Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: PAC-MAN 256  (Read 2163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

8BitMonk

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 876
PAC-MAN 256
« on: August 07, 2015, 03:20:29 pm »
Looks like the makers of Crossy Road are doing a PAC-MAN game for mobile and it's looking pretty cool. Love the looming glitch that kills you.


Sjaak

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 03:56:35 pm »
Looks great, too bad it's not for PC. I think it would be a great game for an arcade cabinet.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1581
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 09:33:40 pm »
I agree it looks awesome. A pc port would be great.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5195
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2015, 04:34:21 am »
A PC port?  Wire up a Android Stick and add a switchbox.  If your cabinet is Kade friendly. 

I have a LCDTV in my cabinet, so it is more accessible for the Android Stick.
"I really do feel pity for those who go out of their way to perform a personal slight, than taking the effort in joining the conversation and creating some useful dialogue which would benefit the persons' perusal of this topic.  Yet where would we be without the persistant antagonist?"

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1581
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2015, 11:43:05 am »
Ve anquote author=ark_ader link=topic=146720.msg1526763#msg1526763 date=1439022861]
A PC port?  Wire up a Android Stick and add a switchbox.  If your cabinet is Kade friendly.

I have a LCDTV in my cabinet, so it is more accessible for the Android Stick.
[/quote]

That will work for some. But i have an lcd monitor with a xen mo

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9924
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2015, 01:58:48 pm »
My new addiction. I'd really love to be able to play this on my cabinet.

vwalbridge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1924
  • Don't half-ass two things, whole-ass one thing.
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2015, 02:07:38 pm »
Looks great, too bad it's not for PC. I think it would be a great game for an arcade cabinet.

It would be nice if it eventually made its way to the PC. However, the first order of business would be allowing the player to change viewing angles. I like the 3D perspective but I'd rather it be straight on.

dmckean

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 555
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2015, 04:50:11 pm »
You could always just use BlueStacks to play the Android version on your PC.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9924
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2015, 05:17:27 pm »
You could always just use BlueStacks to play the Android version on your PC.
I've used it before, but that's a lot of hassle if you want to use it in a cabinet.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15291
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2015, 01:44:57 pm »
I've found bluestacks to be rather buggy. 

Sadly it might be the only way we get to play afterburner clilmax though. 

vwalbridge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1924
  • Don't half-ass two things, whole-ass one thing.
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2015, 02:03:26 pm »
So I downloaded PAC-MAN 256 to my iPhone a couple of days ago and played it for a bit.

What I liked:

- Very pretty graphics
- Off-centered viewing angle was not as big of a problem controlling as I initially thought it would be
- Getting a 2nd chance to continue where you left off is really nice. I want that extra shot to make it further without having to start all over
- The power ups are cool. Blasting 5 ghost at once with a laser is very satisfying

What I didn't like:

- You can't always see the other side of a warp tunnel. You have to take blind faith that there isn't a ghost waiting to easily kill you on the other side.
- It actually gets too hard... too quick
- It got boring and VERY frustrating quickly

Summary:

It's fun for a while but I don't have much desire to go back to it. If I could have my wish, they would just take these graphics and apply them to the classic PAC-MAN and Ms PAC-Man
« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 11:38:33 am by vwalbridge »

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4517
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2015, 03:03:53 pm »


If I could have my wish, they would just take these graphics and apply them to the classic PAC-MAN and Ms PAC-Man

The graphic styling is neat.  I would also like to see it transferred to old games.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9924
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2015, 11:12:50 am »
What I didn't like:

- You can't always see the other side of a warp tunnel. You have to take blind faith that there isn't a ghost waiting to easily kill you on the other side.

Turn it landscape.

vwalbridge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1924
  • Don't half-ass two things, whole-ass one thing.
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2015, 11:46:27 am »
Landscape is a little better, but it's not perfect. As seen from the screenshot below.

Also, what you can't see from this screenshot is that I followed a ghost into the warp tunnel, and when I popped out the other side...pac man traveled right through the ghost. So it seems, even the developers recognized this issue and they tried to compensate for it by giving pac man temporary invincibility upon exiting a warp tunnel.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9924
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2015, 11:57:31 am »
they tried to compensate for it by giving pac man temporary invincibility upon exiting a warp tunnel.

Yeah, that too. Forgot to mention it.

damageinc86

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2016, 03:45:38 am »
I just got this off of steam for 4.99, and it's a fun little game.  I'd like to have at least some sort of levels, instead of just how far/how many points you can get.  The achievements add something fun though.  Definitely an interesting take on pac-man, and I wasn't as off-put by the perspective as I thought I'd be.  It's not that bad actually.  Definitely worth it.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38193
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2016, 09:50:30 am »



Tried this out on a Fire Stick.  Neat game but the Fire Stick remote just can't handle it.  The Fire TV game controller is WAY too much money. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15291
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2016, 04:12:44 pm »
Gamepads in general cost too much these days.  It think XB1 and PS4 gamepads are 60 bucks a pop.  The elite XB1 gamepad is like 100. 

knave

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1529
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2016, 04:26:08 pm »
Tried this out on a Fire Stick.  Neat game but the Fire Stick remote just can't handle it.  The Fire TV game controller is WAY too much money.

Use your OUYA controller  >:D

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38193
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2016, 02:41:53 pm »
Tried this out on a Fire Stick.  Neat game but the Fire Stick remote just can't handle it.  The Fire TV game controller is WAY too much money.

Use your OUYA controller  >:D




Don't have one.

knave

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1529
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2016, 04:38:24 pm »
I was kidding, I figured as much.  But you should be able to find a Bluetooth controller that will work. PS3/4 perhaps.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16232
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2016, 04:43:48 pm »
Gotta use that OUYA controller for something. Lord knows they don't get used to play the OUYA anymore. :cheers:
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 12:34:02 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38193
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2016, 12:05:11 pm »
I was kidding, I figured as much.  But you should be able to find a Bluetooth controller that will work. PS3/4 perhaps.


Hrm... Not sure the Stick does that... but it's worth a look.  I do have a PS3.

MydknyteStyrm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 294
  • Makeup FX Gamer
Re: PAC-MAN 256
« Reply #23 on: October 10, 2016, 06:09:21 pm »
So far I have it running on my cab pretty well. Had to use J2k and AHK to remap it for player 1. Question is, I have a four player CP, and the multiplayer allows 4, but I cant seem to figure out if it can take four sets of keys. Right now I can get max 3 players, one on the CP controls, and two on the Xbox360  controllers I have in the cab as well. Would love to have all of the controls on the CP.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31