Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Jon's Raspberry Pi Bartop build  (Read 14965 times)

jkolton

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 01, 2018, 11:19:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • Jon Kolton Design
Jon's Raspberry Pi Bartop build
« on: June 09, 2016, 12:20:57 pm »
Hey guys! This is my first build. I went through a lot of plans trying to find the right design to work with, and settled on the set provided by floriski.nl in his evo XR cade build here: Floriske.nl's "evo XR cade" xbox bartop I know the size is a bit overkill for a raspberry pi build, but I love the distinctly 70's / 80's vibe it has, and I wanted to be able to utilize a sizable screen without problems.

I'm an art director and graphic designer by trade, so I'll be handling all the design and printing of the graphics for the cabinet. It's not 100% finalized, but before I go into the parts and pieces, here is a mockup of what I'm planning for the cab to look like:

I settled on the name retrocade before I knew about it's other uses, but I still like the ring of it.

The cabinet itself will be built from .75" MDF, with the outer sections sleeved in 4 color printed Floor Vinyl for durability. I'll be receiving my buttons and joysticks tonight and will post more about those and the rest of the parts when they arrive.

taxidriver6

• Offline Offline