Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help  (Read 11863 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #40 on: September 07, 2021, 10:02:10 pm »
Also these guns are not showing up as active devices in mamehooker? Is there something Iím missing?

Hey bud! Okay I finally got the recoil to work. I ended up using 2 power supplies. How do you get mamehooker to work with other TeknoParrot games and of course mame?

Hello i've got this and i found how to command it with mamehooker

With this command in mamooker :
ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 8 &h02:&h01:&h01:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00
Coil works

ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 8 &h03:&h0x:&h0x:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00
Make Display works x is the number who you want to diplay

but for make it works correctly in mame game it's not so easier
For operation wolf everything work like a charm
For Operation Ghost ( teknoparrot ), everything work flawlessly ( very good game with recoil )
For T2 , coil work the first second after make a lot of small "clac"

Before i've make a circuit with an arduino and the ledwiz code , everything works like
With this hack when output stay a 1 , i jst need to make a script to make it work correctly , but with GID i don't know with it totally crazy
Is there a way to make Generic HID works correctly?
Thanks

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #41 on: September 07, 2021, 10:23:56 pm »
I got this work with a batch script I found online. Let me know if you need it.

you need to put
GUNENABLE  1
but you also need the I/O board ( or clone ) from aliens extermination

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2021, 10:49:08 am »
Hey bud!
Is there any links to get tis working with the same Alienware guns? The software doesnít recognize my guns at all.. thanks!

There is nothing wrong with the gun or mamehooker, the problem is the type of recoil T2 uses is most likely too quick to keep up.   I know when I hooked those up the outputs flashed so quickly that the program couldn't keep up and display it properly in the debug window.   Try using the wait function to add a delay before turning it off and that might help but if not I'm not sure if there is a way to fix the issue.

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #43 on: September 12, 2021, 11:20:58 am »
Sorry for all the messages bud! MH is not recognizing the guns? When I select show enabled guns nothing shows up? Can you assist me with this please?

Ok, so an important thing to know is that the Keystates in MH listens to keyboard state changes, not joystick input, and our gun is a joystick.
With that said, you can still use a remapping tool like AHK or Xpadder, i personally verified that AHK works, and it works perfectly.
So for this example i remapped the trigger of the gun to the Letter 'Y'.
Here is an example script for a game with a keystate example:

[General]
MameStart=ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 8 &h04:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00:&h00
MameStop=
StateChange=
OnRotate=
OnPause=
[KeyStates]
RefreshTime=
Y=nll |ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 2 &h02:&h01
[Output]


The mame start is for turning on the LED Strip.
Another thing to note is that this will send a single shot recoil only,
in order to get a full auto recoil you will need to create a simple script and loop it upon holding the trigger.
Just to be clear, everything i said here is covered in the MH docs, except for the remapping of the joy to key.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19273
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:09:24 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #44 on: September 12, 2021, 03:09:43 pm »
I'm not sure what you mean by "nothing is showing up"   If you mean the guns aren't listed in mamehooker with supported devices that's because they aren't supported devices.   Foxhole is using the generic HID commands to control the guns... it's basically a glorified serial write and thus mamehooker has no clue what is going on.   If you use the commands he has listed it should work.   As he said, all the things you need to do in order to get things working are covered in the docs on the website.   I'm sorry but as I don't personally have one of these guns I can't help any more than that. 

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2021, 12:33:05 am »
understood thanks! I am trying to make the trigger button to the letter "y" but sure how to program this in AHK?  I normally use Joy2key but mame still recognizes it as a joystick.  This is what I have so for compiled in AHK but still doesn't work: both mame and joy2key read the gun as Joystick 4 and trigger as button 1.

AHK Script:
Joy4::Send {y}  ; Have button #1 send the letter "y" keystroke.

I'm not sure what you mean by "nothing is showing up"   If you mean the guns aren't listed in mamehooker with supported devices that's because they aren't supported devices.   Foxhole is using the generic HID commands to control the guns... it's basically a glorified serial write and thus mamehooker has no clue what is going on.   If you use the commands he has listed it should work.   As he said, all the things you need to do in order to get things working are covered in the docs on the website.   I'm sorry but as I don't personally have one of these guns I can't help any more than that.

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #46 on: September 14, 2021, 10:15:12 pm »
UPDATE: Sept. 23 2021
It was not working on windows 7, the settings below only worked on windows 10! dammit! Spent days trying to figure this out! lol Hopefully there is a way to work with windows 7.


Okay, normally I am decent at this stuff.. but this thing is driving me nuts! I have attached screenshots to show you guys what I have done, maybe I am missing something:

Mamehooker always shows 0 under outputs, even when I put a default gun recoil for device 1 or if I go to the specific rom eg Terminator 2..
I go under Script Editor, edit INI for Current ROM, I am using Term2 for now.  The the txt file opens up and then I select Left_Gun_Recoil= followed by Add, then select Command, select Generic HID send data.. maybe I am selecting the wrong data input?  Any help would be great!  Files attached.. once I open the rom MH always shows the output as 0.

update:
I tried the same thing with my Xbox 360 controller on the Xbox input and everything worked great! my guns recoil with Alien Extermination so I know they recoil correctly.
I have tried both inputs that Foxhole and Bandicoot have listed, but with no success.
Last image is showing the IDs that have been mentioned in this thread.. still when I press test.. nothing.. Am I doing something wrong?
« Last Edit: September 23, 2021, 02:02:23 am by Nitro0602 »

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #47 on: September 23, 2021, 02:00:23 am »
Hey! Okay I got it to work, but only on windows 10.. It wasn't working on windows 7 with those guns.  Is there any other settings I can use to get it to work on windows 7? I understand you do not have these guns.. but wanted to know if there was any additional settings I could use?  Thanks! I really rather use windows 7 if possible.


I'm not sure what you mean by "nothing is showing up"   If you mean the guns aren't listed in mamehooker with supported devices that's because they aren't supported devices.   Foxhole is using the generic HID commands to control the guns... it's basically a glorified serial write and thus mamehooker has no clue what is going on.   If you use the commands he has listed it should work.   As he said, all the things you need to do in order to get things working are covered in the docs on the website.   I'm sorry but as I don't personally have one of these guns I can't help any more than that.


Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
  • Last login:May 16, 2022, 10:39:10 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #48 on: September 25, 2021, 01:02:50 pm »
Ok, i just tested the gun on my win 7 cab, and i get the same results as nitro, mamehooker commands aren't working on it for some reason. Tried playing around with the ghd command, changing report length, device index and etc, but no go. Also tried running mamehooker as admin, but made no difference.
On win 10 it works perfectly without any fuss.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19273
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:09:24 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #49 on: September 26, 2021, 10:00:26 pm »
Any issues you have most likely have more to do with the guns or "fixes" to the OS from updates than mamehooker.   I started development in xp a million years ago so everything worked as I migrated to 7 and then 10.   That being said I don't support old operating systems..... win 10 doesn't require any more resources to run than 7 and it's a far superior OS..... might be time to upgrade.   

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
  • Last login:May 16, 2022, 10:39:10 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #50 on: September 27, 2021, 09:07:11 am »
I assumed the same about the updates possibly causing this issue on win 7.
I should be getting a usb2gun soon for my crt cab, as far as i know it also uses the ghd command for recoil and flash length, so if the issue is in fact coming from some update it will probably cause the same issue with this.
In that case, it's either win 10 or "play" "find the offensive update".

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #51 on: September 29, 2021, 09:56:59 am »
Ok good! Iím not the only one then lol! Windows 10 it is!
Also how do I setup Teknoparrot or PC games to rumble with this? Lastly a generic recoil or mame eg Jurassic Park MH doesnít recognize any recoil for that mame game.. so I wanted to add a generic recoil to that.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
  • Last login:February 13, 2022, 04:05:07 am
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #52 on: October 04, 2021, 02:25:19 pm »
In Sega Goldun Gun for example , there's an output for Digit Display ( Number of Ball )
in mamehooker we see at startup 12 and it decrease when we shoot 11 , 10 etc
the command line for make Digit works is this
ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 3 &h03:&h0X:&h0Y ( X is the first Digit , Y the second )
if i use this command
ghd 1 &H04B4 &H6870 3 &h03:&h0%s%:&h0%s% , the two digit display same thing ( only the last number from outputs )
I think i don't use correct command :)
Perhaps we need to separate the number for output ? i don't know
If someone have an idea  ;)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2021, 03:10:21 pm by bandicoot »

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #53 on: October 04, 2021, 03:45:24 pm »
Thanks! Iíll try it out. How do you add Teknoparrot to MH or other PC games like Fright Fear Land for example.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
  • Last login:February 13, 2022, 04:05:07 am
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #54 on: October 05, 2021, 02:18:53 am »
Use demulshooter to enable outputs in all teknoparrot game
you to need launch it by a command line with correct game selected , and launch it in teknoparrot after
You can make a Batch file like this
@echo on
cd "D:\DemulShooter"
START DemulShooter.exe -target=lindbergh -rom=rambo

cd "D:\Hyperspin Rocketlauncher\Hyperspin\Emulators\TeknoParrot"
START TeknoParrotUi.exe --profile=Rambo.xml

exit

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #55 on: February 02, 2022, 11:36:18 pm »
Hey guys,
I know its been some time.  I have finally programmed my guns and both work perfect.  But for the life of me I cannot get MH to work with mame.  I have input the folders and exe files correctly, but it always shows blank in MH.  I'm kicking myself as I had this working months back, now nothing works? Am I missing something? Picture attached below: 

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #56 on: February 03, 2022, 12:07:45 am »
a little progress... but it doesn't look like it reading the rom/path?

I get an error if I try to edit the parent rom: "Mame path isn't setup properly so we don't know the parent name"
« Last Edit: February 03, 2022, 12:35:07 am by Nitro0602 »

Nitro0602

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:27:01 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #57 on: February 04, 2022, 03:24:29 am »
Fixed it! I totally forgot about the mame ini file and adding the following:

Mame.ini

#
# OSD OUTPUT OPTIONS
#

output windows

fjser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:May 13, 2022, 06:17:33 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #58 on: May 06, 2022, 11:38:13 am »
Hi All - I am in process of setting up my pair of guns with mamehooker.  So far, i have the commands for led strip, feedback, and changing display number.  Two quick questions:

1) I cant seem to find a command for disabling/resetting the numeric display.  When existing a game it shows the same number that was last o it. Anyone figure this out?
2) Any other commands I am missing?


POPO69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:00:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aliens Arcade GUNS + mamehooker need help
« Reply #59 on: May 13, 2022, 03:08:25 pm »
Hello I have problem with Haunted Museum 2.
The FFB is disable. How can I active it?
Mamehooker see game feverland....I have the Ini in the mamehooker...but no FFB. Please help