Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can't delete resolution  (Read 1032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:Today at 09:03:56 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can't delete resolution
« on: February 18, 2016, 09:59:47 am »
As the title says, there's a specific resolution that keeps coming back after restarting the pc.
I used to have 256x240@60Hz and 53Hz, and i'm trying to remove the 53Hz by clicking delete all modes and then import from file.
After doing so, arcadeosd doesn't show the 53Hz resolution, but after restarting it comes back.
I also tried to just delete all modes. Doing so makes arcadeosd show only 640x480i but after restarting all the former resolutions come back, except for 720x480/576 which are listed in grey as native.
Basically, it's as if i can't remove custom resolutions, though adding them works just fine.
Edit: CRT Emudriver 2.0
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 10:10:50 am by Foxhole »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Today at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 10:21:42 am »
That's very odd, never seen that. HD 5000+ I suppose.

720x480/576 is created by the driver by default, just ignore it.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:Today at 09:03:56 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 10:48:34 am »
HD7850.
I'll try to be more specific. In VMM i press delete all modes, afterwards i press import from file, i choose my modelines file which doesn't include 256x240@53Hz, Then i press install, everything seems to be ok, even in arcadeosd it doesn't list that resolution, but after i restart the pc the resolution comes back, as if it wasn't deleted at all.
What's even more weird, like i've said before, is that even if i simply delete all modes without installing new ones, all of them would come back after a restart.
I installed crt emudriver exactly like stated in your guide.
Is there anyway to fix this without reinstalling? I don't mind tweaking things in the registry if needed.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Today at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2016, 11:00:27 am »
What happens if instead of deleting all modes, you just import from file, then install, then reboot?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:Today at 09:03:56 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2016, 11:05:07 am »
Just tried it and it stays the same.   :-\

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Today at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2016, 11:44:16 am »
Disabling EDID emulation, and enabling it again should reset things. If that doesn't work, try changing the name of your monitor preset before re-enabling EDID emulation.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:Today at 09:03:56 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't delete resolution
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2016, 01:39:33 pm »
That fixed it. Thanks.