Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help  (Read 1529 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« on: December 20, 2015, 09:22:28 pm »
Many months ago I purchased two JVL Vortexs at an auction for about 125 total (maybe a little more w/ fees).  Anyway, I did not get to inspect them before purchase.  When i got them home I found out that they were missing parts.  I thought by buying two of them I would have enough parts to make one working machine.  Now it looks like I am short at least a mother board and power supply.  The second system looks like it has an IO board (camera ran out of batteries and is charging now so no pictures of second system). 

My question is: Are these salvageable to make one bartop or did I waste the $$$.


lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2015, 01:24:31 pm »
from the picture you posted it looks like you have everything there minus the computer.

provided you have at least a computer in the other machine, you should be okay to make one.

the model computer you need is the "JP20" should you find you need one and need to search for it on ebay or from vendors.

depending on the software version, (itouch 10) you may need up the ram to 128mb. Itouch 9 and under are fine with 64mb that came with them.


bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 04:09:39 pm »
Thanks lilshawn.  I don't think it has a computer.  Are these worth anything in this state?  I am just giving up on this project.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2016, 02:05:48 pm »
they are worth a little bit. they aren't completely worthless. a vendor could be interested in purchasing them to repair or replace a damaged unit.

in their current state, a home user could just turn them into a touch screen jukebox or a click game cabinet.

the JVL company went out of the counter top game business so parts are pretty slim out there. maybe sell the parts on ebay.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2016, 06:07:57 pm »
Where are you located? I would buy one just to "have one" and possibly look into restoring it. Otherwise i would see if i could convert it to a megatouch Ion. Would be a fun project for me if the price is right.

bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2016, 06:12:31 pm »
I am in Florida.  Zip code is 33410.  These things are heavy.  I've looked into shipping them to the north east and mid west.  It ranged from $45 to $55 to ship both together (about 60 lbs total).

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2016, 07:28:43 pm »
Im in PA. I really only want one without knowing what i would need to restore or convert, I didnt want to spend more then $100. Right off the bat, that psu would need to be replaced to convert, thats a given. You dont know by chance what brand touchscreen they have. It looks to be serial from the pictures as far as i can tell.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2016, 10:08:47 am »
I believe they are 3M microtouch same as the megatouch.

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2016, 01:23:25 pm »
Bigster what does the button key say, inside the back looks like a button battery itouch 7, 8,9,10 etc..LMK I may be interested if selling. I'm also in fl 34945 zip

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2016, 04:04:19 pm »
I have some extra ibuttons. I'm in Canada though. (different software) I have CD's to install fresh software so it shouldn't matter I don't think. I've never tried installing CA software on a US machine or vice versa. It could just be a coin/bill acceptor thing.

I have one itouch 6, one 7, and two 9's for sure... I possibly have a 10 I'd have to double check it.

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2016, 07:55:45 am »
I have some extra ibuttons. I'm in Canada though. (different software) I have CD's to install fresh software so it shouldn't matter I don't think. I've never tried installing CA software on a US machine or vice versa. It could just be a coin/bill acceptor thing.

I have one itouch 6, one 7, and two 9's for sure... I possibly have a 10 I'd have to double check it.


Do you have 9 and 10 plus software? I tried to find a download, Looks like they (jvl) had it up on there site, Not any more. Do you know of a site I could download it? What are you asking for the 9 or the 10 button with S/W?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2016, 08:07:50 am by brtlkat »

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2016, 08:14:39 am »
I have some merit keys also if your interested in them>>>> 1 of each Double plat, 2002,2005,2006 and 1 ion 2006.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2016, 08:17:42 am by brtlkat »

bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2016, 08:26:18 am »
Brtlkat I'll get back to you tonight.  You are not too far from me.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2016, 12:32:05 pm »
yeah for sure. I have software from 6/7/8/9/10 as well as HD HD2 and HD3

bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2016, 09:15:51 pm »
Brtlkat one button says itouch 9 us and the other says itouch 10 us

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2016, 07:56:10 am »
yeah for sure. I have software from 6/7/8/9/10 as well as HD HD2 and HD3

Sweeeet is it possible to upload file (9&10) to download? LMK

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2016, 08:00:26 am »
Brtlkat one button says itouch 9 us and the other says itouch 10 us

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
   

If you want to sell the units or the button keys? lmk
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 08:02:43 am by brtlkat »

bigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2016, 08:01:13 am »
I would prefer to get rid of everything.  Are you going to Ape in ft. Lauderdale by any chance?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2016, 08:04:00 am »
Nope not going to APE

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2016, 08:05:10 am »
I would prefer to get rid of everything.  Are you going to Ape in ft. Lauderdale by any chance?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk


What would you want for them? I may a have a buddy going down there, Not sure what day though

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5712
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2016, 11:14:00 am »
yeah for sure. I have software from 6/7/8/9/10 as well as HD HD2 and HD3

Sweeeet is it possible to upload file (9&10) to download? LMK

yeah I can do that. I'll have to do it probably monday. right after work today i'm taking off for the long(ish) weekend and i'll be back monday evening.

I have pretty fast internet at home (100/50) so it won't take long to upload it on my end. the work internet is dog slow (3/0.25) it would take a week to upload so i'll have to do it from home.

if you don't hear from me by monday night, send me a PM to remind me.

brtlkat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2016, 06:06:07 pm »
yeah for sure. I have software from 6/7/8/9/10 as well as HD HD2 and HD3

Sweeeet is it possible to upload file (9&10) to download? LMK

yeah I can do that. I'll have to do it probably monday. right after work today i'm taking off for the long(ish) weekend and i'll be back monday evening.

I have pretty fast internet at home (100/50) so it won't take long to upload it on my end. the work internet is dog slow (3/0.25) it would take a week to upload so i'll have to do it from home.

if you don't hear from me by monday night, send me a PM to remind me.

Sounds great thanks

Providian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: JVL Vortex Missing Parts and Need Help
« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2017, 12:33:44 pm »
Need itouch 10 backup disc please

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31