Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Do I need to pad my inserts?  (Read 986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ladysephiroth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Do I need to pad my inserts?
« on: July 06, 2016, 09:21:53 pm »
I'm using threaded inserts for my joysticks and trackball -- no carriage bolts for me!   

I've also had artwork printed on vinyl to cover the CP.  The threaded inserts are pretty flush with the panel, but not below it -- i can feel them if I run my hand across it.  I have some "Plastic Wood" wood filler (the drill slipped when I was drilling for the assembly pegs and dinged the front, so I had to patch that) and I'm wondering if I need to use that or something similar to cover the metal fittings before applying the art? Or could I lay some of the scrap vinyl over then and then put the main art over the whole panel? 

The vinyl seems pretty thick.  Am I worrying about nothing?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17024
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 09:34:50 pm »
Don't put scraps of vinyl under the good vinyl - it'll show.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

harveybirdman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2503
  • SHMUP'EM
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2016, 11:23:03 pm »
The real question is, will it bother you?

Do you have any scape material around the edges of your art?  Could you cover one with a small square to simulate what the art itself would feel like applied?

Brouhaha

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
  • Learning as I go!
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2016, 02:45:03 pm »
Used some inserts for my joysticks and didn't pad with wood filler or bondo:


As you can see, it does show with laminated vinyl. Seems I am the only one noticing though.

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+44)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 10123
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2016, 03:06:53 pm »
Why would you do inserts from the top?

I do inserts from the bottom so the top is completely smooth, no need for filler / etc.

ladysephiroth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2016, 03:13:03 pm »
Why would you do inserts from the top?

I do inserts from the bottom so the top is completely smooth, no need for filler / etc.

You can do that? Never even thought of this -- My brain kind of thought that the inserts had to go against the bolts for physics' sake.

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6051
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2016, 03:47:14 pm »
You can do that? Never even thought of this -- My brain kind of thought that the inserts had to go against the bolts for physics' sake.

The whole idea of using inserts is to bite into more material, which they do, thanks to the larger diameter and greater thread depth than a simple screw.  In theory, they are stronger if the insert has a lip and is mounted from the opposite side, but they are also made with no lip, and these obviously won't be any stronger based on which side they are installed in the material.




PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6472
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2016, 03:51:40 pm »
You can do that? Never even thought of this -- My brain kind of thought that the inserts had to go against the bolts for physics' sake.
T-nuts mount from the top since the prongs or nails will keep them from turning but won't keep the nuts from pulling out.

Under mount (tee-nuts)


Threaded inserts can mount from the bottom since the outer threads keep the inserts from pulling out.

Under mount (threaded inserts)

The inserts from GGG have the wide part that makes putting them in from below the panel much easier than trying to put them in from the top.



Scott

ladysephiroth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2016, 05:22:37 pm »
I routed the joystick area out too thin to use the undermounts from the bottom -- I have the GGG kit.  I just tried and it sticks up from the top -- I used the same router setting as for the trackball so gonna have to roll with what I have.  I'm not super picky about lumps, I just want to make sure it doesn't cut through the art :)

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6472
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2016, 07:02:43 pm »
I routed the joystick area out too thin to use the undermounts from the bottom
Then the option to use is the "Under mount (support blocks)" method mentioned here in the FAQ.



The threaded inserts go in the full-depth part of the panel.




Scott

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1782
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: Do I need to pad my inserts?
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2016, 07:31:38 pm »
Hell I have seen someone here mount there sticks from the bottom by screwing in little pieces of metal over the corners of the stick like little band aids. I don't remember who it was so I can't link to it.



OK so I was bored and looked for it. It was in the pedestal build by Milky.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2016, 08:06:03 pm by thomas_surles »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31