Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: controls.json  (Read 11150 times)

yo1dog

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:October 10, 2023, 10:48:49 am
    • MikeArcade
controls.json
« on: May 08, 2016, 01:58:53 pm »
Disclaimer: I am new to the controls.dat project.

First, I thought it was crazy that the project didn't have a JSON format (who uses XML anymore? :P) so I wrote a script that converts controls.xml into controls.json.

Then I started trying to use the data in a utility project I started. I found the structure of the data in the controls.dat project a bit archaic, convoluted, and difficult to use. So I created a new structure for the data (uncreativly named restructuredControls.json). I wanted something that I could import into a project and be able to use quickly and easily. The controls.dat structure requires a lot of flag checking and/or preprocessing due to the many implicit relationships and values. I am focused on utility projects based around ROM management with an emphasis on control panel planning and automatic control panel layout/input configuration. So, I want data that I can use to programmatically define control panel requirements and map MAME inputs to physical controls that most closely emulate the actual cabinets layout for the average MAME cabinet.