Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Sample support for Toaplan games  (Read 6522 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #40 on: October 05, 2016, 05:53:28 am »
Sorry for skipping two releases but initially after some tests I decided to skip compiling my build after groovymame will leave alpha stage. After two releases seems to be working fine so here are two binaries based on version 178 with no nag/toaplan samples and couple of fixes imported from Arcade (old MAMEUIFX):
- 32bit https://mega.nz/#!5t0xHa4C!lpMTx5crVditLpU4ClHfV_7toNAqDnqWM-gDnzlIo_M
- 64bit https://mega.nz/#!1lkHwDiQ!AOktBf49tDSEXQLU9osf5a8FcVezRLPmFX3OYFYdEn4

Please remember - to use non nag to have to set skip_gameinfo 1
I tested exes only at windows 7 x64.

Wow, thanks haynor666 !  ;)

EDIT: by the way it's a bit OT question but is it hard to learn how to do custom builds like you do ? For instance what would be the steps if I wanted to try and port lesser known or forgotten mods like the Seibu RF samples support ? There's an old source file available, I just don't know if it requires actual MAME code knowledge or if it's reasonably accessible to the layman. Also does it typically require the author's permission even if the source is available publicly and I intend to use it for personal use ?
« Last Edit: October 05, 2016, 08:15:38 am by schmerzkaufen »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #41 on: October 05, 2016, 08:12:15 am »
Would be nice if someone could test x64 binary under XP x64. x32 I test personally when I get back from work.

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 297
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2016, 09:59:59 am »
Would be nice if someone could test x64 binary under XP x64. x32 I test personally when I get back from work.

Hi haynor666,

Do you plan to have a repository to maintain the toaplan samples hacks? I can prepare Linux builds if there is a demand for it.

Cheers,

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #43 on: October 05, 2016, 11:26:41 am »
Not really. Changes I made are all imported from Arcade(MAMEUIFX) and since every Arcade release has source published it does not make sense not too mention that I'm not going to build every release.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #44 on: October 07, 2016, 03:51:15 pm »
New revision with visible areas modification for neo-geo games: [link removed]
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 10:17:09 am by haynor666 »

Fuzi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #45 on: October 08, 2016, 05:29:30 pm »
This is awesome! Any change of a version including the old hiscore patch? (I can never seem to get the hiscore plugin to work properly).
Play to Live, Live to Play.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #46 on: October 09, 2016, 02:27:48 pm »
Old highscore is not needed so proabably it's gone forever. Right now I'm testing groovymame64_178 with highscore plugin.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #47 on: November 09, 2016, 04:01:59 am »
Hi haynor666, could you please reupload the 64bit 0.171 version of your modified build ?
I've accidentally deleted it and I need it to do some performance comparison with the more recent build versions.
Thanks! ^^

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #48 on: November 09, 2016, 03:04:51 pm »
Is there also a 0.179/alpha3 build?

I am still working on my cab so I have not had the chance to run anything other than an old stock 0.171 version (need to work out the servosticks+ledblinky for automatic 4/8way...)

I have read that the latest 0.179 build is OK so I think I'll stay in this version and update my roms to it... unless there is another recommended haynor666-version for a win7/x64/6670 setup :)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 03:13:40 pm by keropi »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #49 on: November 09, 2016, 03:21:59 pm »
[link removed]

Right now I don't any plans for future versions.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 10:16:44 am by haynor666 »

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #50 on: November 09, 2016, 03:35:06 pm »
https://mega.nz/#!8k9kVb4B!UGW9bPFt7pwYafOCijYwZg9BZftLSIkTg95jkoQgN00

Right now I don't any plans for future versions.

so 0.171 is your personal "recommendation" ? or your most recent "groovymame64_0178.016_alpha2" build?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 03:37:03 pm by keropi »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #51 on: November 09, 2016, 04:24:59 pm »
I didn't fully switch to 179, did some tests and use for couple of games right now because it would be to much work to fully switch to recent version (roms reorgnization, probably also nvram and even samples not mention snaps).

179 works very good but keep in mind that it might be a bit slower when compare to version 171 just like official mame.

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #52 on: November 09, 2016, 05:43:35 pm »
Thanks for the answer, I can understand the whole migrating thing to a new version. This is why I am trying to find a solid "base" to start building upon.
I do have the 0.171 merged romset and your build above, seems like a good place to start. I am only interested in 2D games anyways and your patches seem to be a better deal.

I'll see how I go with this , thanks for the info!

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #53 on: November 09, 2016, 11:27:57 pm »
Thank you haynor666!  :)

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #54 on: December 28, 2016, 11:20:56 am »
Latest mame version for 2016 :
Quote
The exciting news thatís got people talking is that protected microcontrollers (MCUs) from a number of games have been read out and hooked up in MAME. This gives real, emulated sound in Toaplanís Vimana, Fire Shark (also known as Same! Same! Same!) and Teki Paki, proper emulation of Tokio/Scramble Formation, M-chip emulation for Taito Extermination, Dr Toppel and Plump Pop, MCU emulation for Sega Altered Beast and Golden Axe, and partial sound in World Beach Volley. Thereís more coming on this front, so stay tuned for upcoming releases!

So now toaplan samples hack will be useless. Correct emulation will now be on the regular build with sound.
I don't think it concerns all games of the hack, but for instance, I did a quick test with fireshark and vimana and it works well.
Can't wait for 0.181 being included in groovy build.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 11:23:05 am by funkycochise »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #55 on: December 28, 2016, 05:21:01 pm »
Almost - Ghox still does not hace sound so might have to keep old version for some time ;)

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #56 on: December 29, 2016, 09:18:55 am »
Almost - Ghox still does not hace sound so might have to keep old version for some time ;)
yes, but they say "there's more coming" so...

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #57 on: December 30, 2016, 04:58:17 am »
Yeah, but in general not just for Toaplan games as You can see right now on their blog.

Sadly they don't have samples MCUs for Ghox at all so this might take a long time.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #58 on: January 01, 2017, 01:08:54 pm »
Looks like samples support for Ghox is still in ARCADE32/64 so expect new version after 182 release.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #59 on: January 05, 2017, 12:29:01 pm »
Just for a test - groovymame64 181 with some modifications from ARCADE32/64: [link removed]

Build is for https://github.com/mamedev/mame/commit/cd282f04726faf3da8793872612bf8ef98adf601
 
« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 01:39:55 pm by haynor666 »

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • 8 bits generation
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #60 on: January 06, 2017, 01:23:34 am »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #61 on: April 17, 2017, 10:25:21 am »
All link removed. New version will be probably when new groovymame will be published.

I'm cleaning disk from old patches but thought someone might some use of those patches (in case anyone prefer older mame versions).

Scripts from version 151 to 155 were standard mame. Starting from 156 patches were for building groovymame with patches imported from mameuifx - https://mega.nz/#!J5MGGKRL!rqhSt76-VSIBg25I0b9rByb-zAqmEjePtjD-NE7uKfw

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #62 on: May 21, 2017, 06:45:20 am »
I forgot to add cave sh3 sources derrived from other mame version from version 144 to 151. Usefull if you have problems with performance on newer mame builds.

https://mega.nz/#!J51yHCia!QGaWQiVVwha04Sg2h6Fx1TmLlGyt66S1_n8BWbhiydg

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #63 on: June 14, 2017, 05:32:36 pm »
Here is new version 186 that adds recent Bonze Adventure protection fix (by demonkatze) and some taito_f3 fixes by Dink/MameSick/demonkatze

[link removed]
« Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 01:31:17 pm by haynor666 »

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #64 on: June 16, 2017, 09:19:24 am »
Hello haynor666
Thank you so much for your compiled 32bit version ! I have 2 cabs running onto winxp 32bit, so convert them to 64bit will be for a long future terms, maybe when the mamedev team stop doing 32bit.

Thanks a lot
Marcos

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame + Arcade32/64
« Reply #65 on: June 18, 2017, 05:55:39 pm »
Here is new version 186 that adds recent Bonze Adventure protection fix (by demonkatze) and some taito_f3 fixes by Dink/MameSick/demonkatze

https://mega.nz/#!xgd1QAhC!R5VSwQSr6nIiNMWEF0_jAK9gyprY1wrcq6p6Nb9DxnM

Out of curiosity, what are those taito_f3 fixes about?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #66 on: June 19, 2017, 02:00:37 am »
Fix for missing graphics in Greed Seeker continue screen, fix for missing text in Arabian Magic during intro.

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #67 on: June 19, 2017, 04:28:39 am »
Interesting, thanks!

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #68 on: June 19, 2017, 12:48:04 pm »
Is the Bonze Adventure "fix" a hack like the F-3 ones or is it being submitted to MAME Dev?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #69 on: June 19, 2017, 12:59:10 pm »

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #70 on: June 19, 2017, 01:51:02 pm »
Thanks. So is it suitable for submission? Or they just don't bother at all?

Also, does your build include other "Arcade" fixes such as the NB-1 one (Nebulas Ray and others) they mention there?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #71 on: June 19, 2017, 02:46:37 pm »
I'll post all changes in new topic.

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #72 on: June 19, 2017, 06:08:47 pm »
No. You can read whole story - http://www.1emulation.com/forums/topic/35800-arcade-0185/

Very interesting read, thanks for sharing.

So those are not fixes, but rather hacks to make things work.

This means there's something wrong underlying in MAME's emulation of the Taito F3 arcade board and the hacks are made so that despise errors in the emulation, the correct result come out.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #73 on: July 19, 2017, 05:39:15 pm »
I'll post all changes in new topic.

Please release your gm 0.187 32bit version if possible. Thanks in advance

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • retro maniac
Re: Sample support for Toaplan games
« Reply #75 on: August 01, 2017, 03:12:33 am »
Sample support no longer need, all toaplan games will have in next version native sound :) Topic can be closed.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31