Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7  (Read 8424 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #80 on: November 24, 2017, 11:55:38 pm »
If I understand you GM and Calamity drivers don't need a big configuration.
A good idea would be Calamity tells us the perfect setup and the perfect Mame.ini and VMMaker settings... ;) It would be easier for all of us.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 12:09:09 am by folken »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #81 on: November 26, 2017, 06:28:18 am »
The best way probably for most users will be:

Hardware with:
- Radeon HD5xxx that have at least one DSub/VGA output (You don't need this way any dongles)
- processor and motherboard that works nicely with windows 7 x64 (any Core2Duo era up to intel Z97 chipset should be ok)
- min 2 Gb RAM (tested, works nice but 3 or 4 Gb could improve a bit)
- windows 7 x64 installed

Take latest driver from http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?id=295 (for You Catalyst 12.6 would be fine)
Use in VMMaker custom super resolutions, just delete user_modes.ini inside crt emudriver folder then rename "user_modes - super.ini" as "user_modes.ini" (most people will prefer super resolutions - less modes, easier to make custom positioned modes)

Follow instructions at http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1052#p1052 to install proper modes and to switch from monitor to TV/arcade monitor.

Now follow this http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?id=290 to set arcade_15, rotation and super resolutions

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6090
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #82 on: November 26, 2017, 07:28:18 am »
If I understand you GM and Calamity drivers don't need a big configuration.
A good idea would be Calamity tells us the perfect setup and the perfect Mame.ini and VMMaker settings... ;) It would be easier for all of us.

The perfect setup does not exist. It depends mainly on the best CPU you can afford. And the relevant CPU feature for this use is single thread performance. With regards to the video card, always HD 5000 minimum and preferably newer. Since you seem to be interested on my particular arcade setup, currently I have an HD 6450 with an outdated Core2Duo and Windows 7 x64 (you see, not the "perfect" setup).

With regards to mame.ini and vmmaker settings, use the tutorials Haynor posted above. Again, the "perfect" setup for those does not exist, the very reason options exist is because different users need different settings. Anyway, nowadays it's quite simple to get it working with mostly default settings, after that you can refine things like geometry, etc.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #83 on: November 26, 2017, 11:54:51 am »
I mean by perfect setup the best setup to run all 15Khz games like CPS 1, 2, 3, NEO GEO MVS etc exactly like original hardwares ;)
A XEON X3380 is a 4 physical cores CPU. What do you think about it?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2017, 11:57:55 am by folken »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #84 on: November 26, 2017, 11:56:40 am »
Use super resolutions with arcade_15 mode.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #85 on: November 26, 2017, 12:34:52 pm »
How to use these super resolutions?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #87 on: November 26, 2017, 01:03:06 pm »
 :embarassed:
Thank you Haynor!  ;)

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #88 on: November 28, 2017, 02:40:24 am »
Can you explain to me why I can't see the laser bar, the score etc... in the game "Gallop" from Irem? Even if I try to change the CRT settings to up the screen I don't see these informations from the game like if screen was cut.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #89 on: November 28, 2017, 05:39:16 pm »
It's expected - it's 256 lines modes with 55 Hz frequency so it's not PAL or NTSC either. Most TV sets this mode in NTSC range (usually TVs have 2 presets, one for PAL and second for NTSC) so You are see only 240 lines from 256. For those games You have to resize picture in service menu.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #90 on: November 29, 2017, 10:37:27 am »
Thank you Haynor but even if I change settings in service menu it will lot change anything: the active display is the same (I don't see the life bar and the score)

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #91 on: November 29, 2017, 02:46:09 pm »
Do You have option v slope in service menu? What TV do You have?

I see some used G3258 and motherboards on eby for about 100 EUR. Not a bad price.


I almost ended testing windows x64 - 7,8,8.1,10 with two different hardware configurations and so far (still to test 7x64) windows 8 is the fastest one. Of course differences are minimal.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2017, 03:36:13 pm by haynor666 »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #92 on: November 30, 2017, 09:19:06 am »
My is a Sony KV-E3431B/2.
If I want to see the life bar and score I must to change this setting in my Mame.ini: monitor_specs_0 = "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 288, 448, 576" into

monitor_specs_0 = "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.160, 1.5XX (I don't remember exactly the 2 last numbers), 0, 0, 288, 448, 576"
But if I do this setting I will see the scote and life bar but switchres will not be in the good resolution and I will not have scanlines...
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 12:52:58 am by folken »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #93 on: December 01, 2017, 03:30:33 am »
Sony trinitrons have problems with cutted picture from upper and lower part of screen and regulating TV through service menu does not help. I've post some time ago modified range to bypass this problem. Right now I'm at work so I cannot post it.

About scanlines - this is 256 lines mode so more lines = less spaces between lines. This is natural. Try any game with more than 256 lines (Little Robin have 288 lines)

Please test game Rastan first and look if upper and lower part of screen is cutted first before we look into this futher.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 03:32:52 am by haynor666 »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6090
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #94 on: December 01, 2017, 04:06:02 am »
My is a Sony KV-E3431B/2.
If I want to see the life bar and score I must to change this setting in my Mame.ini: monitor_specs_0 = "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 288, 448, 576" into

monitor_specs_0 = "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.160, 1.5XX (I don't remember exactly the 2 last numbers), 0, 0, 288, 448, 576"
But if I do this setting I will see the scote and life bar but switchres will not be in the good resolution and I will not have scanlines...

You don't use monitor_specs lines in GroovyMAME anymore. The new format is crt_range. Check this: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,116023.msg1230485.html#msg1230485

Lack of scanlines sounds like the modified range is wrong and an interlace mode is in use (probably desktop's default).
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 04:08:15 am by Calamity »
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #95 on: December 01, 2017, 05:47:36 am »
Founded, already posted here some time ago http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,148828.msg1636330.html#msg1636330

Just like Calamity wrote it's crt range in mame.ini. Setting this in VMMaker config is not enough.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 05:49:09 am by haynor666 »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #96 on: December 01, 2017, 10:19:19 am »
EDIT:
Guys,
here are my settings in VMMaker:
Monitor   CUSTOM
monitor_specs0 = "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 288, 448"

And in my Mame.ini:
Monitor   CUSTOM
crt_range0       "15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 288, 448, 576"
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 05:02:45 pm by folken »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #97 on: December 01, 2017, 11:26:52 am »
Folken, both VMMaker and groovymame are defining monitor by crt_range option now. Please use beta11 utils and groovymame 190 at least.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #98 on: December 01, 2017, 04:55:51 pm »
Haynor, I've tried your setting with 1.424 in Mame.ini. Then I played Rastan Saga. I see the blue life bar but I can't see the orange one. I see clearly "HIGH SCORE"
At 1.024 I see the whole life bar but "HIGH SCORE" is cutted.
How to see the hidden parts of the screen on the top, the low, the right and the left sides?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 10:13:27 am by folken »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #99 on: December 09, 2017, 12:54:34 am »
Calamity? Haynor? :)

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #100 on: December 09, 2017, 03:14:39 pm »
folken. forget legacy options and use latest groovymame and latest drivers. The best way would be uninstall drivers and install again but with some modifications in monitor.ini:

monitor "arcade_15", "Arcade 15.7 kHz - standard resolution", "4:3"
        crt_range0 15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.424, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

or adding two new lines:

monitor "arcade_15tri", "Arcade 15.7 kHz - trinitron custom", "4:3"
        crt_range0 15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.424, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

That crt_range0 must be used again in mame.ini:

monitor custom
crt_range0 15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

Now You need some modifications in Sony service menu, please put default values (I hope You have wrote it before messing in service menu)before You change something:

Left-HBlk 0
Right-HBlk 0

now only for testing (You should see 3 horizontal lines - red, green, blue):
V-Size 28
H-Size 37

default values bad for You:
modified values ok for You:
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 03:47:56 pm by haynor666 »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #101 on: December 13, 2017, 03:46:02 pm »
I don't have these settings on my Sony CRT: Left-HBlk 0
Right-HBlk 0
Haynor, if I replace 1.024 to 1.424 as you said in Rastan I can see "HIGH SCORE" but I can't see my life bar.
How to enlarge the screen yo see both "HIGH SCORE" and the life bar?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #102 on: December 13, 2017, 04:29:57 pm »
Options I mentioned might be named differently or actually does not exists. I've taken those from my service menu. Basically You must shrink picture a lot to test visible edges.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #103 on: December 14, 2017, 12:22:42 am »
Yes, I thought the same thing about different names but I don't have any idea which setting it is on my service menu... I tried to change all settings but I didn't find unfortunatly :-[
« Last Edit: December 14, 2017, 12:30:31 am by folken »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #104 on: December 24, 2017, 12:46:26 pm »
Calamity, as you are the creator of the drivers which has your nick name so could you tell us your gear and all your settings please? I think it would be easier for everybody to play arcade games in the best conditions  ;)
« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 12:54:15 pm by folken »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1128
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #105 on: December 25, 2017, 06:20:36 am »
I think You that default settings needs to be modified for You to make visible entire play area on Your TV. Asking Calamity about perfect settings was already explained and asking about his settings I think does not make sense either because settings You are going to use varies on what hardware You have (monitor PC CRT, monitor PC LCD, Arcade CRT, TV CRT) and what You are expecting from groovymame (perfect pixel ratio, comfortable setting, low input lag).

I REPEAT

For most people using arcade_15 mode together with super resolutions is probably the best ratio easy setup/results.
For hardware any TV CRT with SCART produced let's say after 1993 (at least in Europe) will be ok (preferred here are well known Philips, Sony (especially trinitrons), Grundig, Thomson) or typical arcade monitor 15 kHz (had one actually but I never connected it to PC).
As for PC the best PC is the one that fill Your needs but You are targetting for best ratio price/power then G3258 with cheap H81 board and 2 or 4 Gb RAM will be the best solution.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #106 on: January 06, 2018, 09:56:48 am »
I will buy a G3258 or a i7-4790K and a Z97 MB to overclock it ;-)
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 02:48:18 am by folken »

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #107 on: January 11, 2018, 11:36:35 am »
I understand what you're saying haynor but maybe some people here would like to know how to play as original hardware... Maybe they will want to buy the best MB , the best CPU, the best LCD display etc... Do you see what I try to say? ^_^

Paradroid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 586
    • SCART Hunter
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #108 on: January 11, 2018, 05:51:25 pm »
original hardware... Maybe they will want to buy the best MB , the best CPU, the best LCD display etc.

"Original hardware" and "LCD display" mentioned in the same sentence?! ;)
My MAME/SCART/CRT blog: SCART Hunter

Sledge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 455
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #109 on: January 12, 2018, 12:27:34 am »
original hardware... Maybe they will want to buy the best MB , the best CPU, the best LCD display etc.

"Original hardware" and "LCD display" mentioned in the same sentence?! ;)
Yep ;)

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #110 on: January 12, 2018, 01:56:53 am »
CRT are difficult to find nowadays... My sentence is not good, I'm agree. All my apologies!  :P

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1452
  • Web Developer.
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #111 on: January 12, 2018, 11:57:03 pm »
CRT are difficult to find nowadays... My sentence is not good, I'm agree. All my apologies!  :P

Hahahaha!!!! So difficult to find that craigslist, Facebook, and letgo has only like 1 new post per hour for a free crt.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMame - Windows XP vs Windows 7
« Reply #112 on: January 13, 2018, 08:28:18 am »
I talked about very good big CRTs... Not 100Hz, not 50,000 hours working time... 29' SONY PVM are rare now...
« Last Edit: January 14, 2018, 10:41:23 am by folken »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31