to either find a speaker grill or come up with something else to cover the speakers. 

Oh, you mean something like this spare Star Wars speaker grill that I have lying around... :-)


Say.  It is hard to tell from the pic.  What is that pattern?  Is it something that can be found at lowes or menards?
No,  that's an actual Atari part. Never seen a replica anywhere else.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Le Chuck

  • I want a new quote!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5440
  • Yots is an Arrogant Tallywacker
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2016, 06:47:21 am »
Hey yots!  Where'd you get that!? ;)

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2016, 10:49:36 am »
Hey yots!  Where'd you get that!? ;)
From you, brother! And I'm paying it forward - it's going to this awesome project!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2016, 07:17:44 pm »
Thank you!

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2016, 01:29:50 pm »
That high res flat CRT is a fine choice for vector emulation. I'm looking forward to seeing this finished!

Wyo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 388
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2016, 10:30:22 pm »
Subbed. Looking forward to seeing this one!

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2016, 01:36:40 pm »
Yesterday, my buddy Mike came over  and we made some progress on the Star Wars cabinet, including mounting the speaker grill Yots generously sent me. Thank you Yotsuya!  I also bought a piece of smoked plexiglass to go over the monitor, applied the CPO and mounted the yoke.  I mounted the monitor using some blocking and I also used a ratchet strap to secure it in place.  The computer is running HTMLFE frontend (big thank you to the guys who put the work in on it) which is awesome and can be found in this thread: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137291.120.html
Here are some pics





I need to clean up the wiring to the APAC, but I couldn't wait to do a test run.  I am really happy with how this project is coming along.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2016, 02:09:41 pm »
You were able to use the grill after all? Sweet!!!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2016, 06:56:17 pm »
You were able to use the grill after all? Sweet!!!

Yup! I was initially concerned it wasn't going to fit, but it worked out great! Thanks man!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 17845
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #22 on: September 04, 2016, 07:05:55 pm »
No problem, I saw your message and I was going to reach out to you to see if you wanted me to take measurements or anything, but I'm glad you and your buddy got it to work. That speaker grille makes the project continue to look authentic. Glad to be a part of it.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Richie_jones

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2016, 04:53:56 pm »
Really nice..

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk


processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 170
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2016, 01:37:18 am »
How are you connecting the yoke to your computer?  I'm looking to do something similar

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2016, 09:04:00 am »
How are you connecting the yoke to your computer?  I'm looking to do something similar

I am using an APAC from Ultimarc.  It is very straight forward to connect and I am very happy with it performance wise.

markc74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 621
  • Definitely my last Cab. Yeah I said that last time
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137295.0.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #26 on: September 29, 2016, 01:55:39 pm »
Can't believe i missed this. Looks really good.  Love Star Wars. Hate empire (the game - the film is arguably the best one)

And that monitor looks REALLY heavy! Makes me wince thinking how you got it in there...

jtslade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 746
  • Keep it looking originallish!
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2016, 09:18:51 pm »
Are you running AAE? Makes vectors look very nice on crt's
Ms. Pacman Original Cocktail with Non destructive mod to Groovy Arcade Linux with All 4way Vertical Cocktail capable 2 button or less games.


Neo Geo MVS Mame Cab Running Hyperspin, 25" Nanao Arcade Monitor, Mini-pac, ATI Radeon HD 4850 (ATOM-15), IL 8 Way Euro-Sticks from Paradise Arcade, Win XP 64bit, and tons of other junk.


PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6773
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2016, 10:02:58 pm »
Are you running AAE? Makes vectors look very nice on crt's
AAE does look great.

The problem is that it only accepts button and mouse inputs, but not gamepad or analog (i.e. SW yoke) control inputs.


Scott

sabreerbasAlpha

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
  • Remember those big 10ps?
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2016, 02:56:39 am »
Star Wars plus original parts = Amazing, great build my friend :)

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2016, 05:46:33 pm »
Thanks very much guys!

I am running mame with some tweaking on the vector effects.

markc74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 621
  • Definitely my last Cab. Yeah I said that last time
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137295.0.html
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2016, 06:46:11 pm »
Care to share your vector settings when you get a mo? I've played around with them in mame but I cant get them to match AAE's crispness.

I just used Joy2key to deal with the mapping issue on mine as I'm using a cheapo zero delay encoder but I don't think that would solve your problem with a yoke.

bdn103

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
    • Classic Arcade Cabinets - FREE arcade cabinet build plans, printable PDFs and CNC plans
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #32 on: October 24, 2016, 12:07:58 pm »


Cabinet looks great. Happy it turned out so well.    ;D

Brian

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 635
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #33 on: October 24, 2016, 01:47:50 pm »
Care to share your vector settings when you get a mo? I've played around with them in mame but I cant get them to match AAE's crispness.

Me too please   :)

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #34 on: October 25, 2016, 08:35:00 pm »


Cabinet looks great. Happy it turned out so well.    ;D

Brian

Thanks Brian! Couldn't have done it with out you!

Care to share your vector settings when you get a mo? I've played around with them in mame but I cant get them to match AAE's crispness.

I just used Joy2key to deal with the mapping issue on mine as I'm using a cheapo zero delay encoder but I don't think that would solve your problem with a yoke.

Sorry for the delay Mark.  I took a picture of my current settings and tried to attach it to this post.  I also think I cranked the contrast on the monitor a bit...

Firecooky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #35 on: January 14, 2018, 01:58:14 pm »
I'm trying to build this cabinet from the plans at https://www.classicarcadecabinets.com/star-wars-upright.html. I have all the pieces modeled in OnShape, which you can view here:

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/97b7b3f6e4d8667075812173/w/2548f7e50398013333140bdb/e/7c3769457cb1cab094b1eb3e

I can't tell from the pictures how the pieces go together, though. Once the base is on, the next picture shows more or less the completed cabinet. Can someone provide some advice on where the pieces go? Specifically I can't see an obvious way that the monitor panel and the speaker panels go together. The Sketchup doesn't seem to have the individual components.

Thanks

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #36 on: February 18, 2018, 08:43:07 am »
I'm trying to build this cabinet from the plans at https://www.classicarcadecabinets.com/star-wars-upright.html. I have all the pieces modeled in OnShape, which you can view here:

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/97b7b3f6e4d8667075812173/w/2548f7e50398013333140bdb/e/7c3769457cb1cab094b1eb3e

I can't tell from the pictures how the pieces go together, though. Once the base is on, the next picture shows more or less the completed cabinet. Can someone provide some advice on where the pieces go? Specifically I can't see an obvious way that the monitor panel and the speaker panels go together. The Sketchup doesn't seem to have the individual components.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum! I sent you a PM regarding your request. 
Since photobucket is no longer free, can anyone recommend a free hosting site so I can repost my pictures?
Thanks!
Cj

cj138

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: Star Wars build
« Reply #37 on: February 18, 2018, 09:28:28 am »
DSC_1032 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1033 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1034 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1035 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1036 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1037 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1038 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1039 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1040 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1132 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1134 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_1135 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_0082 by cj Washington, on Flickr
DSC_0090 by cj Washington, on Flickr


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31