Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Sample support for Toaplan games  (Read 7077 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Sample support for Toaplan games
« on: April 29, 2015, 01:23:50 pm »
I know that groovymame is not oriented for game modifications but would be nice to see toaplan samples hack in groovymame. I don't think that sound will be emulated any soon in games like Vimana or Fire Shark.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 01:14:01 pm by haynor666 »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5648
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 07:25:37 am »
I know that groovymame is not oriented for game modifications but would be nice to see toaplan samples hack in groovymame. I don't think that sound will be emulated any soon in games like Vimana or Fire Shark.

Hi haynor666,

Could you post any link to that patch?

It's not that I'm against game modifications. The issue at the moment is that I'm having a hard time mantaining the GroovyMAME patch as it is, due to the undergoing changes in mainline, and the real challange is coming with the transtion to BGFX. The survival of the project depends of keeping the patch as slender as possible. Even the hiscore/no-nag patch is an annoyance but if I dropped it people would kill me.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

adder

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 611
  • Location: Easy St.
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2015, 10:00:13 am »
Quote from: Calamity
The survival of the project depends of keeping the patch as slender as possible. Even the hiscore/no-nag patch is an annoyance but if I dropped it people would kill me.

don't worry about that Calamity. trust me if people have the choice between no groovymame, vs. groovymame without hiscore/no-nag, the choice is simple.
ps. this is a nice alternative regarding at least one of the nag screens:
http://files.arcadecontrols.com/details.php?image_id=3650
typed using my...

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5648
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2015, 10:41:27 am »
It's not that bad actually now that I keep a stripped-down hiscore/no-nag patch. Next step will be to make it optional, so first you'll apply the "groovy" patch, and second the hiscore one, if you like.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 10:42:18 am »
Hack for my personal groovymame version I taken from MAMEFX. Here is link for version 158:

[link removed]
« Last Edit: October 15, 2016, 06:55:26 am by haynor666 »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2015, 07:10:39 am »
Any chances Calamity ?

machyavel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2015, 04:05:27 pm »
In case someone find it useful I have a gm 161 with toaplan samples enabled + extra games from FX (except the NG ones) + NG o/c patch. However it's also direct input only, core2duo optimized and finally the game list was shrunk according to my taste (5191 drivers left).

I also modified GM patch "VISIBLE_GAMES_IN_LIST = 99999" to "VISIBLE_GAMES_IN_LIST = 99" because on my system the internal UI would lag a lot whenever I started typing a game name.

PS: to add toaplan samples one needs to replace toaplan files in mame src with FX's ones (see attached file).
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 04:42:28 pm by machyavel »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2015, 05:01:10 am »
I've changed mind. I prefer to leave GM as it is now - without any hacks. After all I can add this manually.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5648
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2015, 04:41:53 pm »
I've changed mind. I prefer to leave GM as it is now - without any hacks. After all I can add this manually.

I appreciate this, and you're welcome to post your modded builds too.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2015, 04:44:00 pm by Calamity »
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

RobertJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2015, 04:39:08 am »
Calamity, have you considered using git and github for GM? It would probably make your life easier with patches, and let you keep the hiscore patch separate if you wanted.

hnns

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2016, 07:25:51 am »
In case someone find it useful I have a gm 161 with toaplan samples enabled + extra games from FX (except the NG ones) + NG o/c patch. However it's also direct input only, core2duo optimized and finally the game list was shrunk according to my taste (5191 drivers left).

I also modified GM patch "VISIBLE_GAMES_IN_LIST = 99999" to "VISIBLE_GAMES_IN_LIST = 99" because on my system the internal UI would lag a lot whenever I started typing a game name.

PS: to add toaplan samples one needs to replace toaplan files in mame src with FX's ones (see attached file).

Hi, do I need to compile mame with the hacked toaplan src files? Or is there another way to integrate the hacked toaplan source files into groovymame?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2016, 09:05:35 am »
Last time I speak with MameSick toaplan samples were removed due unresolved license. Please go to mamefx forum and ask him.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac

hnns

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2016, 12:57:38 pm »
http://mame32fx.altervista.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=304&start=10  ;D

Thanks a lot for the hint!

I tried my best to compile mame v171 with replaced toaplan src files from mamefx and with hi_0171.diff and 0171_groovymame_015m.diff applied. Patching hi_0171.diff works but patching 0171_groovymame_015m.diff gives me error messages.

Has anyone done this successfully and can upload the compiled mame64.exe?

I would love to play fire shark with sound on my groovymame setup.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2016, 03:34:58 pm »
[content removed]
« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 01:14:32 pm by haynor666 »

hnns

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2016, 04:46:07 pm »
Here is the version 171 with toaplan samples applied - https://mega.nz/#!Q1t2BBaA!b4__jkxtynUdACSiGhQtPHiovYqDFBzaCaEm8DX0Yd0

Also there are some hacks from MAMEUIFX as well - Iron Horse framerate fix (60,606 Hz), Dark Seal and vaportra sound speed fix, namconb1 slow rendering fix.

So close, so close! Thank you so much but I am running mame64 bit version with ASIO4ALL sound drivers :-(((

When I use youre 32 bit version of GM, ASIO4ALL is not started and I have no sound at all. But I can see that the samples are initialized, due to the long loading time at the beginning.

Can someone please compile the 64 bit version of mame, with GM patched and toaplan samples enabled?

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2016, 06:51:05 pm »
Here is the version 171 with toaplan samples applied - https://mega.nz/#!Q1t2BBaA!b4__jkxtynUdACSiGhQtPHiovYqDFBzaCaEm8DX0Yd0

Also there are some hacks from MAMEUIFX as well - Iron Horse framerate fix (60,606 Hz), Dark Seal and vaportra sound speed fix, namconb1 slow rendering fix.


any chance for a 64bit version?

adder

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 611
  • Location: Easy St.
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2016, 07:06:12 pm »
Quote from: haynor666
... Iron Horse framerate fix (60,606 Hz) ...
hey haynor what's the details on that one, was there a problem with iron horse only?, or perhaps other similar games like eg. green beret (rush'n'attack) ?
typed using my...

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2016, 02:52:30 am »
Quote
any chance for a 64bit version?

I'll try build one at home if I still have proper tools

Quote
hey haynor what's the details on that one, was there a problem with iron horse only?, or perhaps other similar games like eg. green beret (rush'n'attack) ?

The problem is similiar for Rush'n'Attack had years ago - 30 Hz refresh rate which in opinion of some people is incorrect. Since Rush'n'Attack has been fixed MameSick also fixed Iron Horse using Rush'n'Attack source as reference.

ozfalcon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • ZSystem
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2016, 06:41:26 am »
It's not that bad actually now that I keep a stripped-down hiscore/no-nag patch. Next step will be to make it optional, so first you'll apply the "groovy" patch, and second the hiscore one, if you like.

I forgot to mention, Your no-nag patch has a bug where the Video mode is lost due to the "Loading" section.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,64298.msg1579408.html#msg1579408
(I checked your code and it was pretty much the same as the current hi_score patch prior to the recent fix)
I must also apologize for not checking your original patch modification up until now.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,64298.msg1483794.html#msg1483794


If you take a look at the latest hi_score patch (hi_175c.txt) you can extract the current fixed no-nag patch from there.
It's almost the same, Just with the bug fix.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,64298.msg1579630.html#msg1579630

<Added>
Is there any particular reason your holding off from using the Lua script hi_score system?
(To simplify the Groovy Mame modifications)
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 06:50:26 am by ozfalcon »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2016, 11:48:00 am »
Here is x64 build: [link removed]
« Last Edit: October 15, 2016, 07:06:47 am by haynor666 »

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2016, 06:01:56 pm »
Here is x64 build: https://mega.nz/#!0lVlHTQI!EJX5-fpybyJ5ez75O-rnF5jVagaCmbnliKYJtKFPCr4

thanks a bunch! will give it a go  ;D

btw, the compatible samples are the MameUIFX ones located here,  correct? http://www.progettosnaps.net/samples/

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #22 on: July 15, 2016, 02:37:50 am »
Exactly but I think You need only samples for main sets.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2016, 06:20:59 am »
Thanks haynor666 that's very nice !  :)

Though sorry to ask again but would there be any means to add the integer scaling options as well ?

I mean this;
Code: [Select]
#
# CORE RENDER OPTIONS
#
keepaspect                1
unevenstretch             0
unevenstretchx            0
intoverscan               0
intscalex                 0
intscaley                 0
Or is it technically impossible ?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2016, 04:06:13 pm »
Those options are added after mame 171 so You can't use those.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #25 on: July 17, 2016, 03:16:19 am »
You mean those were made to work with baseline 0.172 and therefore wouldn't be 'back-portable' to groovy 0.171, is that it ?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #26 on: July 17, 2016, 04:59:10 am »
I don't know in which version those options were added but probably nobody will add them into GM 171.

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #27 on: July 18, 2016, 03:01:49 am »
Thanks for the build !  :applaud:
'Til today I was using shmupmame42 only for those toaplan.
Using an ugly "manual" switching of the resolution to 320x240 (vimana and fire shark resolution)

I'll give it a try tonight.  8)

edit : done, seems to be fine for me.  ;)

nice job, after few tweekings of mame.ini to duplicate my actual groovy settings, everything works fine !
« Last Edit: July 18, 2016, 02:17:04 pm by funkycochise »

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2016, 11:16:01 pm »
I was focused on toaplan games, but tonight I tried several other games (toki, shinobi), but I encounter serious slow down that I don't have with my other 64_171 build. It's very weird.  ::)


haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #29 on: July 20, 2016, 09:10:26 am »
Options for groovymame are different than official edition. Don't use groovymame with official mame ini. It's better to create new ini and set everything from 0. I didn't tested x64 build but x32 build works fine on my computer.

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #30 on: July 20, 2016, 02:39:12 pm »
Options for groovymame are different than official edition. Don't use groovymame with official mame ini. It's better to create new ini and set everything from 0. I didn't tested x64 build but x32 build works fine on my computer.
yes, I know.
I am currently using a groovymame build 171 that includes no nag, hi-scores and with asio drivers.

With you build, I have created a brand new mame.ini and I managed to set it in the same way as my current setup.
So it has really nothing to do with the regular mame build.

I will try your 32 bits build.

Many thanks for your reply.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #31 on: July 21, 2016, 05:05:57 am »
Did You tested regular groovymame x64 from Calamity site ? My build has only some small changes that target some specific drivers, I didn' do any changes to core functionality or groovymame part.

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #32 on: July 22, 2016, 12:12:10 pm »
I start a fresh folder with calamity's build and yours.
I did some test using calamity's one and All went fine.
I then tried yours, using the same mame.ini
And it did the job the same way.
I just added the sample folder setting
And toaplan hack worked as a charm.

So far, I don't really know why it did not
work the first time. It has for sure something
To do with my mame.ini but I don't know
what I missed.

Anyway, I don't need that manual resolution
Switching using ChangeScreenResolution utility
Before launching shmupmame42
Only remains groovymame.

Note : 32bits didn't worked at all for me,
It returned segmentation fault.

Thank you for your answers that kept me on track.
Regards.
  :applaud:

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #33 on: July 22, 2016, 12:27:51 pm »
Quote
Note : 32bits didn't worked at all for me,
It returned segmentation fault.

I had similiar problems but somehow I force groovymame to work on XP x32.

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #34 on: July 22, 2016, 12:36:35 pm »
Quote
Note : 32bits didn't worked at all for me,
It returned segmentation fault.

I had similiar problems but somehow I force groovymame to work on XP x32.
I admit, I didn't try the compatibity mode.
Anyway, 64 version works well for me, so...

hnns

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #35 on: August 06, 2016, 02:55:37 am »
Thank you so much haynor! It works!

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #36 on: August 06, 2016, 02:35:53 pm »
Since Groovymame 176 is out expect new custom modification within two weeks (sorry, I'm on vacation from tomorrow).

funkycochise

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 61
  • 8 bits generation
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #37 on: October 03, 2016, 06:11:14 pm »
any news about this ?
 :cheers:

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1072
  • retro maniac
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #38 on: October 05, 2016, 02:36:16 am »
Sorry for skipping two releases but initially after some tests I decided to skip compiling my build after groovymame will leave alpha stage. After two releases seems to be working fine so here are two binaries based on version 178 with no nag/toaplan samples and couple of fixes imported from Arcade (old MAMEUIFX):
- 32bit [link removed]
- 64bit [link removed]

Please remember - to use non nag to have to set skip_gameinfo 1
I tested exes only at windows 7 x64.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 10:17:54 am by haynor666 »

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: toaplan samples hack
« Reply #39 on: October 05, 2016, 03:15:17 am »
thanks for the compiles haynor666  :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31