Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)  (Read 72924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Random question, and I apologize if someone already asked this, but is there any way to remove the flickering cross-hair that show up in the bottom right corner for player 2 in Sega Model 2 emulator? Every time I use demulshooter for Sega Model 2, player 2 will have the regular in game cross-hair and an extra random one that flickers in the bottom right corner.  Is it possible to remove that?  Thanks Argon!
It depends what you're calling the "regular" crosshair.
With model 2 you can have 2 types of crosshair :
1) The emulator native crosshair, you can disable it by modifying the EMULATOR.INI file ("DrawCross=1" -> "DrawCross=0")
2) "Custom" Crosshairs with lua scripts created by Howard with TroubleShooter (only if you installed it via TroubleShooter or DemulShooter Model2 tab). To disable it it's [7] [8] or [9] keyboard key (I don't remember exactly, there are 2 keys to change each player crosshair and 1 key to ON/Off)

sizzlasul

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi All,
 
Greetings from the Uk! I was hoping someone could help me. I have 2 aimtrak guns but for the life of me I cannot get 2 guns working with teknoparrot v1.04. The 2 games I have been trying are Golden Gun and lets go island. Playing with one gun works, but 2nd player start cannot be pressed in either game..even if I bind player 2 start to the keyboard. (I have the use the mouse setting for gun games checked in DumbJVSMAnager)
 
Can anyone save me from further pain and advise how i can possibly play these 2 games in 2 player mode with 2 aimtraks? Are there any hotkeys (like 9 for credits in Golden gun) that can let me play with 2 aim traks? Do I have to configure one as a joystick?
 
I am running demulshooter but it doesnt seem to do anything in regards registering the key for 2 player start..
 
Any help would be extremely appreciated!
 
Many Thanks
Hi, and Welcome here !
There's no need to configure any Aimtrak as Joystick or to do anything fancy like that.
Did you read carrefully the README file comming with DemulShooter ? All hardcoded keys are explicity written for Teknoparrot if you use the -parrotloader option

Many Thanks for getting back to me! I can confirm I have read the readme file and following all instructions. I am loading the games via DumbJVSManager after I do the command line run for "DemulShooter.exe -target=ringwide -rom=<<the rom name>> -parrotloader"
I am using TeknoParrot 1.04. but the keyboard does not recognise player 2 start in any way for Lets go Island Or Golden Gun. Can you kindly let me know which version it was working for and I can retry for that? Otherwise I would be grateful if there are any other options you could suggest..

Thanks,

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Many Thanks for getting back to me! I can confirm I have read the readme file and following all instructions. I am loading the games via DumbJVSManager after I do the command line run for "DemulShooter.exe -target=ringwide -rom=<<the rom name>> -parrotloader"
I am using TeknoParrot 1.04. but the keyboard does not recognise player 2 start in any way for Lets go Island Or Golden Gun. Can you kindly let me know which version it was working for and I can retry for that? Otherwise I would be grateful if there are any other options you could suggest..

Thanks,
I don't remember, it was 1.01 or 1.03 last time I checked
If you want to be sure that the base is working good, add a -v at the end of the demulshooter command line, run teknoparrot, move your guns a little and join here the content of your debug.txt file (created inside demulshooter's folder)


phasermaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
another 2p lightgun  msx game was dumped recently: air hockey :)

spacorn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #924 on: November 04, 2017, 05:54:37 pm »
Is there a way to customize the target exe's name?
For example, I'm using this for Demul, but my usual demul executable is names demul_lightgun.exe instead of demul.exe.
I know it's a very specific situation that most people won't face (probably should fix my current setup instead), but... I'm asking just in case  ;D

Touchmote can automatically change mappings depending on the current active executable (the executable name being the hook), but I use DolphinBar + Touchmote, but I also use my Wiimote for other things on my PC other than lightgun games, including using it as a regular controller, so when my launchers open a lightgun game, it does it through this demul_lightgun.exe...

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #925 on: November 05, 2017, 03:24:12 pm »
Is there a way to customize the target exe's name?
For example, I'm using this for Demul, but my usual demul executable is names demul_lightgun.exe instead of demul.exe.
I know it's a very specific situation that most people won't face (probably should fix my current setup instead), but... I'm asking just in case  ;D

Touchmote can automatically change mappings depending on the current active executable (the executable name being the hook), but I use DolphinBar + Touchmote, but I also use my Wiimote for other things on my PC other than lightgun games, including using it as a regular controller, so when my launchers open a lightgun game, it does it through this demul_lightgun.exe...
Target exe's name are one of the few hardcoded settings and you can't change them with current builds.
Your case is indeed.....very specific  :D
Adding this option is doable, but I'd rather keep the software with "general" option rather than "per-user" option, to keep it as simple as possible. Isn't there any way for you tu fix your setup and use standard exe name ?

spacorn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #926 on: November 05, 2017, 11:19:19 pm »
Sure! I'll just need to adjust a few scripts on my launchers. As I said, I was asking just in case it was already possible (it's a silly workaround for another program's limitation ffs :P)

Thanks for the reply and, again, for the awesome work you've done on this tool!

spacorn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #927 on: November 08, 2017, 06:32:18 pm »
Nevermind the silly stuff I was asking before, I have a real question now.

If I want to use this for demul07a, should I expect it to work on ALL revisions of demul07a? Or is it made for one specific revision?
Also, is there anything I need to configure on Demul?

I haven't been able to make DemulShooter work on Xinput mode yet. The debug test file says it's hooked, and doesn't seem to be detecting any errors, but the analog stick isn't maping the position, and the shoot buttons only responds sometimes... although the testing tool you shared back when you were implementing Xinput does show all my button presses correctly.

I don't know, it could be something else on my setup causing trouble, but I want to start by ruling out obvious reasons.

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #928 on: November 09, 2017, 03:29:48 pm »
I apologize if someone has already asked this question, but is there a way to add custom crosshairs (or any crosshairs) for demul games (i.e. MOK, HOTD2, Ninja Assault, etc.)?  Thanks

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #929 on: November 09, 2017, 04:47:57 pm »
If I want to use this for demul07a, should I expect it to work on ALL revisions of demul07a? Or is it made for one specific revision?
Also, is there anything I need to configure on Demul?
You have to use the DEmul v0.7A 180816 build for demul07a target.
The latest one (121017) isn't supported yet and I don't know yet if it will be one day as it does not add much for light gun games
And you don't have to configure anything, just make sure it's working on it's on with a mouse and make sure that games are running fine ;)

I haven't been able to make DemulShooter work on Xinput mode yet. The debug test file says it's hooked, and doesn't seem to be detecting any errors, but the analog stick isn't maping the position, and the shoot buttons only responds sometimes... although the testing tool you shared back when you were implementing Xinput does show all my button presses correctly.

I don't know, it could be something else on my setup causing trouble, but I want to start by ruling out obvious reasons.
If the testing tool is working, DemulShooter should work too.
The first thing I can think of to test is to run the GUI, go to the Calibration tab, check the option to display a mark on shoot and try to shoot on screen with your wiimotes.
You should see a crosshair on screen where you aim

bryhud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #930 on: November 11, 2017, 09:33:16 am »
argonlefou, question on Target Terror.

I setup the VM and ran through the setup at the beginning. After doing the restart it boots up but the game never starts. It just shows the boot screen on part of the screen and the cursor. Which I can move with the aimtrak gun.

Attached is what I am seeing and my VM config

Any thoughts?

Thanks

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #931 on: November 11, 2017, 09:56:25 am »
argonlefou, question on Target Terror.

I setup the VM and ran through the setup at the beginning. After doing the restart it boots up but the game never starts. It just shows the boot screen on part of the screen and the cursor. Which I can move with the aimtrak gun.

Attached is what I am seeing and my VM config

Any thoughts?

Thanks

The exact same thing happened to me. Glad to hear I'm not the only one.

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #932 on: November 11, 2017, 04:07:35 pm »
argonlefou, question on Target Terror.

I setup the VM and ran through the setup at the beginning. After doing the restart it boots up but the game never starts. It just shows the boot screen on part of the screen and the cursor. Which I can move with the aimtrak gun.

Attached is what I am seeing and my VM config

Any thoughts?

Thanks
It's not really the place as it's not DemulShooter related.
But quick hint by what I can see from your screenshots (both of you): it won't work with VirtualBox. VMware is needed
« Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 04:09:52 pm by argonlefou »

GreatLamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #933 on: November 12, 2017, 09:46:02 am »
New Demul came out just now.

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #934 on: November 13, 2017, 04:19:06 pm »
I saw that yesterday yes.
I don't think I'll update DemulShooter right now, romset has changed since the last version I worked on and I see no real reason to use the last one for lightguns game right now (but if someone has a good reason do not hesitate !)
AND demul is the biggest one to update with naomi, JVS etc.. beeing different  :D

DMB77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #935 on: November 13, 2017, 08:37:07 pm »
I managed to get target Terror working in VMWare, thanks for the image Argon.  Quick question, Is there are way to calibrate the guns in game?  I noticed they're a little off/sensitive.
Fate flies in fear of the moment

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #936 on: November 14, 2017, 11:31:50 am »
I managed to get target Terror working in VMWare, thanks for the image Argon.  Quick question, Is there are way to calibrate the guns in game?  I noticed they're a little off/sensitive.
You have a fully working calibration procedure in the TEST menu

DMB77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #937 on: November 14, 2017, 09:41:38 pm »
I managed to get target Terror working in VMWare, thanks for the image Argon.  Quick question, Is there are way to calibrate the guns in game?  I noticed they're a little off/sensitive.
You have a fully working calibration procedure in the TEST menu
Sorry, I understand you have to hit X to get into the test menu but I'm not sure what to do next to calibrate.
Fate flies in fear of the moment

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #938 on: November 15, 2017, 03:09:33 am »
Sorry, I understand you have to hit X to get into the test menu but I'm not sure what to do next to calibrate.
I sent you a message
This is not related to DemuShooter, please try to keep this post clean

There are other places to talk about other projects   ;)

Grocarlito

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #939 on: November 16, 2017, 07:51:36 pm »
Hi argon!

Thx for your amazing work!

I am facing a problem since I recently upgraded from Windows 7 64 bit to Windows 10.

I used the online upgrade provided by Microsoft.

Since the upgrade the crosshairs stay at the bottom of the screen in House of the dead (m2emul)

In House of the dead 3 (pc) the crosshairs just don't move anymore...

Do you know if demulshooter is meant to work in Windows 10?

Thank you!

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #940 on: November 17, 2017, 06:46:30 am »
Hi argon!

Thx for your amazing work!

I am facing a problem since I recently upgraded from Windows 7 64 bit to Windows 10.

I used the online upgrade provided by Microsoft.

Since the upgrade the crosshairs stay at the bottom of the screen in House of the dead (m2emul)

In House of the dead 3 (pc) the crosshairs just don't move anymore...

Do you know if demulshooter is meant to work in Windows 10?

Thank you!

Well, it should work as long as Microsoft let us use Native Win32 API to access process and memory

I had some good Win10 users feedbacks, as well as some bad ones. But I won't give you a clean answer myself as I don't plan to use a more recent Windows than Win7

I'd like to have a little more time available now to finish a small troubleshooting app so that users can find where the error comme from in the chain :
Aimtrak Driver > DemulShooter > Game/Emulator
« Last Edit: November 17, 2017, 06:48:31 am by argonlefou »

JRPGod

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #941 on: November 17, 2017, 08:28:03 am »
Hi all!

First things first, to Grocarlito, yes DemulShooter works in Windows 10. I personally have it working with HOTD on m2emul, along with vcop and vcop2 as well as working in all listed games in the ReadMe for Demul (Naomi/Atomis/Hikaru). I haven't personally tested with HOTD3 PC version yet but I will get back to you shortly on that.

This leads to my question however.

After a lot of digging around through this forum I was FINALLY able to get my first RingEdge/Wide game working (Golden Gun) by reverting to an older version of DemulShooter (I had the issue where 6.9a was crashing me on launch of GoldenGun, but working fine now with 6.9), but I'm currently unable to make any leeway with Let's Go Island. I noticed that this game is already a little special in that I can only get it work using Game Loader All RH, whereas the rest I just run via commandline and ParrotLoader.exe. I've noticed that DemulShooter doesn't seem to attempt to hook into any game when loaded with Game Loader All, something I learned playing around with Golden Gun and has become true again now. Is there a fix to this? Or was there anything in particular required for Let's Go Island? I did see that somebody had it working with Game Loader All RH 280, which I was able to get a copy of, but it will only with TeknoParrot 1_03, of which I can't seem to find a copy of. :(

All in all thank you so much for the help and excellent little software so far, and I'm sorry to trouble you with such a specific issue, it's just doing my head in. After getting my 2x TopGuns yesterday I've spent 2 days straight now just tinkering with settings. ^^ FINALLY getting Golden Gun working 2player though was very very satisfying though.

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #942 on: November 17, 2017, 09:06:35 am »
but I'm currently unable to make any leeway with Let's Go Island. I noticed that this game is already a little special in that I can only get it work using Game Loader All RH, whereas the rest I just run via commandline and ParrotLoader.exe.
Let's Go Island has a particularity, it needs a specific screen resolution.
So you can run without Game Loader All RH, but you have to create the custom resolution first if your device/driver allows you to do so (I did it with my 750Ti) OR try to run it with DxWnd with some tweaks
The resolution used by the game is - if I remember well - is something like 1024x600


I've noticed that DemulShooter doesn't seem to attempt to hook into any game when loaded with Game Loader All, something I learned playing around with Golden Gun and has become true again now. Is there a fix to this? Or was there anything in particular required for Let's Go Island? I did see that somebody had it working with Game Loader All RH 280, which I was able to get a copy of, but it will only with TeknoParrot 1_03, of which I can't seem to find a copy of. :(
The last version of the loader I used was the v279 for Operation GHOST, and all is working fine with it (Silent Hill, Gundam, Op GHOST, etc....). But yeah I've heard v280 and + could block DemulShooter, and I don't know why as this loader is blocking/hiding almost everything not beeing the game window on the screen  :D


« Last Edit: November 17, 2017, 09:08:25 am by argonlefou »

JRPGod

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #943 on: November 17, 2017, 09:55:20 am »
Excellent, you were right on the money there. I was able to use Custom Resolution Utility to define 1024x600 and now Let's Go Island works as well, but unfortunately it's not the most suitable solution for me as my television won't output that resolution ;( Works on my monitor, but the guns are rigged up for the tele. At either rate at least it's something. I'm gonna keep trying to find a copy of teknoparrot 1_03 (for some reason email activation never comes through from their site) because I think that might work as well, Game Loader All RH 279 with teknoparrot 1_03 - In fact this would be a better solution just so I don't have to use 1024x600 at all :p In the meantime, this'll do for now though.

Dream Raiders and Operation Ghost both worked without hassle so that's a plus.

Edit: Damn, so I was finally able to get TeknoParrot 1_03, and tried it with Game Loader All RH 279 with no luck, still just didn't even attempt to hook. Guess I'll have to play around with DxWnd

Edit 2: So DxWnd was actually a pretty good and easy solution as well, just as easy Custom Resolution Utility without all the dramas of it tinkering with your drivers, but unfortunately it creates the same issue on the TV, when  I go from the little window to fullscreen, the TV won't accept that resolution - I guess I'll just have to look at using a different screen at some stage. Let's Go Island is definitely in the working category now though.

Edit 3: SUCCESS! So I was finally able to get a workaround going by setting DxWnd to remove all window borders and auto-stretch the screen. You'd think it looks disgusting but it really doesn't! :D Couldn't be more happy. Sorry about all the edits but just wanted to keep this updated for any other poor soul that comes across this issue.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2017, 11:38:53 am by JRPGod »

Grocarlito

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #944 on: November 18, 2017, 08:28:22 pm »
Hi argon!

Thx for your amazing work!

I am facing a problem since I recently upgraded from Windows 7 64 bit to Windows 10.

I used the online upgrade provided by Microsoft.

Since the upgrade the crosshairs stay at the bottom of the screen in House of the dead (m2emul)

In House of the dead 3 (pc) the crosshairs just don't move anymore...

Do you know if demulshooter is meant to work in Windows 10?

Thank you!

Well, it should work as long as Microsoft let us use Native Win32 API to access process and memory

I had some good Win10 users feedbacks, as well as some bad ones. But I won't give you a clean answer myself as I don't plan to use a more recent Windows than Win7

I'd like to have a little more time available now to finish a small troubleshooting app so that users can find where the error comme from in the chain :
Aimtrak Driver > DemulShooter > Game/Emulator

Ok thanks for the information ! I can't wait for this app to come out...

I have tried many ways to make demulshooter work without success (reinstalling dot net 2, changing guns from usb port to another, reinstalling aimtrak utility).
Is there a way to have some logs on demulshooter to find the cause ?

Ah I started to blame windows because even if demulshooter is not launch M2Emulator in rawinput mode does not work: the crosshairs move strangely... What I don't understand is that in supermodel 3 it works like a charm fr 2 players with raw input...

argonlefou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #945 on: November 19, 2017, 03:50:04 am »
Is there a way to have some logs on demulshooter to find the cause ?
For now you can create logs by adding a -v option in the command line
It will create a debug.txt file in DemulShooter's folder

Another way to seek for errors, you can run the GUI and go to the Calibration tab, and check the option to display a mark  on shoot
If you can see marks on screen where you"re aiming at, you can confirm that the device you choose in the list (you have to save if you change device) is the good one and is working fine with demulshooter

stranno

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: DemulShooter (Dual light gun on DEMUL, Model2, Dolphin, Silent Hill, etc...)
« Reply #946 on: November 19, 2017, 04:42:16 pm »
argonlefou. Did you managed to include the cursor in the Star Trek arcade VM?

Great work with Target Terror. Do you recommend any particular version of VMWare Workstation or the last one is fine?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2017, 04:46:25 pm by stranno »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31