Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: First time routing soon - Couple questions  (Read 3036 times)

Guywiththegun

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:February 17, 2020, 12:00:21 pm
First time routing soon - Couple questions
« on: April 18, 2016, 01:45:39 pm »
Its almost time to route the control panel for T-Molding. I've never used a router before, and I may need to buy one (if my Dad doesn't own one - he's been showing me the ropes). I've been watching the videos, guides, searching this forum, etc. and I'm confident I can pull this off. I'm considering doing a recess for joysticks too, if this goes smoothly.

I hear recommendations for a cheap Harbor Freight router first. Would this be acceptable for T-Mold routing and Joystick recess routing?

http://www.harborfreight.com/power-tools/routers/14-in-24-amp-trim-router-61626.html

Also, when I see examples of people routing a recess for bottom mounting joysticks, is there any reason you need to create template for a perfectly shaped recess? Wouldn't it work the same way with a simple square that fits the joystick plate? This will be my first time so I'm not sure I'd be at the level of making those perfect recesses . .

behrmr

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 23, 2021, 09:17:13 am
Re: First time routing soon - Couple questions
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 02:13:46 pm »