Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]  (Read 1755 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

coldcoffeecup

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:May 19, 2016, 12:40:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I have 2 UltimateIO boards, and I'm trying to set the IDs for each of them, such that I can use them in the LEDBlinky program. I am using the RGB LED modules from paradise arcade found here.

2 assumptions I'm making:
1) PACLED64 is the correct software to configure the UltimateIO boards' IDs
2) I'm able to use 2 UltimateIO boards at the same time. I've had no problem with the controls themselves, but I can't for the life of me get the LEDs to work coherently.

Issues:
1) When I run the PACLED software, some variations of the brightness and random settings work, ONLY when 1 board or the other is connected.
2) I believe the process I need to go through is to plug in a single board, set the ID, disconnect, plug in the next board, set ID. Then I can have both connected uniquely. The problem I'm having is that within the PACLED64 software, the buttons to set the device IDs are always grayed out, such that I can't click on them. I have no clue how I'm supposed to change the device ID.
3) Although at one point a few weeks ago I was able to upgrade the firmware, now when I try and upgrade the firmware the tool reports there is no device connected, or upgrade is complete (before I select the firmware file).
4) Within the PACLED64 software, no matter which device ID I select (bottom left corner) it shows an UltimateIO connected, which seems to make no sense... even when I change to different device IDs, it still lets me clear flash, turn on LEDs, etc.

I'm getting increasingly frustrated by the minute. Any help to get me started, and move on to using the LEDBlinky program would be VERY much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Scotty_C

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Last login:July 31, 2022, 07:50:56 am
  • The addiction is strong!!
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 11:51:34 pm »
hehe, I went down this frustration road as well ;)

I emailed Andy@ Ultimarc and got things squared away fairly easy. I flashed special  firmware (assigns a seperate ID) which I received from Andy on one of the UIO's and then needed to update the LEDBlinky PacDrive32.dll (added the PacDrive64.dll in there for good measure). After those 2 steps I can now say I have a 100% fully functional setup for 2 UIO's!! :)

wemr97dl

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:49:39 pm
  • KEEP GOING!
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2016, 01:54:49 am »
I am going through the same thing right now, I can assign Id's 1,2,3 but anything else craps out the device and I have to reload the firmware. Andy is working on a solution for me right now

coldcoffeecup

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:May 19, 2016, 12:40:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2016, 11:16:17 am »
Man, FINALLY a response. I was getting worried :)

I emailed Andy@ Ultimarc and got things squared away fairly easy. I flashed special  firmware (assigns a seperate ID) which I received from Andy on one of the UIO's

So was this something he had to do for you, or did he send you the firmware and you updated it yourself?

Edit: I emailed Andy, and he provided an firmware similar to what you're describing. I'll try it out tonight and cross my fingers!
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 12:12:18 pm by coldcoffeecup »

wemr97dl

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:49:39 pm
  • KEEP GOING!
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2016, 11:55:36 pm »
He hasn't sent it yet I need to email him haven't had time to work on it

AndyWarne

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1938
  • Last login:April 11, 2021, 03:37:09 am
    • Ultimarc
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2016, 07:20:18 am »
Note that the subject of this thread is misleading.

The board which needs the special firmware for ID #2 is the I-PAC Ultimate I/O board.

There is no need for any special firmware on the PacLED64 for other IDs.

GzStation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:June 06, 2022, 06:40:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PACLED64 - Please help set multiple device IDs [x-post from software]
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2022, 04:51:23 am »
Hi! I bought the iPac-Ultimate I/O. I try to configure my LED device with LEDBlinkyConfigWizard like the web site suggest me. The problem i have is seams to be similarÖ. that everytime i start LEDBlinky 8110 i have a message  :banghead: No LED Controllers Detected  :banghead: .   :dizzy: I've installed it on my laptop too to see if it was my main computer and have the same error... If i open the WinIPAC v2 App i can see that my board FW Vers. is 1.55 ( The last one ) ... So my computer can see it with the WinIPAC App. and i can play with it in games... So it is working...  :dunno It's like if the iPac Ultimate I/O donít want to communicate with other apps like LEDBlinkyÖ Iíll post when Iíll get a solution!